| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:10:55
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok just a few questions on the old monolith.
1. If I glance destroy its d6 shots weapon and immobilize it, does it count as a wreck because it still has the ordnance weapon that cannot be destroyed!
2. Can a unit embark the monolith and stay there indefinitely as the codex states that it is a transport but has no capacity as such
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:13:18
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1. As noted, you can never destroy all the weapons on a monolith, so it effectively cannot be glanced to death.
2. You can't embark in a Monolith. It's not a transport vehicle as such. Units can teleport through it or arrive in reserve from it, but there's no way for them to embark onto it.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:21:36
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
for point #2 is there anywhere written where this is stated because RaW from what I can see is the mono is a trasport with the portal being the access point.
Need a cold hard line saying "you cannot embark a monolith" if possible
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:25:04
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Stev wrote:for point #2 is there anywhere written where this is stated because RaW from what I can see is the mono is a trasport with the portal being the access point.
Need a cold hard line saying "you cannot embark a monolith" if possible 
The Monolith is NOT a transport vehicle. It isn't listed as a transport vehicle, it has no mention of "access points", and it doesn't have a listed transport capacity.
You won't find a line saying this, the same way you won't find a line telling you a Leman Russ isn't a transport vehicle.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/28 19:26:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:25:44
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Stev wrote:Need a cold hard line saying "you can embark a monolith" 
Fixed.
There is no transport capacity.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:28:14
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
sweet, ok job done, sorry to go on but I play against someone who very much interprets rules as written (he tried to claim +1 toughness on destroyers as they are immortals on jetbikes or something)
So the "transport: (special)" entry in the codex would imply its a transport to him
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:29:37
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Stev wrote:So the "transport: (special)" entry in the codex would imply its a transport to him
Which means its capacity is special, look at the rules to see. In this case "special" is "declared reserves that deploy from it". Also note: It lacks access points, but has a "portal" that functions as one for the "special" reason in the rules.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/28 19:31:00
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:31:47
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Yep i fully agree with the answers of the knowledgeable people above, no transport capacity stated in its codex entry means no transport, besides iMO the teleport works better to catch your opponents off guard and can be used to remove your units from close combat aswell, i'd prefer this than a transport capacity anyday.
|
Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:43:53
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Stev wrote:sweet, ok job done, sorry to go on but I play against someone who very much interprets rules as written (he tried to claim +1 toughness on destroyers as they are immortals on jetbikes or something)
So the "transport: (special)" entry in the codex would imply its a transport to him
Funny that he's a RaW guy trying to use fluff text as rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:48:18
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Doesn't sound like a RAW guy. Sounds like a "trying to misinterpret the rules to his advantage" guy.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 19:55:14
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
1. I thought even the arc coudent be destroyed because its -1 to the d6 result (so at -6 its technically useless)
2. You cannot embark only teleport/ come in from reserves (with enough luck you can stay in reserves all game if you want  )
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 20:16:08
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
I think once it's incapable of being active further in the game (like one shot missiles) it's considered destroyed, but i don't have the FAQ on hand..
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 20:54:18
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ascalam wrote:I think once it's incapable of being active further in the game (like one shot missiles) it's considered destroyed, but i don't have the FAQ on hand..
That is incorrect. It is not capable of being destroyed.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 21:17:21
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
It's only capable of getting damaged into shooting more shots!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 22:11:09
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Because of a basic ELEMENTARY maths error on GWs part.
If you subtract -1 shots, you MUST (by the rules of mathematics) ADD 1 instead.
So for each 'weapon destroyed' result on the flux arc, it adds one shot.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/28 23:43:38
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
I've never tried to claim that one myself.
Been MIGHTY tempted against certain players...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 01:35:25
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Gods, that would be awesome--
And THIS unit gets d6 +15 shots...
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 21:53:17
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yeah but someone pointed out to me that the "minus -1" thing applies to other random units that have the same wording, so pushing that could backfire
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 22:02:56
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Dispassionate Imperial Judge
|
Stev wrote:Ok just a few questions on the old monolith.
1. If I glance destroy its d6 shots weapon and immobilize it, does it count as a wreck because it still has the ordnance weapon that cannot be destroyed!
Just a slightly OT point.
If you destroy all the weapons on a vehicle, and immobilise it, it is not wrecked. You need to score one MORE Weapon Destroyed or Immobilised result to Wreck it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 12:26:48
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
You actually have to score an immobilzed result to immobilize it btw. You can never stack enough Weapon Destroyeds to get it to roll over to immoblized.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:14:36
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Axeman, that's not correct. Please see page 61. WD & I results both roll over to one another.
And if you suffer either result after the vehicle has already been Immobilized & has no weapons left, it rolls over to Wrecked.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:21:01
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mannahnin wrote:Axeman, that's not correct. Please see page 61. WD & I results both roll over to one another.
And if you suffer either result after the vehicle has already been Immobilized & has no weapons left, it rolls over to Wrecked.
Nope, Necron codex
Monolith's rules weapon destroyed results only give -1 to the d6 result on the flux arc so you can never destroy all weapons (even the particle whip cannot be destroyed). So yes the only way to immobilize it is to get an imobolized result and there is no way for a weapon destroyed or immobilized result to wreck a monolith
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:27:09
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Think of it like wounds in a sense. A vehicle can take 2 + number of weapons weapon destroyed/immobilized results before being wrecked.
Take a Rhino for example. It only has a storm bolter. If it suffers a wd result, the bolter goes. If it takes another wd result, then as it has no weapons its immobilized. One further damage result wrecks the vehicle.
So that's 2 + 1 (storm bolter) damage results. Automatically Appended Next Post: That's not what mannahin said. He was saying that in general, multiple WD results can eventually force immobilization.
Obviously the monolith can't, as that's a special case.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/01/31 18:30:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:31:39
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Gibbsey wrote:Mannahnin wrote:Axeman, that's not correct. Please see page 61. WD & I results both roll over to one another.
And if you suffer either result after the vehicle has already been Immobilized & has no weapons left, it rolls over to Wrecked.
Nope, Necron codex
Monolith's rules weapon destroyed results only give -1 to the d6 result on the flux arc so you can never destroy all weapons (even the particle whip cannot be destroyed). So yes the only way to immobilize it is to get an imobolized result and there is no way for a weapon destroyed or immobilized result to wreck a monolith
Yes of course, in the specific case of the Monolith, since the Guass Flux Arc can never actually be destroyed it never rolls over to Immobilized.
I was talking in general, as ArbitorIan had made a brief off-topic digression to speak about the vehicle damage rules in general. I probably should have made that clearer in my post, though.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/31 18:32:16
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:49:14
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mannahnin wrote:Gibbsey wrote:Mannahnin wrote:Axeman, that's not correct. Please see page 61. WD & I results both roll over to one another.
And if you suffer either result after the vehicle has already been Immobilized & has no weapons left, it rolls over to Wrecked.
Nope, Necron codex
Monolith's rules weapon destroyed results only give -1 to the d6 result on the flux arc so you can never destroy all weapons (even the particle whip cannot be destroyed). So yes the only way to immobilize it is to get an imobolized result and there is no way for a weapon destroyed or immobilized result to wreck a monolith
Yes of course, in the specific case of the Monolith, since the Guass Flux Arc can never actually be destroyed it never rolls over to Immobilized.
I was talking in general, as ArbitorIan had made a brief off-topic digression to speak about the vehicle damage rules in general. I probably should have made that clearer in my post, though.
Ah, well in his post he did say "You actually have to score an immobilzed result to immobilize it" maybe saying "the monolith" instead of "it" would of been clearer. But to me at least his post definatly seemed to be refering to the monolith
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 19:05:55
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
couldnt you wreck it with a glance of an ap1 weapon?
or glance an immobalised twice? although i think that one has been said
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 19:10:25
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
fox40 wrote:couldnt you wreck it with a glance of an ap1 weapon?
or glance an immobalised twice? although i think that one has been said
Ap1 could get wrecked on glance i think
Two immobalized one of them just becomes a weapon destroyed iirc?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 19:11:53
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
fox40 wrote:couldnt you wreck it with a glance of an ap1 weapon?
or glance an immobalised twice? although i think that one has been said
Yes to wrecking with an AP1 weapon.
I don't understand the second part of your post.
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 19:52:59
Subject: Re:Monolith rules
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Monster Rain wrote:fox40 wrote:couldnt you wreck it with a glance of an ap1 weapon?
or glance an immobalised twice? although i think that one has been said
Yes to wrecking with an AP1 weapon.
I don't understand the second part of your post.
if i get 2 glancing hits and roll both as 6, thats an immobalised on 1 and an immolalised but then goes to wrecked on the other. isnt that right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 19:53:29
Subject: Monolith rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
Nope, Immobilized turns into a Weapon Destroyed.
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|