Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:44:40
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
A unit charges a vehicle and an infantry unit. At the end of combat, the unit wipes out the enemy infantry unit and immobilizes the vehicle.
The unit now has 3 models out of base to base contact. Normally, you would not get a consolidation move if you had just attacked the vehicle, however...
According page 63 of the rulebook..
In a multiple fight including enemy vehicles and other unit types, the result of the fight is worked out as normal against the latter, ignoring the vehicles.
So, does that mean you get a consolidation move?
Also.. If you choose to consolidate, do you have to move the models that are currently in base to base with the immobile vehicle away from base contact? Since you have the choice of not moving during your consolidation, I would assume that you wouldn't. However, I do think there is a limitation that you must keep the models that were not within base to base contact, outside of 1 inch. But those models could be moved within 2 inches to get supporting attacks as normal.
What is the correct way of playing this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:46:29
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
You can choose which models to move. You can leave those models in b2b witht he vehiclethere but you cannot move more models into b2b contact with the vehicle.
For a vehicle only models in base contact with it in subsequent turns get swings.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 20:03:25
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above.
You get a c onsolidation move, so you can move away entirely, move just the models out of btb away (so you get to swing in their turn) or you could move nothing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 21:36:38
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Can anyone help provide RAW evidence that you don't have to push the models outside of B2B? I keep seeing people disagree with baseless assumptions that you need to move the models back 1" if a single model in the unit consolidates.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 21:38:28
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
dereksatkinson wrote:Can anyone help provide RAW evidence that you don't have to push the models outside of B2B? I keep seeing people disagree with baseless assumptions that you need to move the models back 1" if a single model in the unit consolidates.
This is backwards. Your opponents will need to provide evidence that says you do. Otherwise I could say to you, show me where in the book it says I cannot eat your models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 21:42:54
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
dereksatkinson wrote:Can anyone help provide RAW evidence that you don't have to push the models outside of B2B? I keep seeing people disagree with baseless assumptions that you need to move the models back 1" if a single model in the unit consolidates.
It states you cannot move models within 1". Keeping them still isnt moving them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 22:55:48
Subject: Re:Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Here is the argument i've been presented with.
So should you opt to consolidate, the whole unit moves. You may choose to move 0", but are still moving and need, to make sure that your movement doesn't leave you within 1" of an enemy model.
So, the sentence allows for the rules of vehicle interaction by, including the the section "so that the victorious unit is no longer locked in combat with any enemy." Which is the case with vehicles, where since they are ignored for determining cosolidation.
Alternatively, you could choose to not consolidate and remain in contact with the immobilized vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 22:58:12
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Good point a unit that moves 0" in the shooting phase really moved...and therefore cannot fire heavy weapons...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 23:09:31
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Excpet you are not "moving within 1", you ARE within 1"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 01:49:54
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nos.. That is my stance as well. It basically just says you can't move models within 1"... It doesn't say that you must be one inch away..
"Consolidating models must therefore stop 1" away from all enemy models"
If a model is staying stationary, it's not moving. It at no time says you must remain "1 away. That is not a RAW interpretation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 02:53:44
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
This looks right, I don't see how there's an arguement. Next time he says he's not moving so he can fire heavy or rapid fire weapons etc ... tell him moving 0" is still moving and so he cannot
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 16:39:08
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:This looks right, I don't see how there's an arguement. Next time he says he's not moving so he can fire heavy or rapid fire weapons etc ... tell him moving 0" is still moving and so he cannot
That's not his friend's argument. His argument is that you have to declare if the squad is moving or not.
You can declare that they aren't moving, in which case everything stays in BtB with the vehicle. (And, in your analogy, means that squads not moving at all can fire heavy weapons or rapid fire weapons to their maximum range)
You can declare that they are moving, in which case you have to get everything out of 1". (And, in your analogy, a model moving 0" in a squad that's moving also counts as moving)
So, your analogy actually completely agrees with his friend's argument. But, that's not the actual issue. The actual issue is that you cannot move within 1". But, if you're already within 1", there's no requirement to move out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 16:51:33
Subject: Multiple Assaults + vehicles question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Grakmar wrote:So, your analogy actually completely agrees with his friend's argument. But, that's not the actual issue. The actual issue is that you cannot move within 1". But, if you're already within 1", there's no requirement to move out.
Well put.
I think this seems to be the general consensus.
|
|
 |
 |
|