Switch Theme:

Infiltrators: Starting distance  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




This is not a rules question. I just want to see if people interpreted the rule the same as I did, as well as asking if anyone else has had a problem with this.

Infiltrators (when allowed) may be deployed more than 12 inches away if out of sight and more than 18 inches away in plain sight.

If your opponent puts his infiltrators 18 inches away from your guys, moves 6 inches, rus and rolls a 6, and has fleet, assaults 6 inches. Technically, he moed exactly 18 inches. But the rule says you must deploy MORE THAN 18 inches away, so this situation should never happen, that is a 1st turn assault. If they managed to start within 12 inches, then it is certainly possible.

Did I read this correctly? Has anyone had a problem with this? Does anyone disagree?

I hate to be a nitpicker with rules, but this sort of thing could make a huge difference in a game.

Record:

8th edition:
Tyranids: 5-4-3
Orks: 4-2-1

5th edition

Orks:18-5-1
Tyranids: 17-10-4

6th edition

Tyranids: 6-4-1
Orks: 3-1-0 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





You need to be "more than 18" from" any enemy unit if you infiltrate into line of sight- so infiltrators who aren't up close cannot possibly assault in their first turn.
If you can find cover and hide, you still need to be "more than 12" from" any enemy unit- infantry infiltrators without Fleet couldn't possibly assault, again.

Infiltrators with Fleet, like Genestealers, are able to assault in turn 1 if they can find a hiding place that's both 12" away from the enemy and out of line of sight.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, you are correct. YOu must be 18.0*1" away in LOS or 12.0*1" away out of LOS, which denies you a first turn charge if your maximum movement is 18 or 12"
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Okay, I thought so. Which brings me to another related question: Have you ever had arguments with opponents over this? In a tournament, I would not want it to cause me to lose my sportsmanship score, as it could be seen as nitpicking.

It reminds me of several situations I have encuntered in Warhammer. Some guy marched his Stegadon up, then charged me next round even though I hadn't moved. His charge overshot my unit even, basically proving he had mismeasured or cheated.

Record:

8th edition:
Tyranids: 5-4-3
Orks: 4-2-1

5th edition

Orks:18-5-1
Tyranids: 17-10-4

6th edition

Tyranids: 6-4-1
Orks: 3-1-0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It isnt nitpicking, it is perfectly within the rules - however the easiest way is to preempt it with "you know they wont be able to first turn charge, right?" - yes, you're helpping them out, but it saves bad feeling later on.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





It might be important to note that the 12" and not in los. this means not in LOS of anything the opponent has. this pretty much makes it almost impossible to do this unless there is a piece of terrain on the board edge and the opponent doesnt plant a unit to los that spot in which case he deserves to get assaulted.

and yes i do it all the time. I have not been in assault 12" range by .1" then the opponent is saying well i make my assault by .25". I call him on it right there and just say "If I was not close enough to to shoot you with my 12" weapons, so cant be close enough to assault."

I also call people that are moving their infantry 7"+ all the time too, and now the measure front to front rule is in the book.


IMHO playing by the rules properly is never being a bad sport, bending the rules to suit your purposes is.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/20 13:40:51


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: