Switch Theme:

Lascannon and Plasma Cannon on Razorback  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




New Troy

I have some questions regarding the razorback with a lascannon and a TL Plasma Cannon

1- They were bought together so therefore they are a weapon system, correct?
2- If the lascannon fires so must the plasma cannon right? Therfore if the target is in range of the las but out of range of the plasma, the las fires at the intended target and the plasma cannon fires at its max range and scatters normally

I heard a big no from my friend but what does dakka think

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 18:46:56


 
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge







If I am not mistaken, the lascannon and TL plasma gun are treated as separate weapons. It is not a plasma cannon, it is a plasma gun.

Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

NamTaey wrote: I have some questions regarding the razorback with a lascannon and a TL Plasma Cannon

1- They were bought together so therefore they are a weapon system, correct?

This is from the November 2009 GW Space Marine FAQ;

Q. If a Razorback armed with a lascannon and
twin-linked plasma gun suffers a weapon
destroyed result, does it destroy both (ie. the
lascannon and the plasma gun) or just one?
A. Only one weapon – either the lascannon or the
twin-linked plasma gun.

This verifies that they are 2 separate weapons.

NamTaey wrote:2- If the lascannon fires so must the plasma cannon right? Therfore if the target is in range of the las but out of range of the plasma, the las fires at the intended target and the plasma cannon fires at its max range and scatters normally

I heard a big no from my friend but what does dakka think


Because they are 2 separate weapons, one or the other can fire if only 1 weapon can be fired (due to movement speed). If both fire however, they must fire at the same target because they are mounted on the same vehicle. If the target is out of the range of the plasma gun, the shot misses as per the weapon rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 18:54:08


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





This actually came up this weekend.

I was moving my razorbacks to put them in position to unload troops so i could only fire one weapon.

I chose to fire the plasma gun because it was twin linked. When the enemy was at range, I selected to only fire my lascannon.

This caused me some problems I must say though as you really start to miss the twin linked ability when you are whiffing, but I guess it evens out when the enemy gets close and you have the option to hit them with 3 powerful weapons.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Time Wizard's on the ball again.


   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The wizard is indeed correct. Weapons that are dependent on the other will state so - check DCCWs for example, the rulebook plainly states that you'll lose the built-in gun if a Weapon Destroyed takes the arm.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: