Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/15 17:38:29
Subject: rules clarification
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
A few things I read when skimming the rules. First off, can criticals cause more criticals? For example if you get a bulkhead collapse and suffer 4 points of damage, do you then roll 4 more critical checks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/15 18:27:46
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Is this pertaining to BFG? If so, then no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 02:26:58
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
robertsjf wrote:Is this pertaining to BFG? If so, then no.
Indeed, check page 24 of the PDF rule book: "Note that you do not roll for further critical hits for any damage caused by a critical hit."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 03:57:57
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
Ruckdog wrote:robertsjf wrote:Is this pertaining to BFG? If so, then no.
Indeed, check page 24 of the PDF rule book: "Note that you do not roll for further critical hits for any damage caused by a critical hit."
What about damage caused by boarding? If a ship loses by 2 and takes 2 damage, does it roll 2 critical checks on top of the boarding critical check?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 04:55:29
Subject: rules clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules do not specifically lay this out, but I would say no; if you look at the example boarding action between the Hyperion and Plageclaw on page 34, you will note that there is no mention of making additional critical rolls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 21:19:13
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
And the last question I pretty much know the answer to, but it still seems wrong. Will a hit and run attack from an assault boat instantly kill an escort?
It just seems overpowered that I can make enemy escorts disapear just by touching them with thunderhawks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 21:28:52
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Don't let t-hawks touch your escorts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 22:53:37
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes those assault boats autokill escorts if it gets past the turrets. The new FAQ they are working on nerfs that a bit, but we'll see that on the GW page sometime in 2014
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 04:06:59
Subject: rules clarification
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
2011
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 04:10:53
Subject: Re:rules clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
scubasteve04 wrote:And the last question I pretty much know the answer to, but it still seems wrong. Will a hit and run attack from an assault boat instantly kill an escort?
It just seems overpowered that I can make enemy escorts disapear just by touching them with thunderhawks
As the others pointed out, this is indeed true. This makes assault boats in general, and Thunderhawks in particular, quite deadly to escorts. It has also led to many players discounting escorts in certain fleets, but you can mitigate this vulnerability through careful use of defensive fighters and turret massing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|