Switch Theme:

Dark Eldar - Can a Haemonculus take the same wargear twice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





This came up in another forum. Can a Haemonculus take the same piece of wargear twice. For instance they are allowed to select two pieces of additional wargear. Can I get two Caskets of Flensing?


Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons

The Black Ocean Sci Fi Wargaming Podcast 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

As long as there's no additional restrictions, you certainly can do that.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

^
What he said. As long as they're not 0-1 items, yes you can take duplicates.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok where does it say that we can do that? In Army Builder you are only allowed to select one of each. I know Army Builder is not an authority but what other codex allows you select the same gear twice? I need some proof for when my twin Shattershard Haemonculus whips out my opponents army, lol

Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons

The Black Ocean Sci Fi Wargaming Podcast 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Tyranid codex, but then again, it's the tyranids...

Thunderfrog wrote:
+1 Str for like 5 points? To autocannons or assault cannons? Hell yea. Then the Reinforced Aegis upgrade for free AND the ability to ignore stunned shaken.. pretty much for free..
Other Dreadnaughts should just go somewhere and be a toaster.

Mattieu~~~~ It's not that eldar are bad, it's that they require a lot of intergration between units. Also, that doesnt prove anything other than GW has a huge hard-on for marines, and, given the option between making a xeno the best psykers or making a marine the best psyker, they will 9 times out of 10 choose the marine.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tzeentchling9 wrote:Mephy can't be swept. He is still a marine so he has the, "And They Shall Never Get Removed From The Table After Losing Combat Like Everyone Else Because They Are The Poster Boys" special rule.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







You can't take two Shattershards because they're unique (asterisked in the arcane wargear list).

Probably over half of the items in that "Take up to two of the following pieces of arcane wargear" list have rules prohibiting taking more than one in the army, other items on that list provide no additional benefit taken twice (Scissorhand, or the ranged weapons). For the rest, for that sort of list you just can't choose the same thing twice in a "Take up to two" or "Take any of the following" lists, or you run into S10 I10 Keepers of Secrets, S10 heralds, rhinos with 20 HK missiles and other silliness.

But you can select the same option for the "Replace" options, though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 19:32:04


 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






solkan wrote:You can't take two Shattershards because they're unique (asterisked in the arcane wargear list).

Probably over half of the items in that "Take up to two of the following pieces of arcane wargear" list have rules prohibiting taking more than one in the army, other items on that list provide no additional benefit taken twice (Scissorhand, or the ranged weapons). For the rest, for that sort of list you just can't choose the same thing twice in a "Take up to two" or "Take any of the following" lists, or you run into S10 I10 Keepers of Secrets, S10 heralds, rhinos with 20 HK missiles and other silliness.

But you can select the same option for the "Replace" options, though.


About the Scissorhands, they give +1 A and 3+ Poison, if you take two of those, you will gain +2 A and 3+ Poison, but then also gain an additional +1 A for having two close combat weapons (having two of the same close combat special weapon counts as having two close combat weapons with the special rule of the special weapon).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 19:41:51


 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Taking two of the same is one thing, but what says they actually stack?
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






It says it in the Codex...I do not remember the exact page number.

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




No panic, just asking. There's quite a few + items that don't say so.
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






No problem here. My brother is the one that plays Dark Eldar heh

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok found the answer. Its on the bottom of page 60 under Arcane Wargear. You can only have one piece of arcane wargear per army if the item has a asterisk. However the webway portal has no such restriction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 20:26:44


Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons

The Black Ocean Sci Fi Wargaming Podcast 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Zyllos wrote:
solkan wrote:You can't take two Shattershards because they're unique (asterisked in the arcane wargear list).

Probably over half of the items in that "Take up to two of the following pieces of arcane wargear" list have rules prohibiting taking more than one in the army, other items on that list provide no additional benefit taken twice (Scissorhand, or the ranged weapons). For the rest, for that sort of list you just can't choose the same thing twice in a "Take up to two" or "Take any of the following" lists, or you run into S10 I10 Keepers of Secrets, S10 heralds, rhinos with 20 HK missiles and other silliness.

But you can select the same option for the "Replace" options, though.


About the Scissorhands, they give +1 A and 3+ Poison, if you take two of those, you will gain +2 A and 3+ Poison, but then also gain an additional +1 A for having two close combat weapons (having two of the same close combat special weapon counts as having two close combat weapons with the special rule of the special weapon).


If you had two Scissorhands, you'd get +2A (one from Scissorhands, the other from having an additional copy of the same weapon).

If you had Scissorhands and a close combat weapon (like the one they start with) you'd get +2A (one from Scissorhands, one from having an additional close combat weapon). So the only thing you would have accomplished is wasting points, especially considering that they start with both a pistol and a close combat weapon.

And that's ignoring the fact that you simply cannot duplicate choices in a list of "Take any of the following" or its variants. The Archon doesn't get to buy five Djin blades and the Haemonculus doesn't get to buy two Scissorhands, and a Space Marine Rhino doesn't get to buy four HK missiles and a half dozen Storm Bolters.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Yup. Solkan is right.

veritechc wrote:Ok found the answer. Its on the bottom of page 60 under Arcane Wargear. You can only have one piece of arcane wargear per army if the item has a asterisk. However the webway portal has no such restriction.


Yup. I run two; though on two different Haemoncs.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior




If this is referring to whether or not a Haemonculus can carry two WWP, then yes, they can. If it is referring to other wargear, the only thing I can say for sure is that anything with an asterisk can only be one-of in your army.

1500pt Hellion Dark Eldar - 12W/10L/3D 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







vishra wrote:If this is referring to whether or not a Haemonculus can carry two WWP, then yes, they can. If it is referring to other wargear, the only thing I can say for sure is that anything with an asterisk can only be one-of in your army.


No, one single Haemonculus cannot have two Web Way Portals because you are not allowed to repeat options from a "Take any two ..." list.

Every last Haemonculus in the army could have a Web Way Portal because the Web Way Portal is not unique, but one model may not have two. There's a reason for the extra words in the Voidraven Bomber missile list.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes, solkan; a haemonculous can have 2 webway portals.

The entry is "Take up to two of the following".

You are told you may take 2 items, and given a list of items that can be taken, you are not ever told that they cannot be 2 of the same and is worded in exactly the correct way of saying you can take to of the same.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







By what logic do you arrive at the conclusion that "Take up to two of the following" is less restrictive than "Take any of the following"?
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Zyllos wrote:
solkan wrote:You can't take two Shattershards because they're unique (asterisked in the arcane wargear list).

Probably over half of the items in that "Take up to two of the following pieces of arcane wargear" list have rules prohibiting taking more than one in the army, other items on that list provide no additional benefit taken twice (Scissorhand, or the ranged weapons). For the rest, for that sort of list you just can't choose the same thing twice in a "Take up to two" or "Take any of the following" lists, or you run into S10 I10 Keepers of Secrets, S10 heralds, rhinos with 20 HK missiles and other silliness.

But you can select the same option for the "Replace" options, though.


About the Scissorhands, they give +1 A and 3+ Poison, if you take two of those, you will gain +2 A and 3+ Poison, but then also gain an additional +1 A for having two close combat weapons (having two of the same close combat special weapon counts as having two close combat weapons with the special rule of the special weapon).


You can't use more than one "special" weapon at the same time I thought.

For example, you have two Lightning Claws, but you don't get to re-roll your re-rolls.

Or having two power-weapons doesn't make your power weapons power while your power weapons power.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






"Take any of the following" without numeric qualifiers is the same as "Take one of any of the following", or "Take up to one of any of the following".

When you are told you may take up to 2 items from a list; 2 of the same item is exactly the same as 2 different items. You are given permission to take 2 items, and not told you may not take duplicates; therefore duplicates are fair game. Certain items in this case are restricted to 1 and only 1 but that is because you are only allowed 1 in the army to begin with.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior




Kommissar Kel wrote:"Take any of the following" without numeric qualifiers is the same as "Take one of any of the following", or "Take up to one of any of the following".

When you are told you may take up to 2 items from a list; 2 of the same item is exactly the same as 2 different items. You are given permission to take 2 items, and not told you may not take duplicates; therefore duplicates are fair game. Certain items in this case are restricted to 1 and only 1 but that is because you are only allowed 1 in the army to begin with.


That. If they simply said "take any of the following" then yes, you can't use two of the same item. But it specifically says take 2 from the list, not giving any restrictions beyond only taking one of a one-per-army item.

1500pt Hellion Dark Eldar - 12W/10L/3D 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






grayspark wrote:
Zyllos wrote:About the Scissorhands, they give +1 A and 3+ Poison, if you take two of those, you will gain +2 A and 3+ Poison, but then also gain an additional +1 A for having two close combat weapons (having two of the same close combat special weapon counts as having two close combat weapons with the special rule of the special weapon).


You can't use more than one "special" weapon at the same time I thought.
For example, you have two Lightning Claws, but you don't get to re-roll your re-rolls.
Or having two power-weapons doesn't make your power weapons power while your power weapons power.

This is correct. He's wrong.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: