Switch Theme:

Free Teleport?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Taken from 40k Rulebook FAQ.

Q: If an Independent Character is unable to end his move
over 2” away from a unit that he cannot join, for example
he has exited a vehicle after it has moved, can he be
placed? (p48)

A: Yes, simply place him as far away from the unit(s) that
he cannot join as possible.


RAW, free teleport? Well, to the edge of the table at least...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 16:41:13



Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If you want to read it that way. Or it could just be permission for the IC to be within 2" of a unit he can't join.
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Actually, reading that, wouldnt that mean if this happens, you actually have to find the furthest distance as possible from the unit(s) that he cannot join on the table (which will take him to a table edge most likely?

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

lol gotta love GW and typos

   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Yes, place him back in your carrying case...with the rest of your models. Because this game is over.

It says "as possible" which I would take to mean as far away as the rules restricting the ICs movement would allow.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/06 16:46:45


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






"as far away [from the unit he can't join] as possible" does not give you permission to violate the model's existing movement allowance.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The "Yes" at the beginning of the sentence does seem to, however.

I would not have read it as forcing the move to be as far as possible, rather the model must move as far as possible to get out of the area in question.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






I agree with above statements. Like they said, just poor GW wording.

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

The FAQ addresses the issue that if you strictly follow the rules on pages 48 (1st bullet point left side) and 67 (1st bullet point under Disembarking) and independent character could never disembark from a transport that moved because after disembarking neither the character nor the transport could move any further leaving the character within 2" of a unit it could not join at the end of the Movement phase.

The FAQ gives the independent character permission to disembark.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





SlaveToDorkness wrote:It says "as possible" which I would take to mean as far away as the rules restricting the ICs movement would allow.
Not to mention the 2" limit on disembarkation moves.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Sorry guys and gals, this was sort of a troll thread to just point out how poorly worded GW's game is.

Did anyone play Magic back in it's heyday? Then when sixth edition came out, they literally revamped the ENTIRE rules compendium to the game and cleared up every single possible obscurity, every single grey area, and every single little knook and cranny that could possibly cause any sort of confusion. There are still situations that arise where a player is like, "Hmm... how is THAT supposed to work?" But, if you dig deep enough into the rules, there is an exact ruling that makes sense and will be consistant with all other interactions that are in relation to that.

Why can't GW do that? Seriously. How hard is it? And it only makes it worse when they release FAQ's and Erratas that are plagued with vague wording, typos, and inconsistant terms. Bluh... this game could be such a monster of a game if they would just cleanup their rules.



Back on topic:

Either I am misunderstanding the question or all of you are. This is what I thought the scenario was:

An IC disembarks from a transport. However, the only place he can disembark would put him within 2" of a unit that he is not allowed to join. So, naturally, what you should do is disembark and then move the IC the minimum distance required to not be in coherency with the unit he is not allowed to join. Instead, what they said is move the IC as far as possible from the unit he is not allowed to join. Well, in that case, I go to the other side of the board then? Or, as someone else stated, put him in my case and go home? Perhaps, launch him into outer space on a rocket just to be sure?

Lazy, lazy, lazy. Seriously urks me...


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Kurce wrote:Sorry guys and gals, this was sort of a troll thread to just point out how poorly worded GW's game is.



Seriously though, it isn't difficult to decipher this. With no permission given to extend his movement they're simply telling you to position him as far away from the other unit as possible [within the bounds of his normal movement].
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA


Kurce wrote: Either I am misunderstanding the question or all of you are. This is what I thought the scenario was:

An IC disembarks from a transport. However, the only place he can disembark would put him within 2" of a unit that he is not allowed to join. So, naturally, what you should do is disembark and then move the IC the minimum distance required to not be in coherency with the unit he is not allowed to join. Instead, what they said is move the IC as far as possible from the unit he is not allowed to join. Well, in that case, I go to the other side of the board then? Or, as someone else stated, put him in my case and go home? Perhaps, launch him into outer space on a rocket just to be sure?
Here's what I said earlier;

time wizard wrote:The FAQ addresses the issue that if you strictly follow the rules on pages 48 (1st bullet point left side) and 67 (1st bullet point under Disembarking) and independent character could never disembark from a transport that moved because after disembarking neither the character nor the transport could move any further leaving the character within 2" of a unit it could not join at the end of the Movement phase.

The FAQ gives the independent character permission to disembark.


According to the rule on page 67, you disembark within 2" of a vehicle's access point. Can you disembark less than 2"? Of course you can. You can disembark in contact with your vehicle if you want. What the FAQ is telling you is that when the IC disembarks, move it as far from the vehicle as possible, but perhaps they didn't feel it was necessary to repeat the disembark rule which limits disembarking models to staying within 2".

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kurce wrote:Either I am misunderstanding the question or all of you are. This is what I thought the scenario was:

An IC disembarks from a transport. However, the only place he can disembark would put him within 2" of a unit that he is not allowed to join. So, naturally, what you should do is disembark and then move the IC the minimum distance required to not be in coherency with the unit he is not allowed to join. Instead, what they said is move the IC as far as possible from the unit he is not allowed to join. Well, in that case, I go to the other side of the board then? Or, as someone else stated, put him in my case and go home? Perhaps, launch him into outer space on a rocket just to be sure?


Nope, not what they're saying at all. The FAQ entry isn't trying to say that you move the character further, in order to keep him more than 2" away. It's saying that you move him as far as possible and call it good enough, even if that means that he is still within 2" of a unit he can not join.

'As far as possible' is not a blanket allowance to move him to the other side of the board. The IC's 'possible' movement is limited by whatever else is going on, as normal. So his normal movement rules or rules governing movement after Disembarking would still apply.

 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






insaniak wrote:
Kurce wrote:Either I am misunderstanding the question or all of you are. This is what I thought the scenario was:

An IC disembarks from a transport. However, the only place he can disembark would put him within 2" of a unit that he is not allowed to join. So, naturally, what you should do is disembark and then move the IC the minimum distance required to not be in coherency with the unit he is not allowed to join. Instead, what they said is move the IC as far as possible from the unit he is not allowed to join. Well, in that case, I go to the other side of the board then? Or, as someone else stated, put him in my case and go home? Perhaps, launch him into outer space on a rocket just to be sure?


Nope, not what they're saying at all. The FAQ entry isn't trying to say that you move the character further, in order to keep him more than 2" away. It's saying that you move him as far as possible and call it good enough, even if that means that he is still within 2" of a unit he can not join.

'As far as possible' is not a blanket allowance to move him to the other side of the board. The IC's 'possible' movement is limited by whatever else is going on, as normal. So his normal movement rules or rules governing movement after Disembarking would still apply.


Q: If an Independent Character is unable to end his move
over 2” away from a unit that he cannot join, for example
he has exited a vehicle after it has moved, can he be
placed? (p48)

A: Yes, simply place him as far away from the unit(s) that
he cannot join as possible.


So when it says "...place him as far away from ... as possible." it is actually saying "move him the maximum distance his unit type allows for this type of movement unless he can actually get out of 2", which in case you just get 2" away."

I can see that now, but it is not that clear when you read it.

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Zyllos wrote:So when it says "...place him as far away from ... as possible." it is actually saying "move him the maximum distance his unit type allows for this type of movement unless he can actually get out of 2", which in case you just get 2" away."

It's saying that if he is unable to finish his move more than 2" away from the unit, you should just place him as far away as he can move.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Which could also come into play in the event of a low difficult terrain test roll.
You want to move the IC away from a unit, but must move the IC through difficult terrain. You say it has left the unit, but then roll a '1', so you can move it 1" away and it has still left the unit.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Exactly.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

@insaniak - I think I goofed on this last bit.
I was re-reading the FAQ tonight and looked at this one again.
The FAQ talks about an IC being unable to end his move 2" away from a unit he cannot join.
If he is joined to a unit, the rule on page 48, 3rd bullet point says a character can leave a unit by moving out of coherency with it.
Wouldn't this mean that if the IC couldn't move out of coherency that it could not leave the unit?
I don't see this as much of an issue though.
If I have an IC joined with a unit in difficult terrain and I want to separate them and I roll a '1', all I have to do is move the models in the unit first, then move the IC in the opposite direction. Even if the IC was in base contact with a model in the unit, it should end up out of coherency and no longer a part of the unit.

Again, I believe the FAQ was put in more to address ICs disembarking from transports that had already moved.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

If it was a unit that the IC was already joined to, then yes, he would be unable to leave the unit if he can not move far enough away from them.

The FAQ entry only applies to cases where the IC is trying to move away from a unit that he can't join in the first place, since the rules otherwise don't allow him to end his movement within 2" of such a unit.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: