Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 17:03:06
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
So the Bretonnian BSB rules state:
"[The BSB] may carry any magic banner (no points limit), but if he does so he may not take any other magic items, though he may still take a Virtue of up to 50 points in addition to the magic banner.
He may not be given any extra equipment, except for a barded Warhorse or a Royal Pegasus"
This may be nit-picky, but from reading the above, it seems like Bret BSB's can't actually take anything but a Virtue and a Barded Warhorse/Pegasus. Similar entries from AB's from late 6th/early 7th specify that the restriction is for 'non-magical' equipment only.
The argument could be made that the second bit is an addendum to the preceding rule of BSB's carrying a Magic Banner, but it seems like it's a stand-alone restriction regardless of Magic Banner.
What do you all think?
Personally, I'd House-Rule it that it was intended as 'non-magical' equipment restriction, but I'd like other peoples' opinion of this issue.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 17:13:34
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Inspiring Icon Bearer
|
sadly I bet that was the intention, however rules read as though they can't get a lance, ect.
|
3000
4000 Deamons - Mainly a fantasy army now.
Tomb Kings-2500 Escalation League for 2012
href="http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/311987.page ">Painting and Modeling Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 17:34:21
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
Well, I guess specifically, the issue is that it seems he can't even take any Magic Items by how it's written. I can live with him being unable to take a lance or a shield.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 19:00:21
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
I have never seen a bret BSB without some kind of magical gear, from 6th edition on. As the first line says, he could take magic items, but if he takes a magic banner he can't. And then the second line says he can't take extra equipment, which has no bearing on his magic item situation. Pretty sure you're over-reading this.
- Salvage
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 19:09:25
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
I think/hope so too. Someone had brought it up in my Army List thread and I found it a curious issue (likely non-issue) and figured I'd broach the subject here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 19:55:52
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Purged Thrall
Canada
|
may carry any magic banner (no points limit), but if he does so he may not take any other magic items, though he may still take a Virtue of up to 50 points in addition to the magic banner.means he can take a magic banner if he wants but if he doesnt have to so he can freely choose from the magical items and virtues
He may not be given any extra equipment, except for a barded Warhorse or a Royal Pegasus
do brets need to pay for a lance on a paladin? anyway it simply means if hes a bsb you can't give him other mundane items.which makes sense when you think about it how is he going to use a great weapon and hold a banner?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/02 21:56:42
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
@Exodus: I'm sure we all agree with you on this, but the literal wording is confusing. Hence the thread. Also, newer codexes let you take any extra equipment on your BSB (he sticks the flag in the ground to pull out his big sword, or whatever).
Two points on this one:
1- "if he does so he may not take any other magic items" Literally speaking, I think this phrase (mainly "if he does") indicates that he can, under circumstances that are not this one, take magic items.
2- Are "magic items" and "equipment" the same thing? I mean, in the Brettonian book. In newer codexes, magic items seem to be a specific form of equipment. In this one, I can't see a line drawn anywhere.
So, in other words, I don't think anyone trying to argue this is going to have a very strong case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/03 01:05:02
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Agreed, just seems like awkward wording... not sure where the exact line is, but point 1 of Warpsolution (and Boss_Salvage) is the key, imho- if he takes a banner, he can't take magic items. There is nothing barring him from taking magical items f he doesn't take a magic banner.
Section 2, he can't take "equipment". It does sound like that's barring his mundane item selections (it's a separate line) with the exceptions listed. Some BSBs cannot take a shield or armor, so this makes sense to me.
I don't in any way see the last section as affecting the first.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/03 01:05:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/03 03:20:26
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I think Warpsolution nails it, but really I would say the thing to two is write up two lists for tournaments, one with whatever gear you want, and one with the what, 10 points, spent elsewhere. Casual games I doubt anyone will care, but checking with the TO and having a back up plan probably is a good idea because it will sooner or later come up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/03 09:24:13
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The Bret BSB can take any magic item it likes, even magical shields, as they have removed the requirement to be able to take the exact type of armour from the BRB.
He however cannot take any mundane equipment, so no lance, no mundane shield, etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/03 15:08:45
Subject: Bret BSB nitpickiness
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
Yeah, that's pretty much what I was thinking as well, just making sure I wasn't missing some stupid over-sight by GW.
Thanks all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|