Switch Theme:

Question regarding Independent character who joined a unit and the unit lost close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator



Seattle, WA

A situation came up recently at my local game store and I was wondering what the consensus here would be.

Issue: Whether or not an independent character who had joined a squad and both are fearless would have to take a separate armor save, apart from the squad since independent characters are considered separate units, if they lost in close combat?

Fact: An independent character had joined a squad and both were assaulted by an enemy unit. After close combat rolls were done the independent character and the unit lost close combat by 2. Would the squad take 2 armor saves and the independent character take 2 armor saves since according to the rules, independent characters are considered separate in close combat?


   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

inquisitor_bob wrote:A situation came up recently at my local game store and I was wondering what the consensus here would be.

Issue: Whether or not an independent character who had joined a squad and both are fearless would have to take a separate armor save, apart from the squad since independent characters are considered separate units, if they lost in close combat?

Fact: An independent character had joined a squad and both were assaulted by an enemy unit. After close combat rolls were done the independent character and the unit lost close combat by 2. Would the squad take 2 armor saves and the independent character take 2 armor saves since according to the rules, independent characters are considered separate in close combat?




no, they're counted as the same unit so they don't roll separately. they fight as two separate units because the rules specifically ADD that exception to the close combat attacking rules; there is no exception like that in the no retreat rules so they find as one unit. if you didn't specifically attach the IC to the squad and they both independently charged and lost (and were both fearless), they'd have to separately take the armor saves.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





The IC is only considered a separate unit until attacks are resolved. It wins or loses the assault with the joined unit. You do get to use its Ld (assuming it is higher).

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

If he is part of the unit I would say no.

He'd have to fall back with the entire unit if they weren't fearless so I would say that you allocate wounds to the squad as normal.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

inquisitor_bob wrote:
Fact: An independent character had joined a squad and both were assaulted by an enemy unit. After close combat rolls were done the independent character and the unit lost close combat by 2. Would the squad take 2 armor saves and the independent character take 2 armor saves since according to the rules, independent characters are considered separate in close combat?



The rules state the IC counts fully as part of the unit again for combat resolution, and 'No Retreat' is part of combat resolution.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator



Seattle, WA

Everyone, thank you for the quick replies.

I'll definitely look in the rulebook and mark that page.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: