| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 08:29:02
Subject: 2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Pennsylvania, USA
|
Can 1 scoring unit control 2 objectives at the same time, provided they can stretch the 12" or more to get to the second one?
|
Bork'an Sept - 1750
Hive Fleet Behemoth - 2000
Blood Angels - 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 09:16:30
Subject: Re:2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
If it can get within holding distance of both then yes, it can,
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 09:35:40
Subject: 2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Pennsylvania, USA
|
mkay, that's what I thought.
Also, totally unrelated, but I have a question on Synapse.
Let's say I have a squad of 10 Termagants and a Hive Tyrant. 6 of the gants are more than 12" away (out of synapse range) and the other 4 are within the 12" synapse range.
Is the entire unit counted as being in synapse range? Does a majority of the unit have to be within synapse range? Can only 1 model be within synapse range to be exempted from IB?
|
Bork'an Sept - 1750
Hive Fleet Behemoth - 2000
Blood Angels - 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 09:45:16
Subject: Re:2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
I don't play 'Nids but I'm assuming that only 1 model is reequired to be within synapse range and then the Hive Mind would pass the snynapse signal through him to the rest of the squad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 10:18:22
Subject: 2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
If one model in the unit is within synapse, then ALL are in.
It's like a model only has to have the edge of its base within 2" of something to have its entire base considered "within".
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 16:28:16
Subject: 2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Synapse is "units within" and a set distance.
Any time you see the term: Units within X" it means that only 1 model(and even then the just the edge of it's base) needs to be within the distance.
Some rules say "Models within" for those rules only the individual models that are close enough benefit/are effected.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/01 23:13:23
Subject: 2 Objectives, 1 Unit
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Questions have already been answered, but here are some rules references in case that helps firemind wrote:Can 1 scoring unit control 2 objectives at the same time, provided they can stretch the 12" or more to get to the second one?
Yes. There are no rules that limit the number of objectives a unit can control; the Rulebook FAQ (first link) also clarifies this on page 5. firemind wrote:mkay, that's what I thought. Also, totally unrelated, but I have a question on Synapse. Let's say I have a squad of 10 Termagants and a Hive Tyrant. 6 of the gants are more than 12" away (out of synapse range) and the other 4 are within the 12" synapse range. Is the entire unit counted as being in synapse range? Does a majority of the unit have to be within synapse range? Can only 1 model be within synapse range to be exempted from IB?
If a rule asks for the unit to be within 12", then you only need a single model to be within 12" for the rule to be satisfied (likewise, that model only needs to be partially within 12" as well; you don't need the whole base within the distance). See the Rulebook, p3 under "Measuring Distances".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/01 23:14:36
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|