Switch Theme:

las cannon and twin linked plasma guns  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

I know this question must have been asked and answered but can't find it.

If there is a weapon destroyed on a razorback: las cannon and twin linked plasma guns. which weapon is destroyed?

Thanks in advance, RB

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

The one of your opponents choice, as per the normal rules.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

I thought the weapon was twin linked as its on the same turret, and must fire at same target?

RB

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/11 22:54:57


Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





Quincy, IL

it does have to be fired at the same target

3000 pts
10000 pts
2000 pts
1600 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) It is not a single weapon system. Two different weapons. BRB FAQ from memory states this.
2) It is ONE unit therefore it must fire at ONE target, same as every other unit in the game - barring a special rule.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote: 1) It is not a single weapon system. Two different weapons. BRB FAQ from memory states this.
It was actually from the Space Marine FAQ:

Space Marine FAQ - Nov. 2009 wrote:Q. If a Razorback armed with a lascannon and
twin-linked plasma gun suffers a weapon
destroyed result, does it destroy both (ie. the
lascannon and the plasma gun) or just one?
A. Only one weapon – either the lascannon or the
twin-linked plasma gun.

nosferatu1001 wrote:2) It is ONE unit therefore it must fire at ONE target, same as every other unit in the game - barring a special rule.
100% correct.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bah, can never remember which FAQ it was in....
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






RB wrote:I thought the weapon was twin linked as its on the same turret, and must fire at same target?
RB

Just to be clear - however many weapons a vehicle has, they must all be fired at the same target. (barring special rules like PotMS)
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

RB wrote:I thought the weapon was twin linked as its on the same turret, and must fire at same target?

RB
The plasma gun is twin-linked, the lascannon is not.


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

everyone seems to be missing the point. If you have TL HB turret on a razorback and you get weapon destroyed. You lose the turret. Why do you not lose the turret when it's a las cannon and twin plasma guns. It just doesn't make sense. And yes the answer is GW says so, but a turret is a turret.

RB

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No a weapon is a weapon.

You lose a weapon on a Lascannon /Twin-linked plasma turret and you only lose one of the weapons.

The rule is weapon destroyed not turret destroyed.

The only reason that dreadnoughts lose the built-in SB or HF when they lose the DCCW, is that it is, rules wise, built in to the arm; and the whole arm is lost.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

RB wrote:. If you have TL HB turret on a razorback and you get weapon destroyed. You lose the turret.

A Weapon Destroyed result removes the weapon, not the turret. While it's common practice to just remove the turret at that point, as it's the easiest way to mark the damage, it's not actually required.

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Exactly.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Kommissar Kel wrote:No a weapon is a weapon.

You lose a weapon on a Lascannon /Twin-linked plasma turret and you only lose one of the weapons.

The rule is weapon destroyed not turret destroyed.



I understand what RB is saying: if you have a twin-linked heavy bolter on the razorback, the weapon system is destroyed, i.e. you're not left with a single heavy bolter (and thus now unable to reroll misses). Why is it not the case with lascannon/plasma gun combo? Is the TL HB two weapons or one weapon? The LC/PG is obviously two weapons (according to the FAQ).

Would it be more accurate for GW to describe it as a coaxial weapon as they do in the Apoc rulebook? Rather than twin-linked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/12 20:41:33


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Ulver wrote:I understand what RB is saying: if you have a twin-linked heavy bolter on the razorback, the weapon system is destroyed, i.e. you're not left with a single heavy bolter (and thus now unable to reroll misses). Why is it not the case with lascannon/pg combo?

Because the Lascannon and twin-linked plasma guns are not a single weapons system.

 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




insaniak wrote:
Ulver wrote:I understand what RB is saying: if you have a twin-linked heavy bolter on the razorback, the weapon system is destroyed, i.e. you're not left with a single heavy bolter (and thus now unable to reroll misses). Why is it not the case with lascannon/pg combo?

Because the Lascannon and twin-linked plasma guns are not a single weapons system.


Thank you, makes sense. Slight tangential question then, out of interest: is LC/PG a better value combo given the more 'weapon destroyed' results that the vehicle can then take? (I'm not an SM player, so have no idea of points etc.)
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

That's more of a tactics question, which would be better in its own thread over on the tactics board.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Additionally the TL HB *IS* a single weapon system - it is NOT two weapons fired together, as that doesnt let you reroll misses - its just 2 weapons.

TL /= two weapons "firing" as far as this game is concerned.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Ulver wrote:Would it be more accurate for GW to describe it as a coaxial weapon as they do in the Apoc rulebook? Rather than twin-linked.


Ehh... perhaps, but then there would be an extra rule in regular WH40K. While people often remove the turret to signify a weapon destroyed result that's not a rule, only player convenience. It's not like tanks lose pintle-mounted weapons with the main turret they're mounted on either - the rules actually have to state you lose two for one as DCCWs do.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

RB wrote:everyone seems to be missing the point. If you have TL HB turret on a razorback and you get weapon destroyed. You lose the turret. Why do you not lose the turret when it's a las cannon and twin plasma guns. It just doesn't make sense. And yes the answer is GW says so, but a turret is a turret.

RB


You're right a turret is a turret, but a WD removes a weapon not a turret.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: