| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:30:03
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
So I played a game against Chaos Daemons last night with an ootf in my command squad. He was a life saver in that battle, as the Chaos player had half of his army in reserve. So I have a question: on turn 5+ the reference sheet says that reserve rolls automatically pass. Does the ootf penalty for reserves interfere with that?
Also, while I'm at it: Do I automatically win if I kill all of a persons troops and he has some in reserve?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:36:23
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
FourCartridge wrote:So I played a game against Chaos Daemons last night with an ootf in my command squad. He was a life saver in that battle, as the Chaos player had half of his army in reserve. So I have a question: on turn 5+ the reference sheet says that reserve rolls automatically pass. Does the ootf penalty for reserves interfere with that?
Since there is no roll, a penalty to rolls does not apply.
Also, while I'm at it: Do I automatically win if I kill all of a persons troops and he has some in reserve?
No, there is no rule that says you win just because your opponent has nothing on the board. Otherwise, the game would be over before it begins if one players chooses to keep his entire army in reserve.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:36:47
Subject: Re:Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
The ootf does not affect the turn 5+ auto reserve. Your opponent would automatically get his reserves on turn 5 regardless.
No killing his army before he gets his reserves does not indicate an auto win. That was a 4th Edition rule. Now you would just take your moves until he gets his reserves.
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:41:00
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
insaniak wrote:FourCartridge wrote:
Also, while I'm at it: Do I automatically win if I kill all of a persons troops and he has some in reserve?
No, there is no rule that says you win just because your opponent has nothing on the board. Otherwise, the game would be over before it begins if one players chooses to keep his entire army in reserve.
Not to mention Daemons would always loose every time they don't go first.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/03 20:41:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:42:50
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
Grakmar wrote:
Not to mention Daemons would always loose every time they don't go first.
Talk about a nerve wracking first roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 20:57:53
Subject: Re:Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Sanguinis wrote:No killing his army before he gets his reserves does not indicate an auto win. That was a 4th Edition rule.
No, sorry, it wasn't.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 21:13:27
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Just to note: in a CSM army if you manage to kill all of your opponents models before any Summoned daemons and/or greater daemons come in from reserve, AND that player has no other unit types in reserve, then you have just wiped out his entire army and auto-win. This is because the Summoned Daemons/Greater Daemons in a Chaos Army require Icons/ certain characters in order to enter from reserves at all, and if no such models are on the table when the Daemons in question become available, those daemon units are immediately destroyed(technically the game would still continue, and you would move your pieces around until he makes his reserves rolls with each daemon unit and then lose the game as soon as his last daemon unit becomes available; but why bother going through pointless motions).
BTW: this is the only way/time that only having reserves left= auto-win
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/03 21:26:08
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
On a related note, if you play against swooping hawks who like "bouncing", and get caught off the board in reserves due to an early game ending, they also count as destroyed.
As for the OoF in general, I ran him for awhile until I realised that I was helping my opponents more than hurting them whenever he showed up in my lists.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/04 10:07:00
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
I believe the "Wiped out" rule is that you win, regardless of other conditions, if your opponent has no models on the table at the end of the game.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/04 10:38:03
Subject: Officer of the Fleet Penalty
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Shrike325 wrote:I believe the "Wiped out" rule is that you win, regardless of other conditions, if your opponent has no models on the table at the end of the game.
This is correct.
People seem to come up with some very odd versions of this though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|