Switch Theme:

Instant Death save  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pauper with Promise




Where ever I'm needed

The rulebook says that an unsaved wound by a weapon whose strenght is twice the toughness of the target is an instant death. Since it says an "unsaved wound". does that imply that I am allowed to take a save for my model/unit?

RA RA RA IM SOOOOO ANGRY RA RA RA!!!!
GREY KNIGHTS FTW!!!-460pts
HIGH ELVES FTW!!!-0pts  
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Yes.

Instant Death in of itself does not disallow ARMOUR, COVER or INVULNERABLE saves. The weapon types and AP rules cover that. S of the weapon has no bearing on armour saves.

If you have T3 with 3+ armour and are hit with a S6 AP4 template (denies cover saves), you can still take your armour (or invulnerable) saves. If you fail, you die (unless you also have Eternal Warrior) regardless of how many wounds you had left.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/24 04:35:34


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight






chromedog wrote:Yes.

Instant Death in of itself does not disallow ARMOUR, COVER or INVULNERABLE saves. The weapon types and AP rules cover that. S of the weapon has no bearing on armour saves.

If you have T3 with 3+ armour and are hit with a S6 AP4 template (denies cover saves), you can still take your armour (or invulnerable) saves. If you fail, you die (unless you also have Eternal Warrior) regardless of how many wounds you had left.



Just doesn't allow wounds right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/24 04:50:52


1000pts
1500pts
[in progress] 
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine






NJ, USA

An instant death wound will instantly kill the model upon failing your save, regardless of the amounts of wounds.

An open mind is like a fortress with its gates unbarred and unguarded

Starter 40k Army Lists for Beginners!

One Chapter to rule them all: SW to BA Conversion  
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

TinyWhale wrote:
Just doesn't allow wounds right?


I don't get your question.

Instant death wounds are caused the same way as any other wound. SvT.
ONLY if the weapon denies ALL saves does it remove without a save. If a save of any kind is allowed, then you are allowed - in fact, MUST take it - a save to avoid the wound.
The only difference is that instead of taking a single wound as a consequence of failing the save, you lose ALL of them and are removed*.


*With the exception of 'Eternal Warrior'. These models still only lose one wound per failed save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/24 07:42:34


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: