Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 08:49:38
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Arguing with a friend who insists that the Space Marine Landraider can be taken as a dedicated transport by any troop choice aside from terminators. I keep telling him from what I have seen and read that they are two separate things. The troops and the landraider, but that they can deploy in it but it wouldn't count as dedicated.
That being said, can it be taken as a dedicated for termies?
edited for typo
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/21 08:49:58
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 08:53:00
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
RogueSangre
|
Depends what codex he's playing. Blood Angels, can infact take Land Raiders as Dedicated Transports for many things, including some of their Troops options.
Most codices allow you to take LR's as DT for a singleTerminator squad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 08:56:21
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
He plays regular SM, hates the specific chapters for personal reasons.
Thanks for the help Commander! Automatically Appended Next Post: OH! one more question.
Can SM scouts take a LR as a deployment vehicle(not dedicated) and use the outflank from their scout rule?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/21 09:01:55
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 09:17:46
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ooh that would be epic, an outflanking land raider
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 09:30:11
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
A cave, deep in the Misty Mountains
|
Don't think that's allowed. IIRC, the scouts must have a DT to use that rule in a vehicle
|
Craftworld Eleuven 4500
LoneLictor on thread about an ork choking the Emperor:
LoneLictor wrote:I like to imagine the Emperor kills so many Orks that he ends up half buried beneath a pile of corpses, with only his head sticking out. A lone grot stumbles across him, and starts choking him.
Then Horus comes across the lone grot, somehow managing to kill the Emperor, and punts it into space. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 10:00:02
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Alright. I just need to know if it definatly is or not. I don't think it is but he insists that he can do it.
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/21 16:05:44
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Calm Celestian
|
You can only outflank if that unit has the rule or is granted it (ala Creed). If the vehicle can't outflank, then the scouts in it lose the use of their outflank rule.
|
My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 00:16:08
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Alright thanks.
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 00:26:43
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
|
Outflanking land raider? that would be epic.
|
Task Force Rath : 5000
Deathwatch: 4000
6000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 00:46:50
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
Australia
|
Couldn’t a unit of terminators take a LR dedicated transport and use Korsarro Khan’s ability to outflank dedicated transports?
|
H.B.M.C. wrote: Goood! Goooood!
Your hate has made you powerful. Now take your Privateer Press tape measure and strike me down with all your hatred and your journey to the dark side will be complete!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 03:53:29
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
We already have deepstriking Land Raiders, do we really need outflanking ones to go with our flying psychic dreadnoughts?
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 04:44:08
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
RogueSangre
|
candy.man wrote:Couldn’t a unit of terminators take a LR dedicated transport and use Korsarro Khan’s ability to outflank dedicated transports?
I think so. I don;t believe his rule specifies that only Rhinos and Razors taken as DT's can outflank.
The real question is... Can Drop Pods outflank with Khan?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 12:37:20
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Khan states all dedicated transports, so if the termies bought it as dedicated, its legit.
Technically DP's can, but the whole immobile-moving onto board thing is an argument I could do without.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 13:17:18
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
Rynn's World
|
Veldrain wrote:Khan states all dedicated transports, so if the termies bought it as dedicated, its legit.
+1.I have a list for this and just need a willing friend from my FLGC to go up against.The way my dice seem to hate me,it will come in on the side i do not want it to and then die in a massive explosion as it gets targetted in my opponents next turn,oh well
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/22 15:32:48
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
mrwhoop wrote:You can only outflank if that unit has the rule or is granted it (ala Creed). If the vehicle can't outflank, then the scouts in it lose the use of their outflank rule.
That's not true. If the unit can outflank they can outflank with their DEDICATED trasport. It says so specifically in the outflank rule.
So a vet squad with infiltrate, the rhino can't infiltrate but the squad and rhino can outflank together.
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 12:46:29
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Calm Celestian
|
No that is true.
He asked "OH! one more question.
Can SM scouts take a LR as a deployment vehicle(not dedicated) and use the outflank from their scout rule?"
Emphasis mine and the answer is no they cannot.
|
My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 14:35:04
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
I think your wording is more general than you meant it to be. You're right that a non dedicated transport needs the outflank/scout rule. But a dedicated transport does not need the rule so long it is goes with its unit that does have the rule. The way you wrote it I took it to mean you thought not even dedicated transports could outflank unless they had the rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 14:35:35
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 14:50:57
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Technically, you could outflank two raiders with Khan, as Assault Termies and Termies each state that one squad of them can take a landraider as a dedicated transport . . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 15:07:20
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Calm Celestian
|
@ ArtfcllyFlvrd
Sorry, I was just answering his more specific non ded'd question. And I can see my response seeming general without that question in hand. We cool?
Can I haz shard pop now?
edited for being stupid
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 15:10:23
My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 17:08:20
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
@mrwhoop
If only I had some to give away. Quickly, I need some juice an ice tray and a window!
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 23:22:05
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Okay since we are on the topic of dedicated transports.
Can 2 CSM Termie squads take a LR each as dedicated transport?
I have yet to find anything in my dex that says its limited to only one squad.
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/23 23:52:38
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Both units have similar wording.
For tactical termies, the dedicated vehicle section states "ONE Terminator squad in the army may purchase a landraider."
For assault termies, again, "ONE Terminator Assault Squad"
So two is the limit for CSM dedicated land raiders, and only if you take one of each kind of terminator squad.
Edit:
Yeah, ignore this since I read that as asking about codex marines. Chaos does beat by one LR. But since their version is gimped, I'll let them have it.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/24 05:32:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 01:01:16
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
Australia
|
CSM terminators do not have a limit on taking Land Raider Transports. Therefore a CSM army could technically take 6 Land Raiders, 7 is they were running the Forge World Character Lord Zhufor with his terminator bodyguard as a HQ choice.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote: Goood! Goooood!
Your hate has made you powerful. Now take your Privateer Press tape measure and strike me down with all your hatred and your journey to the dark side will be complete!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 01:24:29
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Alright thanks for the info. If I take six squads of termies each with dedicated LR can I still take a few LR for heavy support choices?
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 01:39:40
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
Australia
|
@zadelistol
Are you talking about Chaos Space Marines (CSM) or Codex: Space Marines (C:SM) as I think I’ve gotten my wires crossed.
Chaos Space Marine (CSM) terminators are an elites choice, therefore your only limited to max 3 squads in a list (thus 3 extra Land Raiders). Codex Space Marines can take a Land Raider for 1 unit of tactical terminators and take another for 1 unit of assault terminators (thus 2 extra Land Raiders).
Either way, you won’t be able to run 6 squads unless your playing an Apoc list.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote: Goood! Goooood!
Your hate has made you powerful. Now take your Privateer Press tape measure and strike me down with all your hatred and your journey to the dark side will be complete!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 02:45:03
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Alright, thats a bit clearer. Sorry I really should have looked my dex. that and I read somewhere that if your running a 2k+list you get a second FOC is this true?
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 02:46:52
Subject: Re:Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
You may have read it somewhere but it wasn't in the BRB. You can always agree to using more than 1 FOC at any point level but, as a general rule, you only use 1 FOC in a normal game of 40K.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 03:16:06
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
@zadelistol: These Qs are rather clear in the book. I suppose if you insist that you do indeed have a codex and just need them pointed out:
Page 94, Khan's listing: He allows *all* units to Outflank. So, it doesn't matter if a LR is dedicated or not *and* that last item on the Termie listing mentions them taking a DT.
I used Khan quite a bit when the current Codex: SM came out. Often the LRR, fulla Vanguard (no JPs). It was fun for a bit.
Also, under that last item on the terminator listings: *one* squad of each kind of termi-crew, one shooty and another assaulty, may take LRs as DTs. Then you could have the 3 LRs for Heavy Supports.
So, 5 Outflanking LRs, 3 of which are Heavy Support, 2 are DTs. With Khan as the head  .
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/24 03:17:35
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/24 14:02:36
Subject: Landraider for SM.
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Central illinois, about an hour from the capital
|
Brothererekose wrote:@zadelistol: These Qs are rather clear in the book. I suppose if you insist that you do indeed have a codex and just need them pointed out:
Page 94, Khan's listing: He allows *all* units to Outflank. So, it doesn't matter if a LR is dedicated or not *and* that last item on the Termie listing mentions them taking a DT.
I used Khan quite a bit when the current Codex: SM came out. Often the LRR, fulla Vanguard (no JPs). It was fun for a bit.
Also, under that last item on the terminator listings: *one* squad of each kind of termi-crew, one shooty and another assaulty, may take LRs as DTs. Then you could have the 3 LRs for Heavy Supports.
So, 5 Outflanking LRs, 3 of which are Heavy Support, 2 are DTs. With Khan as the head  .

The codex I continue to refer to is Codex: Chaos Space Marines. so CSM is just referring to Chaos Space marines, not Codex: Space Marines so I would have no way of knowing Kahn's listing.
And when I posted last saying I should have looked at my dex is to clarify how many Elite slots I have in my Force Organization Chart. I always end up thinking the total is more then three.
|
¶▅c●▄███████||▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅▅|█
▄███████████████████▅▄▃▂
█████████████████████►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙☼◤
starhawks1 wrote:the tau are asian. that explains everything |
|
 |
 |
|