Switch Theme:

Can C:SM TH/SS Terminators take a drop pod?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





US

My friend wants to put 5 TH/SS terminators in a drop pod. He also claims they can assualt once the come in. I could swear I've read this isnt possible, but I can't remember why. If possible, could you tell me the exact page number? Thanks alot, Rod!

"I've missed over 9,000 shots in my career. I've lost almost 300 games. 26 times I've been trusted to take the game-winning shot . . . and missed. I've failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." The great, Michael Jordan 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Nope, no Drop pod listed under "Transports" in their Armylist entry.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

Terminators can't take Drop Pods.

I don't have my codex on me, but I know that a Drop Pod isn't listed as a Dedicated Transport for Terminators and so they can't take them.

I have also been ninja'd.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/22 21:17:48


Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Your friend is wrong in just about every way. C:SM termie units can only take a landraider as a dedicated transport, so it is impossible for them use a drop pod.

IC's in terminator armor can join a squad that bought a DP and drop with them, but even then he can not assault the turn they land.
   
Made in gb
Confident Marauder Chieftain





North Wales, UK

As above, and it is also impossible to assault from a drop pod, due to the deep striking vehicle rules. Does your friend own either the current rulebook or the latest space marine codex?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





This is also what you need to tell your friend;

1. While the Drop Pod is indeed Open-topped when landed he still cannot assault out of one because the Deep Strike rules specifically forbids it in the second to last paragraph in the Deep Strike rules.

2. Should he feel an urge to say something like; "The unit inside the Pod isn't Deep Striking, the Drop Pod is", tell him to read the FAQs. It is in the Rulebook FAQ, page 6, upper right corner.

3. In order for him to Deep Strike Terminators in a Drop Pod, he needs to show you exactly where in the Terminator entry he is allowed to buy a Drop Pod as a Dedicated Transport. He cannot do so as Terminators cannot take Drop Pods.

4. Should he feel like saying something like; "I just buy the Drop Pod for another squad and put the Terminators in", you need to point him to page 67 of the rulebook. It is the little white box in the lower right corner named "Dedicated Transports".

5. There is no number 5.

6. To do anything in this game one need specific permission in the rules. When someone says something that sounds a little strange, simply politely ask them to show you where it says so. Do not take "I can't find it right now/I left the book or codex at home" for an answer. It needs to be clearly shown or it doesn't work.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/22 21:51:18


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in se
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






Just dont tell him he can deepstrike them for free by teleport technology (still cant assault though)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/22 22:12:11


Trolls n Robots, battle reports på svenska https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbeiubugFqIO9IWf_FV9q7A 
   
Made in gb
Confident Marauder Chieftain





North Wales, UK

Kudos to Fayric, why take a drop pod, which is a terryfying entry method where the space marine occupants give voice to hyms of bravery etc, when they can just teleport in. normally this isn't a viable option for TH/SS termies, as they'll just get shot att by your army, but let him try it, and show him the error of his ways
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Space Wolf Terminators can take a drop pod.

(irrelevant to the OP's question, except maybe to explain how his friend might have gotten confused.)

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








So can Black Templars.

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: