| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/08 16:47:45
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
5°15′N 117°0′E
|
1st question:
Since the only 2 action a player can choose after deep-striking a model is 'Shoot' or 'Run', can you 'Fleet' after deep strike?
2nd question:
2 scenarios:-
10 Hormagaunts are 12" away from opponent models. Declare run, roll 3D6 (bounding leap rules), get a 6, move 6" towards opponent models, then lock in combat due to the 'fleet' rule.
or,
10 Hormagaunts are 12" away from opponent models. Declare fleet during 'shoot and assault phase', roll D6, get a 6, move 6" towards opponent models, then lock in combat due to the 'fleet' rule.
Which one is correct?
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/12/08 16:57:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/08 16:52:59
Subject: Re:[Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
fleet is no longer a verb. It is not something you do. Fleet is a rule that allows you to assault even if you ran in the previous shooting phase. Nothing more, nothing less.
Your hormagaunts can move their 6" in the movement phase. In the shooting phase, you run the highest of 3d6, then in the assault phase you can assault a further 6".
You may "run" or shoot after deep striking, but may not assault unless you have a special rule that states otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/08 16:55:32
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
Earth
|
Fleet just means you can assault after running, there is no move called "fleet" its just called running, but some players call it fleet. Normal deep striking rules apply, you cant assault after you deep struck on the same turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/08 16:58:42
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/08 16:57:24
Subject: Re:[Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
1) If by 'fleet' you mean 'run' then yes, you can deep strike and run instead of shooting.
If by 'fleet' you mean 'Run then charge' then no, Deep striking prohibits charging.
2) 10 hormagaunts are 12" away from the enemy...
Movement > Hormagaunts will move 6" towards the enemy (assuming there is no terrain, etc, in the way)
Shooting > Hormgaunts have no shooting attack so elect to run and roll 3D6 (bounding leap) and pick the highest. They roll a 6, and move 5" towards the enemy, as you must remain 1" away unless you are assaulting.
Assault Phase > This is where the fleet rule allows you to charge after running. So charge upto 6" into base contact.
|
WLD: 221 / 6 / 5
5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall
DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/08 22:10:51
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Most of those that call the run move 'fleet' are players of previous editions, where Fleet was the rule that allowed you to move in the shooting phase. As stated, rules change, and some need to adapt their terminology to the new rules.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/09 09:32:39
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
5°15′N 117°0′E
|
So, from what I understand now (after reading the codex, pg 75, specifically)
With the 5.0 rule, a unit can, move 6"->Shoot and Assautl, or Run."
The universal rule 'Fleet' is: "allows a unit to assault, after running phase." This is the one from the latest rulebook (5.0).
Right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/09 09:45:17
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
You can now Run in the shooting phase, instead of firing, exactly like units with Fleet... in the previous edition. The advantage that fleet now gives you is allowing you to assault after running, something that is normally disallowed.
Remember that this only removes the restriction on assaulting after running, and NOT the restriction on assaulting after deepstriking, or from a moving close topped vehicle with no assault ramp.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/09 10:53:29
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Or for assaulting AFTER firing Rapid-fire weapons.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/09 11:52:45
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Mr Gold wrote:With the 5.0 rule, a unit can, move 6"->Shoot and Assautl, or Run."
Just to clear it up, this wording is confusing.
Options are as follows:
Step 1) Move
Step 2) Shoot if allowed by weapons OR Run
Step 3) Charge if allowed by weapons to do so OR Charge if allowed by fleet after running.
|
War is my master; Death my mistress - Maugan Ra |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/09 17:32:36
Subject: [Confused]Running, Fleet, Deep Strike...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
Fleet allows you to disregard the prohibition on assaulting after running.
It does not allow you to disregard any other restriction (such as Deep Striking)
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|