Switch Theme:

The Fast & the Furious (Initiative questions in CC)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Raging Ravener







Two initiative situations:

1.- I'm a carnifex (I=1), I'm a living ram (I=+2 on charge), I have crushing claws (I=1) and adrenal glands (I=+1 on charge), now I'm charging:
What's my initiative total?

2.- I'm a howling banshee (I=5), I wear the mask (I=10, first round), I charge a hive tyrant with lash whip (I down to 1):
What's my initiative total?

3.- I'm an hormagaunt behind a unit of termagants deployed in ranks, there's enough gap between their bases to fit my base:
can I move/run/charge THROUGH the unit, since there's room enough for me to cross?

I know the last one is tricky, but it would mean a nice asset for my strategy so far.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/16 07:30:44


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



1) You strike at I1, because the rules for Crushing Claws state that you strike at I1 regardless of other modifiers.

2) As clarified by the Tyranid FAQ, you strike at I10.

3) Yes, the rules specify that you can move through the gaps between friendly models as long as there is space for your base to fit through.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/16 07:34:53


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in es
Raging Ravener







Can I choose not to "use" the claws, denying 1D3 attack bonus but then attacking at I=4?

What good is for the whip if it doesn't work in these situations? I mean, tyrant's initiative is high and this biomorph I think is intended to help against greater initiative units so...
I don't have an eldar codex to check and tyranid codex states foe initiative counts as 1, regardless actual initiative value, isn't it the same as crushing claws effect (apply after modifiers)?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, as nothing the Nids have are close combat weapons there is no capabiulity for you to choose. If you look at the special rules page it states that 'Nids dont use CCW.

The FAQ states otherwise. If you have a problem with it, email GW, however pretty much every FAQ ruling in the nid FAQ went against the Nids....
   
Made in au
Waaagh! Warbiker




yakface wrote:

1) You strike at I1, because the rules for Crushing Claws state that you strike at I1 regardless of other modifiers.

2) As clarified by the Tyranid FAQ, you strike at I10.

3) Yes, the rules specify that you can move through the gaps between friendly models as long as there is space for your base to fit through.






IIRC this is wrong, dont you have to stay 1" away from ALL units? except independent characters.

"Da Mek'z tinker nd do their job
The boys 'll smash yah, so will da Nob
The Bos 'll stompa till your dead
Snikrot 'll kill ya wiff is hands behind is 'ead!"

^^^^ Ode to Snikrot, the Sneakiest, Stabbiest, Morkiest, Kommando to ever walk the face of whoever looked at him funny! Tourne W/D/L 6/0/0 Public W/D/l 24/2/8 All with my orksof course

squidhills wrote:It is for the same reason that Chaplains wear black: so that they will be inherantly more awesome than the guy in blue, and thus the purity of the Chapter is assured.

 
   
Made in gb
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge



Norfolk (the UK one)

No, you are perfectly entitled to move within 1" of friendly models and even be in b2b if you wish.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Tekeino - you're thinking of fantasy. In 40k the only prohibition is on enemy models.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

ENKHANNA wrote:Can I choose not to "use" the claws, denying 1D3 attack bonus but then attacking at I=4?

What good is for the whip if it doesn't work in these situations? I mean, tyrant's initiative is high and this biomorph I think is intended to help against greater initiative units so...
I don't have an eldar codex to check and tyranid codex states foe initiative counts as 1, regardless actual initiative value, isn't it the same as crushing claws effect (apply after modifiers)?


It sucks as a Nid player, but it's a difference in wording. Crushing Claws state the model strikes at initiative 1. Pretty cut and dry, and no way around it. It doesn't matter what their actual initiative is. Lash Whips are more complicated though as they say the model's initiative counts as 1. Subtle difference, but important as you also have other modifiers that could come into play such as banshee masks or furious charge. It basicly came down to which takes precedence, which gets applied first? GW made the ruling that Lash Whips take the nerf and that's that.

Personally I think that that a better soulution would have been to address the overall problem, rather than add a band-aid solution. Make an addition to the main FAQ something along the lines of "when two opposing rules both change a stat to a flat value (as opposed to simply adding a +value or -value), they cancel each other out. Any +values or -values are then totaled and added (or subtracted). It's a more fair ruling, although it may have greater complications for other situations, but I can't think of any off the top of my head.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

ENKHANNA wrote:Can I choose not to "use" the claws, denying 1D3 attack bonus but then attacking at I=4?

What good is for the whip if it doesn't work in these situations? I mean, tyrant's initiative is high and this biomorph I think is intended to help against greater initiative units so...
I don't have an eldar codex to check and tyranid codex states foe initiative counts as 1, regardless actual initiative value, isn't it the same as crushing claws effect (apply after modifiers)?



So...lash whip works against 99% of the units that would match or exceed the Tyrant's Initiative. It's a great biomorph.


And to more specifically answer your question, Crushing Claws specifically mentions that it works regardless of modifiers and the Lash Whip does not (it only works regardless of the actual Initiative value of the striking model)...so things that modify Initiative still apply after the Lash Whip's effect is applied.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

nosferatu1001 wrote:Tekeino - you're thinking of fantasy. In 40k the only prohibition is on enemy models.


...and non-joinable units in the case of ICs.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except it then isnt 1", but 2"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: