Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 13:45:53
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Quick one - a deep strike onto difficult terrain is not a mishap is it? AFAIK, friendly models, enemy models (both within 1"), off the table and impassible terrain were the only criteria for a mishap arent they?
I was questioned on this by my opponent as i deep struck some daemons onto an objective, with no rulebook handy. I wasn't sure, so I took dangerous terrain tests for every model in the unit.
Was I correct intially? Or is there soemthing i'm forgetting?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 13:52:10
Subject: Re:Deep Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you both agreed before hand that the objective was difficult terrain then yes you take a dangerous terrain test. If you agreed it is impassible terrain then that would be a mishap
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 13:54:52
Subject: Re:Deep Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Open/clear terrain = Safe!
Difficult Terrain = Dangerous!
Dangerous Terrain = Dangerous!
Impassible Terrain = MISHAP!
Board edge = MISHAP!
Hopefully that chart will help (keep in mind, other models are "impassible")
~DAR
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 14:12:09
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
liam0404 wrote:I wasn't sure, so I took dangerous terrain tests for every model in the unit.
Was I correct intially? Or is there soemthing i'm forgetting?
Only models that land in difficult terrain via deep strike must take a dangerous terrain test, not the entire unit.
Dar's list is correct, but you need to add
On top of a friendly model = MISHAP!
On top of or within 1" of an enemy model = MISHAP!
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 14:14:24
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
time wizard wrote:
On top of a friendly model = MISHAP!
On top of or within 1" of an enemy model = MISHAP!
I excluded them as they are redundant, friendly/1"of enemy models count as Impassible.
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 14:23:04
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:time wizard wrote:
On top of a friendly model = MISHAP!
On top of or within 1" of an enemy model = MISHAP!
I excluded them as they are redundant, friendly/1"of enemy models count as Impassible.
I just wanted to clarify because you had said that "other models are impassable" which is true, but you can land within 1" of friendly models without mishap.
Just wanted to be clear, try to help.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 18:06:10
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Absolutely! That clarification is actually extremely helpful as it would prevent people from deepstriking less then 1" from an enemy unit, it does however remind me of the age old question...
Does a Drop pod suffer a mishap if it lands within 1" of an enemy model (for instance, say you are makign a daring move to drop inside a circle of enemy models, but the circle isnt big enough.
The other one being, "Since troops arriving and deploying via Drop pod count as "deep striking" (as per the DH FAQ), would they suffer a "mishap" if they were to deploy within 1" of an enemy model, or are they removed as per the "disembarking" rules "?
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 18:33:12
Subject: Deep Strike
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: Does a Drop pod suffer a mishap if it lands within 1" of an enemy model (for instance, say you are makign a daring move to drop inside a circle of enemy models, but the circle isnt big enough.
If you were to land inside a circle of troops not wide enough to land the pod you are almost putting yourself into an "auto-mishap" situarion. You still have to roll for scatter. If you do scatter and the roll is high enough to clear the enemy models you would move the drop pod that distance. But if you rolled a 'hit' or too low a number to clear the enemy troops, you can't recuce the scatter distance and so would mishap. Far better to set the point of deep strike arrival in the clear but near the enemy troops.
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:The other one being, "Since troops arriving and deploying via Drop pod count as "deep striking" (as per the DH FAQ), would they suffer a "mishap" if they were to deploy within 1" of an enemy model, or are they removed as per the "disembarking" rules "?
This has been debated at some length both here and on a few other forums.
There are some who feel that the models are destroyed since the codex says they must immediately disembark as normal and if they can't disembark they are destroyed.
Others say the models are only destroyed if they can't disembark when the transport is destroyed (page 67 BRB) and so they would remain in the pod until they were able to disembark normally.
This, some argue, could leave the models in the pod,unable to disembark for the remainder of the game.
But the pod, once it is deployed counts as open-topped so any models in the pod could assault in the following turn.
Still one of those unclear situations that begs for an official FAQ.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
|