Switch Theme:

Can downed necrons prevent a further assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Let's say I have a Necron Lord surrounded by a group of 15 warriors sitting on an objective. Imagine a dense circle with the lord in the middle.

The lord detached from the unit with the warriors, so it is now independent, but it does have a res orb.

The warriors were assaulted and lost. Badly. All of them are knocked down by Abaddon and a group of berzerkers. Because of the rules, I laid the warriors on their side exactly where they were. Even though the unit is effectively destroyed, they are within 6" of a res orb so they can still make a WBB roll, and therefore I believe they stay.

Adding to the confusion is that the game is actually a three way. The third player is using Nids and has a lovely winged Hive Tyrant within range.

The downed warriors form a wall of junk as there is literally no room to get any closer to the Lord from any direction. Can the HT assault the Lord? The only way I can see for that to happen is if the downed warriors are moved out of the way to make room for the HT to get into b2b contact.

I know that if 1 warrior had survived that the group would have failed a leadership roll and run away, but none of them were still standing at the end of close combat and the left over bodies basically meant there was a 3" circle where nothing else could stand.










------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

The codex says that the downed Necrons are ignored for all purposes, doesn't it?

Just pretend they aren't there, and scoot them about to make room for the hive tyrant to get into assault, although I'm sure that's not what you wanted to hear. Ouch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 20:49:10


Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

They are just more battlefield debris.

Battlefield debris does not restrict models from being within 2".

I have (once) heard someone say they are still models and would still have the restriction, but that did not go on long and was not at a game.

/shrug

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 20:49:58


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

The bodies don't matter, they dont make it impassable or difficult or anything of the sort

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Keep in mind that units who are "downed", remain in assault automatically if they get back up, and an enemy unit is base to base.

Source: Necron FAQ

I'd assume you leave them where they are, but accommodate for things getting close.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 20:53:55


Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) -  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

sure if they get up to the same unit, however if they're required to go into a new unit they're not IIRC

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:sure if they get up to the same unit, however if they're required to go into a new unit they're not IIRC


They're required to move to the closest unit.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





If they would have stood back up, they would have moved half a board away (joining a like unit).

After thinking about it the debris stuff makes sense though. The HT should have been able to just stand on their dead, but still lukewarm, husks. Oh well, I'll have to tell the group that the poor Necrons won due to a bad ruling. Good thing it's not the first time in our little group that someone won over something like that.

Of course, getting back up and staying at least 1" away for the tyrant would have been .. difficult.



Thanks,

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/06 21:04:47


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

can they Get WBB for the warriors off just the Lord anyway?

Considering abbadon wiped out the entire squad


   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:can they Get WBB for the warriors off just the Lord anyway?

Considering abbadon wiped out the entire squad



If there's no Warriors within 6" at WBB time, no they don't.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





The res orb allows WBB for things that cause instant death (like the HT and Abaddon). However, looking a little closer they should have been removed completely as the nearest unit was a long ways away at the time.

Grr. We screwed that round up twice over.

Thanks,

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/06 21:12:40


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

clively wrote:The res orb allows WBB for things that cause instant death (like the HT and Abaddon). However, looking a little closer they should have been removed completely as the nearest unit was a long ways away at the time.

Grr. We screwed that round up twice over.

Thanks,


Oh, don't worry about it.

WBB is a very weird and outdated rule that confuses a lot of people.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




Wingate, Co Durham, UK

Yeah the HT would be able to assault so you'd just have to push a few downed warriors outta the way to make room, the unit would not all of had WBB rolls (possibly none of them) by the sound of it as it depends if Abaddon and the Berserkers had the same Initiative or one went before the other, reason being is the Necron FAQ advises you that when a necron is wounded you measure to see if a WBB would be allowed then, not when your due to take your WBB rolls at the start of your next turn, this means if Abaddon had a higher Initiative and only downed afew warriors, those warriors would be allowed a WBB roll even if the rest of their unit was dispatched by the berserkers or vice versa as they were still within 6" of an undamaged warrior when downed and even if the Lord was then taken out by the HT before your next turn those few that went down first would still get a WBB aswell as the Lord.

Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




As a side note (and based on your description) I don't think the Lord could have been detatched. Any IC that is within 2" of a unit must join that unit. I don't have the Necron codex so I'm assuming that the Lord is an IC without any special rules about joining/leaving a unit.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Leo is correct, the Lord could not detach from the unit since it's within 2" of a unit.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





So to sum up how the situation should have gone:

1. The lord could not have detached at all.

2. The warriors killed by Abaddon could have made a WBB because they were within 6" of the rest of the warriors in the group and the Res orb.

3. The remaining warriors were killed by the Berzerkers and thus would have been removed completely as no standing group of warriors was within 6" at the time they fell.

Ultimately the Lord most likely would have been killed by the berzerkers during that attack as well. I'm pretty sure the number of successful attacks blew way past what was left of the warriors.

So, on the tyranids turn, the HT would have basically been alone with Abaddon and crew. Given that Abaddon would have ripped it apart (unless it did the smart thing and ran away), the initial set of warriors that made their WBB rolls would have stood up to be in CC with Abaddon and, within moments, been utterly wiped out. Leaving Abaddon on the objective, FTW.


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




Wingate, Co Durham, UK

By the sounds of it the Lord will of been within 2" of the warriors as both were on the objective and the Lord was right in the middle so he was as per the BRB joined to that unit.
It depends if Abaddon and the Berserkers had the same Initiative when attacking and since the Berserkers charged they would gain +1 to this for their Furious Charge so would of been Initiative 5, im unsure as to what Abaddons would of been, so say if he was I6 then yes any necrons he downed would get a WBB but if he was also I5 then none of them would.
Dont forget that you allocate wounds so if Abbadon downed 5 warriors it would of left you 10 plus your Lord, if the Berserkers then caused 33 wounds thats 3 a model which you roll the Lord seperately since he is different from the rest so he could of survived on his normal 3+ save but may then of been fleeing or ran down due to combat resolution.
Im uncertain if the downed warriors that were allowed a WBB would of went straight into combat as the WBB entry states they cant contact a new enemy unit and since that combat had effectively been lost, then Abaddon and the Berserkers would to me count as a new enemy unit however the Necron FAQ does state a Lord if within 1" who successfully made his WBB would be placed into combat but doesnt count as charging so unsure of that one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/07 20:50:34


Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The lord, being an IC, cannot be "allocated" to in CC - you have to attack him as if he were a seperate unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: