Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 05:43:01
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
I have some questions concerning the Vendetta
1. I parked a Chimera under my Vendetta (Almost base to base) and the Chimera was almost completely under the right wing of the Vendetta. Is this legal?
2. This then led to an issue with a large template being fired at the Chimera. We agreed that the Template would hit the Chimera or miss (via scatter) and miss the Vendetta even if it landed on the base of the Vendetta.....our reasoning was like firing a template weapon into multilayered ruins you have to choose the level where the shot went. Was this correct?
|
I do not discriminate....all races are equally worthless....
4500 Fist of the Five Castes
4000 76th Fremont Motor Rifle
2000 Crimson Suns Chapter |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 06:51:09
Subject: Re:Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
1. Yes it's legal, as it is no different than a turret on a predator turning over the hull of a rhino. You may overlap the hulls of two vehicles, but you must still attempt to place the vehicles on the playing table. This means no stacking rhinos one on top of another for instance!
2. Since the vendetta does not exist "on another level" you can technically hit both at the same time. For example if you have two chimera's parked hulls touching side by side, you can get both under a scattering blast marker, even though in that situation you only can have one or the other taking a full strength hit because the center of the marker has to be on one and can't be on both. Now the next example is this, if you have a large vehicle, say a land raider that is sitting on a hill and another vehicle like a rhino sitting underneath the front of the hull that is raised off the ground you have the possibility of the weapon hitting both vehicles because both vehicles are now under the blast marker.
As a note, template means the flamer template and large or small blasts use a marker. Just a little nitpick
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 06:59:51
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Actually, you have to b 1" away from EVERY other unit, including your own, unless you have the Independent Character special rule, so you couldnt touch two rhinoe's toegther, im not sure how this applies to vehicles like the pred where it can have its hull 1" while its turret is closer.
So aslong as your chimera was 1" away from then vendetta thats cool.
2. I have no idea >.<
|
"Da Mek'z tinker nd do their job
The boys 'll smash yah, so will da Nob
The Bos 'll stompa till your dead
Snikrot 'll kill ya wiff is hands behind is 'ead!"
^^^^ Ode to Snikrot, the Sneakiest, Stabbiest, Morkiest, Kommando to ever walk the face of whoever looked at him funny! Tourne W/D/L 6/0/0 Public W/D/l 24/2/8 All with my orksof course
squidhills wrote:It is for the same reason that Chaplains wear black: so that they will be inherantly more awesome than the guy in blue, and thus the purity of the Chapter is assured.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 07:04:13
Subject: Re:Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
Tekeino wrote:Actually, you have to b 1" away from EVERY other unit, including your own
That's actually not true. You only have to be 1" away from every enemy unit. When you assault or locked in combat that rule is not in play for the units in the combat.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 07:06:14
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Tekeino wrote:Actually, you have to b 1" away from EVERY other unit, including your own, unless you have the Independent Character special rule, so you couldnt touch two rhinoe's toegther...
No. This is not a rule in 40k. Only in 8th edition Warhammer Fantasy. In 40k your own units can touch. 1" spacing is from enemy units, except when you're assaulting. Automatically Appended Next Post: Dogface 76 wrote:
I have some questions concerning the Vendetta
1. I parked a Chimera under my Vendetta (Almost base to base) and the Chimera was almost completely under the right wing of the Vendetta. Is this legal?
Yes. Although the rules don't tell you what to do if the Vendetta gets immobilized.
Dogface 76 wrote:2. This then led to an issue with a large template being fired at the Chimera. We agreed that the Template would hit the Chimera or miss (via scatter) and miss the Vendetta even if it landed on the base of the Vendetta.....our reasoning was like firing a template weapon into multilayered ruins you have to choose the level where the shot went. Was this correct?
No. The "levels" rules only apply to ruins. Anything under the blast marker/large blast marker (as noted, in 40k "template" means the flame template) would be hit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/29 07:09:47
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 07:47:03
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Oh, my sincere apologies, i thought it definetly was a rule. Sorry.
|
"Da Mek'z tinker nd do their job
The boys 'll smash yah, so will da Nob
The Bos 'll stompa till your dead
Snikrot 'll kill ya wiff is hands behind is 'ead!"
^^^^ Ode to Snikrot, the Sneakiest, Stabbiest, Morkiest, Kommando to ever walk the face of whoever looked at him funny! Tourne W/D/L 6/0/0 Public W/D/l 24/2/8 All with my orksof course
squidhills wrote:It is for the same reason that Chaplains wear black: so that they will be inherantly more awesome than the guy in blue, and thus the purity of the Chapter is assured.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 09:24:41
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rules DO tell you what to do if the vendetta is immobilised - you remove it from the base "if possible"
This is a case where it would not be possible.
Remember the skimmer cannot end its move over another model, as it has a specific rule forbidding it. There is no such rule forbidding other models from ending up underneath skimmers however.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/12/29 19:32:57
Subject: Vendetta wing coverage and base to base issues
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Interesting read of "possible", but I'll go with it.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|