| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 06:28:02
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Does weapon destroyed against a Manticore mean All Rockets are K.O'ed, or just one? Need to know because my game group goes by rule interpretation and this forum is of great help.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 06:53:55
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
The Manticore's weapon is a single weapon that fires 4 times. As such, one weapon destroyed will take out the WHOLE weapon. It is not 4 seperate, 1-shot weapons.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/05 06:55:10
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 07:56:44
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
A manticore is a tank that carries "storm eagle rockets" not a "storm eagle rocket launcher".
Because it carries multiple rockets, it carries multiple weapons, which require multiple weapon destroyed results to get rid of.
Of course, it's not like this isn't a hotly debated issue. You'll probably have to 4+ it...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 08:12:25
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Ailaros wrote:A manticore is a tank that carries "storm eagle rockets" not a "storm eagle rocket launcher".
It has both. According to the Storm Eagle Rockets rules entry, it has a Rocket Launcher that fires Storm Eagle Rockets.
Which sounds like a single weapon to me. Backed up by having a 'Limited Ammunition' rule, rather than a 'Limited shots rule.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 10:17:12
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
A single 'Weapon Destroyed' result will stop the Manticore from firing any missiles.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 11:10:31
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The manticore has one weapon listed in it's warger:
-Storm Eagle Rockets.
It then has the limited ammunition rule that lets it fire 4 times.
Compare this to a Razorwing which has:
-Four Monoscythe missiles
Yay for consistency.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 14:33:17
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
From a fluff perspective, a single debilitating hit on the rocket launcher itself would make it so that the launcher simply can not fire anymore, or the missiles themselves have been destroyed or some other atrocity.
In addition, as was said earlier, the Manticore's wargear description says 'Storm Eagle Rockets' which is a weapon that posesses the limited ammunition special rule. When combined with the fact that the Valkyrie is described as carrying 2 single shot weapons, instead of a single weapon with limited ammo and the fluff idea, I'd say that a single weapons destroyed result would destroy any and all remaining rockets on a Manticore.
P.S.
Didn't we have a massive debate on this exact same topic a few months ago? What was the final verdict then?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/05 14:34:02
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 14:38:35
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sentai_Sage wrote:The Manticore's weapon is a single weapon that fires 4 times. As such, one weapon destroyed will take out the WHOLE weapon. It is not 4 seperate, 1-shot weapons.
That is how it is played at my FLGS, and has been ruled in tournaments.
|
Monster Rain wrote: Don't be so neurotic about your lil' space manz.[/quote
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 17:33:10
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Thanks folks. I wish they had written a paragraph about how exactly to treat weapon detroyed agains a Manticore the same way they did for the Deathstrike.
It seems more "realistic", (for lack of a better term), that because of the size and positioning of the Stormeagle Rockets, to hit the actual rail system they sit upon would be a very difficult shot to make. Therefore only a Rocket at a time would be destroyed.
That being said, I see the arguement set against my intrepretaion and bow to masses. It does seem that the wording of Limited Ammunition and Stormeagle Rockets listed as a single weapon is the Key.
If only they has said 4 X Stormeagle Rockets instead...
Thanks Dakka!
Great Help as always.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 20:01:36
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I agree thoroughly. If only for consistency it should have been four rockets. Since they're ordnance only one be fired a turn anyway. The limited ammunition rule would not have been required.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 20:58:30
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
That kinda makes the Manticore a tad OP, if weapons destroyed only takes out one rocket at a time. I'd say just change the name to 'Storm Eagle Launcher' or 'Storm Eagle battery' or something like that...
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 21:06:51
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, not really. A manticore only gets 4 shots. A weapon destroyed result takes out 25% of its firepower, and that's at the beginning of the game. If it's already shot three times, then you've just shut it down for the rest of the game.
Another thing I question for those of you who believe it's a single system: what arc can it shoot in? All weapon mounting systems let you know if they're hull mounted or are on turrets, or sponsons, which the manticore doesn't say. This is because they're pintle weapons, just like hunter-killer missiles.
If you don't believe it's 4 pintle-mounted missiles, then what's to say you can't only fire in a 45 degree front arc, or in no arc at all?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/05 21:07:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 21:37:32
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
I suppose, that is the case. But, that also means that if you roll weapons destroyed at the beginning of the game, you've just turned your opponents 160 pts model into a nearly useles thing. The same piece of balance is used on almost all other Imperial artillery.
I don't know why they failed to provide an arc...but no other entry in the codex says that a specific weapon is 'turret mounted' or 'hull mounted' or whatever. Iirc the BRB says that any weapons have an arc equal to what the weapon can physically turn on the model, with hull mounted weapons have a 45 degree front arc. With the Manticore, since the missile battery can't rotate on the model, I assume it has the same 45 degree front arc.
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 21:53:14
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
One weapon destroyed takes out all remaining missiles.
The fire arc depends on the "pattern" of Manticore you have. If yours is similar to the Forge World one, it's turret mounted. Similar to the Citadel version, hull mounted.
The fire arc isn't specified as they've largely stopped doing that in 5th edition books. The go-to rule is that a weapon can fire in whatever arc it looks like it can fire in - see the rulebook FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/05 22:22:52
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Ailaros wrote: All weapon mounting systems let you know if they're hull mounted or are on turrets, or sponsons, which the manticore doesn't say. No they don't. None of the standard weapons on any of the IG vehicles specify a mounting type. e.g. Chimera. Wargear: Multilaser Heavy Bolter
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/05 22:23:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 00:06:13
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
I play them such as a single weapon. When firing the D3 blasts, I roll a separate scatter score for each "shot" as well because its a single weapon, not a multi-weapon barrage.
|
20,000 Warriors of Khorne
3,000 CSM
5,000 guard
2200 Tyranids |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 00:14:12
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Well, it came up.
My ultra marine opponant scored a weapon destroyed result with two Stormeagle rockets left to be fired and sure enough, we all voted they were gone.
Sad.
So so sad...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 00:14:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 00:21:16
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Ailaros wrote:Another thing I question for those of you who believe it's a single system: what arc can it shoot in?
I'm not sure what being 1 system has to do with that exactly...
All weapon mounting systems let you know if they're hull mounted or are on turrets, or sponsons, which the manticore doesn't say. This is because they're pintle weapons, just like hunter-killer missiles.
Pintle-mounts are also supposed to be stated in the entry.
The reason it's not listed as a specific type of mounting is because despite GW saying in the rulebook that vehicle weapons have this stated in their entries, they then almost immediately tossed that out the window and didn't bother actually following through with it with any sort of consistency (or at all, in some case) in the codexes.
If you don't believe it's 4 pintle-mounted missiles, then what's to say you can't only fire in a 45 degree front arc, or in no arc at all?
As per the Rulebook FAQ, if the weapon's mounting is not specified in the vehicle's entry, it's as per the model. So if you're using the regular (non-Forgeworld) model, it does indeed have a 45 degree arc due to being hull-mounted.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 00:21:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 00:56:03
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Skawt wrote:I play them such as a single weapon. When firing the D3 blasts, I roll a separate scatter score for each "shot" as well because its a single weapon, not a multi-weapon barrage.
Why? There are no rules for resolving multple blast shots from a single weapon. But we do have two FAQs (so far) where GW said to resolve this type of weapon using multiple barrage rules. See the Eldar and Nid FAQs for those.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 06:29:00
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
insaniak wrote:Ailaros wrote:A manticore is a tank that carries "storm eagle rockets" not a "storm eagle rocket launcher".
It has both. According to the Storm Eagle Rockets rules entry, it has a Rocket Launcher that fires Storm Eagle Rockets.
Which sounds like a single weapon to me. Backed up by having a 'Limited Ammunition' rule, rather than a 'Limited shots rule.
I disagree for the fact that the Manticore itself doesnt have a weapon (aside from the hull-mounted one). It has a platform. The platform carries 4 weapons in the form of rockets. if you look at modern day rockets they only require to be mounted to something to fire. The platform itself doesn't do any of real resolution of targets, launching, or attacking. It's done by the rocket (machine spirirt?) or the crew of the transporting vehicle (which can often be off site).
I would say if the listing was Storm Eagle Rocket launcher it would probably knock it out.
Going to say +1 to Ailaros' first post. And as he said you're going to have to +4 roll it. =/
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 09:35:54
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Brennus43 wrote:I disagree for the fact that the Manticore itself doesnt have a weapon (aside from the hull-mounted one). It has a platform.
Which would be fine, if there were rules for platforms.
Modern day weapons have nothing whatsoever to do with the rules of fictional weapons on fictional tanks in a fictional setting designed for a game of science fantasy toy soldiers. The missiles work like any other vehicle weapon, because that's all that they can do within the confines of the rules mechanics.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/06 13:05:53
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
insaniak wrote:because that's all that they can do within the confines of the rules mechanics.
Now that you put it that way, I understand what you're saying. Which is good because I didn't magnetize each missile, just the whole rack... Irony.
Edit: And now that I look at the codex it's listed as "Storm Eagle Rockets" which I think means they would be a unit, not individuals. If it had said Four Storm Eagle Rockets I still may have thought otherwise.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 13:11:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/14 02:03:02
Subject: Re:Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
|
hey buddy, sorry for causing such consternation (above-mentioned Ultramarines player) :--)
in your own words, the Emperor protects, but he has favourites
|
Out of the night that covers me, Black as the Pit from pole to pole, I thank whatever gods may be, For my unconquerable soul.
In the fell clutch of circumstance I have not winced nor cried aloud, Under the bludgeonings of chance, My head is bloody, but unbowed.
1st Coy, 2nd Coy 5000 pts
Canadian 13th "Iron Grizzlies" (Armoured and Airborne ) 4000 pts and growing |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/14 02:18:22
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Just remember to keep it way out of the reach of people and vehicles trying to kill it. Park it in the corner in some scenery, and shoot out from there.
|
I'm just a simple guy who is trying to make Daemon Princes look like Pokémon. - The Baron
That's my ACTUAL Necron Army list you turd. +27 scarabs. Stop hatin'! -Dash of Pepper |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/14 09:51:53
Subject: Urgent!!! Game Sunday. IG pay attention. Manticore Question.
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Ailaros wrote:
Another thing I question for those of you who believe it's a single system: what arc can it shoot in? All weapon mounting systems let you know if they're hull mounted or are on turrets, or sponsons, which the manticore doesn't say. This is because they're pintle weapons, just like hunter-killer missiles.
If you don't believe it's 4 pintle-mounted missiles, then what's to say you can't only fire in a 45 degree front arc, or in no arc at all?
Depends on the model.
FW or GW.
FW is on a turret. Ergo, has a 360* AoF.
The GW one is not, ergo a 45* forward arc.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|