Switch Theme:

Fast Vehicle Open Top (Wartrukk) Assault Range?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Very new player here. Brought into the Grim Future by a friend and still not in possession of my own copy of the rules.

The question...?

Just how far can my ork wartrukk move and disembark its boyz and still assault?


I poked around a bit but never found a clear breakdown on this. But I have seen some varied boasts on just how far someone can move and still get stuck in with their choppas!

Thx in advance for helping the noob.

"We come ta plund'a yer booty!"  
   
Made in us
Hacking Interventor






My house

Not an Ork player but here is my best guess, could be wrong and I will defer to greater minds.
I think is 26"
trukk move 12"
deployment of or orks up to 2"
ork move 6"
ork assault 6"
plus you could get another 6" if you declare a Waaugh (giving you fleet for the turn).

But as I said, this is my best guess, others will tell you for sure.

Dennis
Damnant quod non intelegunt

"Sometimes at the most basic level, to be alive you must stop other people being alive. This is what we do. We are extremely good at it"
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
-from Prospero Burns
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Being fast doesn't effect how far you can move and still disembark.

All vehicles can move at Cruising speed and still disembark. But if you move Flat Out, you cannot disembark.

Open Topped means that you can assault the turn you disembark, even if the transport already moved.


Additionally, MudgeBlack's analysis is flawed. You may NOT move after disembarking from a transport that has already moved that turn.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Screamin' Stormboy






UK

You can move 12" with a trukk and still disembark due to the "fast" rule. You may then disembark the boyz 2" from any part of the hull. Then you may not move your boyz any more in the movment phase but, thanks to open topped can still assault 6". do this on a waaaaaagh turn however and you can run in the shooting phase! up to another 6" there.

To sum up: you can definatly assault a unit 20" away and may even get 26" if you have declared a waaaagh that turn and rolled a 6.

Deadly.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/25 17:35:27


- 1000pts
- 25pts (yes twenty five)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






MudgeBlack wrote:Not an Ork player but here is my best guess, could be wrong and I will defer to greater minds.
I think is 26"
trukk move 12"
deployment of or orks up to 2"
ork move 6"
ork assault 6"
plus you could get another 6" if you declare a Waaugh (giving you fleet for the turn).

But as I said, this is my best guess, others will tell you for sure.

You can't move after disembarking from a vehicle that's moved.

Your vehicle can move up to 18" but you can only get out after moving 12" or less so 12" for the vehicle.
Then you have to be within 2" of the vehicle as you disembark but only a sliver of the base needs to be within 2" so that gets you 2.5".
Then you can run for D6" more - this would normally stop you from assaulting but if you declare a waaagh then you can still assault. If Ghazzie declares the waagh then you get an automatic 6.
Assault move of 6".

That's a maximum of 26.5".
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Excellent, question is answered. Thx all.

"We come ta plund'a yer booty!"  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As Grakmar said; Mudgeblack was wrong- a unit cannot move in the movement phase after disembarking from a transport if that transport has already moved this turn. They can still Run, however, and if it's open-topped or has the Assault Vehicle rule (Land Raider, Storm Raven), they can still assault.

The vehicle can move, the guys can get out and assault. Remember that if you Waaagh your Ork Infantry can Run AND assault that turn as well.

One thing that trips some people up is remembering that your base width adds distance; per "Measuring Distances" on page 3 and the Disembarking rules & diagram on page 67, you measure disembarkation distance to ANY PART of the disembarking model's base, not to the whole base. So you can add its' whole width in distance.

So the total distance is:
Trukk moves 12" (or 13" if it has Red Paint Job): 12"/13" total so far.
Unit disembarks 2", gaining ~3" from 25mm base width: 15"/16" total so far.
WAAAAGH!
Run d6"; average 3.5". 16"-22" total so far, average of 18.5/19.5" so far.
Assault 6. 22"-28" total, or an average of 24.5" without red paint, or 25.5" with it.

One of the really nasty things about Ghazkull is that his Waaagh is automatically 6" for the whole army.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: