Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 20:30:04
Subject: DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I was thinking about this for my newly-coming DKoK- If a general-commissar joins an engineer squad before deployment, can he turn up after the drill has surfaced?
It says in the codex, QFT- "Any engineer squads attached to the drill will automatically arrive the turn after it emerges, and may be moved on the table from the point from which the drill emerged..."
Allowed? Automatically Appended Next Post: ...  ...anyone?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/12/10 21:37:16
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 22:05:49
Subject: DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I would say no, from a strict RAW point of view - you are allowed to attach engineer squads to the drill, not engineer squads with attached ICs.
However, I'd probably allow it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 22:13:05
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
well- a IC can join the engineers, and the engineers can be attached to the drill. So allowed?
my entire DKoK army revolves around the answer to this question.
If yes- I will get 2 engineer squads, a hades drill, a commissar, and then maybe another 1 or 2 engineer squads after.
If no- I will get 1 engineer squad, a hades drill, a CCS, 2 grenadier squads and 2 centaurs.
|
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 22:18:30
Subject: DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I'd search for the discussions about attaching stuff to snikrot's squad - it's pretty much the same argument. The RAW is vague, if we take the hardest possible interpretation then the answer is no. On the other hand, I look at it from a practical stand-point and it makes sense.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/10 22:22:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 22:28:36
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Hmm. I shall ask the fellas at my FLGS. The manager here is nice, but a tad too job-oriented. It's all work-work-work, like while in the middle of a friendly chat, spots some noobs coming in, cuts the chat and starts an intro game with them, without so much as an "excuse me". My old manager was better, so I might give him a call.  And my current FLGS manager is kinda strict. If you've read my chief libby rules, he cut it all down to exactl the same as a regular libby, but 50 more points and can use 2 powers a turn. Cut all the wargear options, special rules, extra powers, ect. He ended up with less powers and options as a normal libby! Next time I go to get something stamped, i'm going to MK. [/rant]
|
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/10 23:28:48
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
He didn't cut down your master librarian to anything...He just made it an Epistolary. Read your codex. An Epistolary is 50 points more than a regular librarian and can use 2 powers per turn. He doesn't have less than than a regular librarian, he has exactly one more thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/11 09:25:16
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
which makes it a completely useless unit. It's already in the codex. He is the one person I've met who has a problem with the rules. We're straying omewhat here, so moving it back on topic... Automatically Appended Next Post: okay guys- I have rang my FLGS manager, and he says (drum roll please):
If the general-commissar is an IC (he is) and the engineers are a seperate unit to the drill (they are) then...maybe.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/11 10:57:54
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/11 22:02:56
Subject: DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you can. As the follow up attack isn't deep striking, the IC attached to the squad can still arrive with the squad, you simply count as moving on the table (although you don't count as moving for purposes of shooting heavy weapons).
All you've done is dig a big hole to walk onto the table from instead of walking on from the table edge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/12 09:36:47
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
cool!  if in apoc. games, I include in the squad...
shrike
Areth Caan ( SC chapter master)
Korvydae
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
chaplain
chaplain
libby
chief libby
libby
lysander
GKGM
inquisitor
yarrick...ouch.
nah, i'll just put yarrick in there. The rest can DS/infiltrate/turbo boost.
|
DS:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Plotr06#+D+++A++++/eWD251R+++T(Ot)DM+
JB: I like the concept of a free Shrike roaming through the treetops of the jungle. I'm not sure that I like the idea of a real Shrike sitting on my couch eating my Skittles.
corpsesarefun: Thank god I missed be nice to shrike day.
greenskin lynn: because of all the skittles and soda, you basically live off sugar water, like some sort of freakish human-hummingbird hybrid. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/12 14:49:24
Subject: Re:DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
shrike wrote:cool!  if in apoc. games, I include in the squad...
shrike
Areth Caan ( SC chapter master)
Korvydae
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
captain
chaplain
chaplain
libby
chief libby
libby
lysander
GKGM
inquisitor
yarrick...ouch.
nah, i'll just put yarrick in there. The rest can DS/infiltrate/turbo boost.
Uhh.. no. you can't put them in there even in apocalypse since they're not actually in the siege regiment list, they'll be part of a separate detachment. The rules on several armies benefiting from different rules are quite clear, just because having sicarus in an apocalypse game doesn't make all your guardsmen LD10! You can't attach independent characters from different armies into the siege regiment engineers. Not even Yarrick, since he is Codex: Imperial Guard not Siege Regiment. And don't think about allies for GK either, that's only for C: SM or C: IG not Siege Regiment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/12 16:03:59
Subject: DKoK question- help!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Quite so. Just because there isn't a force org that doesn't mean it's open season!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/12 19:42:05
|
|
 |
 |
|