| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 14:53:22
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I was reading up on one of my characters and noticed his pistol has the sniper rule which happens to include rending, so I decided to double check the rending rule just to be sure how it worked and I noticed the wording doesn't mentioned anything about armor saves in 5th ed. It states "Any roll to wound of a 6 with a rending weapon automatically causes a wound, regardless of the target's Toughness, and counts as AP2." It doesn't state anything about ignoring armor saves, or any similar keywords. So I was wondering if it bypasses invulnerable saves. whereas I see the AP2 being there to clarify that it bypasses feel no pain. I know it's a shot in the dark but I need all I can get to fight my friend's sanguinary guard army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 15:02:00
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Nah, they'd still get to make their invulnerable save.
As far as I know the only things that ignore all saves are the c'tan phase sword and the warscythe.
|
1850 12/2/4
Playin' GKs since it was an incredibly painful experience. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 15:38:25
Subject: Re:Rending confusion
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sanguinary Guard don't have an invulnerable save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 15:44:41
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It does ignore armor and FNP
It does not ignore cover or invulnerable saves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 18:38:19
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
It counts as AP2. AP2 weapons ignore all armor saves and feel no pain. Invulnerable saves and cover saves are still allowed.
|
Infantry leads the way! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2179/06/29 11:07:23
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hikaru-119 wrote:It counts as AP2. AP2 weapons ignore all armor saves and feel no pain. Invulnerable saves and cover saves are still allowed.
This.
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/29 19:35:44
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Ganstandt wrote:doesn't mentioned anything about armor saves - counts as AP2
It does mention armour saves - it says that it counts as AP2 so, therefore, it bypasses all armour (since there is currently no 1+ armour in 40K...)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 01:25:21
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Ganstandt wrote:doesn't mentioned anything about armor saves - counts as AP2
It does mention armour saves - it says that it counts as AP2 so, therefore, it bypasses all armour (since there is currently no 1+ armour in 40K...)
page 31: "Any roll to wound of 6 with a rending weapon automatically causes a wound, regardless of the target's Toughness, and counts as AP2. Against vehicles, an armour penetration roll of 6 allows a further D3 to be rolled, with the result added to the total score." There's the whole rule. Now yes I got my answer multiple times over, but I also received passive aggressive reticule in the form of rewording what I said. I have to ask what is the point of stating that it automatically causes a wound when you can simply state that it acts as an AP2 weapon, then add the additional part about vehicle armour? The AP2 doesn't mean anything at all when armour comes into play with rending since wounds are automatically applied before AP value comes into play. That is why I stated armour wasn't mentioned in the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 01:53:34
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Ganstandt wrote:There's the whole rule. Now yes I got my answer multiple times over, but I also received passive aggressive reticule in the form of rewording what I said. I have to ask what is the point of stating that it automatically causes a wound when you can simply state that it acts as an AP2 weapon, then add the additional part about vehicle armour? The AP2 doesn't mean anything at all when armour comes into play with rending since wounds are automatically applied before AP value comes into play. That is why I stated armour wasn't mentioned in the rule.
Any roll to wound of 6 with a rending weapon automatically causes a wound regardless of the target's Toughness
Tells you that weapons that normally cannot wound high Toughness models, can still wound on a 6 if they have the rending rule (S3 vs T10, for example, can never cause a wound without rending)
And counts as AP2
Tells you that you cannot take an armour save vs any wound this weapon causes. It also specifies that on the vehicle damage table, it is neither a +1 (for AP1) nor -1 (for AP-) and is rolled as normal.
Against vehicles, an armour penetration roll of 6 allows a further D3 to be rolled, with the result added to the total score
Tells you that against that vehicle, if you roll a 6, you get S+6+D3 for armour penetration.
There really isn't anything confusing or misleading about the rending rule, in fact it's one of the more straightforward rules in the BRB. Hope this helps clear it up for you.
DoW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 01:56:48
Subject: Rending confusion
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Except it is. After you roll to wound, you take armor saves. A rending wound is AP 2, so no armor saves.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|