Switch Theme:

Dedicated transports and kill points  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut



NSW Australia

I had a rules argument with someone today who claimed that dedicated transports such as Rhinos and Land Raiders for terminators don't count for kill points. His argument was that they are selected as an entire 'unit' and can only provide one kill point overall or something. I just thought I'd get some proof that they do give kill points and what page of the rulebook I could find this on
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Ask him if an Imperial Guard platoon with 100 or so infantry and 6 chimeras only counts as one Kill Point.
Ask him if the transport has to stay in coherency with the squad it was bought for.

Bottom line, he's an idiot. Kill points are based on units, not force org selection. If it's a separate unit, it's a kill point. Three Death Cult assassins in a single force org slot equals three kill points.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





No they are counted as kill points. If they were 1 unit they would have to maintain unit coherency and move at the pace of the slowest model which would make transports pointless. They are 1 choice but are seperate units. Hence in a DoW scenario a unit of troops in a dedicated transport counts as your 2 troops units you are allowed to deploy.

Ask him under his interpretation how do transports function as they are limited to moving at the slowest speed of the unit. How do you gain kill points for the unit once the unit is destroyed or after the transport is destroyed or after both are destroyed?

But yes every separate unit counts a a KP so for instance the drones on a Devilfish counts as an extra KP on top of the transport, plus any unit being transported (making it a 3 KP tank when transporting a unit).

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut



NSW Australia

Thanks guys :3 But I was wondering, is there a page in the rulebook I can point him to?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Well his argument was that a 'unit' is a transport and the models embarked in it

don_mondo wrote:Ask him if an Imperial Guard platoon with 100 or so infantry and 6 chimeras only counts as one Kill Point.
Ask him if the transport has to stay in coherency with the squad it was bought for.

Bottom line, he's an idiot. Kill points are based on units, not force org selection. If it's a separate unit, it's a kill point. Three Death Cult assassins in a single force org slot equals three kill points.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/16 13:07:42


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Well his argument was that a 'unit' is a transport and the models embarked in it


And we all know units must retain unit coherency and move at the slowest speed of any model in the unit. So ask him what is the point of transports given the above if they are indeed all 1 unit. Must they also both shoot at the same time at the same target? If they are 1 unit then they follow all the rules for being a unit and you get the ludicrous situation that Don_Mondo has highlighted with the guard codex, not to mention all transports becoming entirely useless...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Page 93 - "already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of Troops)" - BRB

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Zoot wrote: Thanks guys :3 But I was wondering, is there a page in the rulebook I can point him to?

First off is the part ChrisCP pointed out.
Then page 91 under Annihilation Victory Conditions where you get 1 kill point for each enemy unit that is destroyed.
Zoot wrote: Well his argument was that a 'unit' is a transport and the models embarked in it.

This is from the latest FAQ:
Q: Must passengers fire at the same target that their vehicle is firing at? (p66)
A: No, they are a separate unit (albeit they are temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so can fire at a different target.
{emphasis mine}

Clearly the transport (including dedicated ones) are separate units.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Zoot wrote:Thanks guys :3 But I was wondering, is there a page in the rulebook I can point him to?

P3 - the definition of a unit.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

don_mondo wrote:Ask him if an Imperial Guard platoon with 100 or so infantry and 6 chimeras only counts as one Kill Point.
Ask him if the transport has to stay in coherency with the squad it was bought for.

Bottom line, he's an idiot. Kill points are based on units, not force org selection. If it's a separate unit, it's a kill point. Three Death Cult assassins in a single force org slot equals three kill points.


QFT.


Zoot wrote:Thanks guys :3 But I was wondering, is there a page in the rulebook I can point him to?


Page 92, Multiple Unit Choices, covers this explicitly.
Page 3, the definition of Units, also makes it pretty obvious.
Page 93, the example for deployment in Dawn of War also clearly states it.
Page 66 and 67, the entire section on transports and embarked units clearly and consistently refers to units and the transports as being separate things.
Page 4 of the main rulebook FAQ, all the questions about transports and embarked units also make it implicitly obvious, including questions like...
Q: Can an embarked unit ever be the target of enemy shooting? (p67)
A: No. Only the transport vehicle can be hit.


...and the aforementioned ruling also from page 4 of the FAQ makes it explicit as well:

Q: Must passengers fire at the same target that their vehicle is firing at? (p66)
A: No, they are a separate unit (albeit they are temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so can fire at a different target.


http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/16 20:58:15


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut



NSW Australia

thanks guys Sometimes I do wish though rhinos and trukks didn't count for kill points and only the units inside did, they're very squishy :(
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Zoot wrote:thanks guys Sometimes I do wish though rhinos and trukks didn't count for kill points and only the units inside did, they're very squishy :(

They're also cheap and awesome - there's no such thing as a free lunch.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: