| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 18:59:18
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
1- do genestealers get "fearless" when they are within range of a synapse creature? ( since I don't believe they have it before)
2- in a kill point match , do units of termagants spawned by a tervigon count as kill points if they are killed?
... I know I have about 2 more but for the life of me I can't remember what they are... I'll post them in this thread when I do remember lol
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 19:00:45
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1. Yes. Synapse makes no exceptions for Genestealers.
2. Absolutely. They're a unit. If you kill a unit, you get a kill point.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 19:07:18
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Tervigons are quite a gamble in kill point missions then... if you roll a squad of 3 termas that would suck lol (not to mention you also would gum up your tervigon for rolling double 1's lol).
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/21 19:09:28
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 19:08:45
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
In KP missions Tyranids are often starting a leg up, since they have fewer KPs to begin with than transport-heavy armies from other books. You just need to be judicious about when to spawn gaunts and when to hold off.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 19:09:34
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Thought of another one, not just a Tyranid specific question, but a general CC question regarding vehicles.
3 - If you pop a dedicated transport vehicle with troops inside it with CC and still have extra attacks, do you get to roll those attacks on the units that are now without vehicle since they are technically part of the same unit?
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 19:15:21
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Absolutely not, since they are never in any sense part of the same unit.
See "Multiple Unit Choices" on page 92.
Also the definition of unit on page 3, and examples on pages 4 & 5.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/21 19:16:37
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/21 23:47:57
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You can assault multiple units just fine if you're in base contact with both. However the models that leave the popped transport won't ever be in base contact with your models. Automatically Appended Next Post: Tervigon's aren't too bad in KP, if you're termagaunts are getting slaughtered you can always elect not to use it (they tend to dish out a fair bit in assault thanks to the ability for the Tervigon to grant them upgrades though).
The one that really sucks in KP missions is the Parasite of mortrex, since it has a nasty habit of spawning units with only a handful of wounds, and ultra sensitive to certain weapons (double wounds *and* ID from a lot of blast weapons, ripper swarms last 5 seconds or so).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/21 23:52:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 05:33:19
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Requia wrote:
The one that really sucks in KP missions is the Parasite of mortrex, since it has a nasty habit of spawning units with only a handful of wounds, and ultra sensitive to certain weapons (double wounds *and* ID from a lot of blast weapons, ripper swarms last 5 seconds or so).
So don't carry any Ripper Swarms on you  (although not very sporting).
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 07:21:49
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mannahnin wrote:Absolutely not, since they are never in any sense part of the same unit.
See "Multiple Unit Choices" on page 92.
Also the definition of unit on page 3, and examples on pages 4 & 5.
Ah thanks for the clarification. Not sure which forum I saw it on, but I thought I read somewhere if say my opponent has a unit of troops that disembark from their dedicated transport - I can choose to shoot the transport and his troops wouldnt give him a cover save since it's part of the "same unit." Of course I cant find the right forum, thread, post and I'm too tired to look so it must have been a misinterpretation of the rules of the person who posted that.
And yeah, I dont think I'd run a PoM on a kill point mission lol
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 19:15:54
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
You might be thinking of the transition from shooting to assault, where if you use a squad to blow up a transport during the shooting phase you can use that same squad to assault its inhabitants, assuming that you can reach them, during the assault phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/22 19:22:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 22:48:34
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Pedrowan wrote:You might be thinking of the transition from shooting to assault, where if you use a squad to blow up a transport during the shooting phase you can use that same squad to assault its inhabitants, assuming that you can reach them, during the assault phase.
That is quite likely what I was thinking about... thanks for clearing my mind up!
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 23:58:22
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
puma713 wrote:Requia wrote:
The one that really sucks in KP missions is the Parasite of mortrex, since it has a nasty habit of spawning units with only a handful of wounds, and ultra sensitive to certain weapons (double wounds *and* ID from a lot of blast weapons, ripper swarms last 5 seconds or so).
So don't carry any Ripper Swarms on you  (although not very sporting).
Ripper Swarms do not count in KP missions.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 00:39:13
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
From England. Living in Shanghai
|
Er...yes they do. They don't count as scoring units but they most definately give away KPs.
|
Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:02:26
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above - EVERYTHING that is a unit is a KP. No exceptions
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:18:14
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Referimg to the rippers spawned by the PoM's Implant Parasite ability (TYR pg.60):
"Any bases that cannot be placed due to impassable terrain, enemy within 1" or because you have run out of models, are lost."
BRB pg.91:
"At the end of the game, each player receives 1 "kill point" for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed."
Does "lost" = "destroyed"?
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:47:14
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
Question:
in a brood of three carnifexes, are wounds allocated 1 per model spread out, or are all wounds allocated on a single model until it dies, then on to the next one and so on?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:49:50
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
They will go on one fex untill he's dead, then the next and so on.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:51:19
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
does that also apply to raveners?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 09:57:22
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It applies to ANY unit of multiwound models. See page 26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 10:45:03
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
Ah, there it is. Someone attempted to show this to me but could not find the right page to explain. XD
Thank you!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 19:23:21
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
MAWLOC QUESTION TIME
1 - When the mawloc deep strikes, does he reduce his scatter dice by his his ballistic skill?
2 - When he uses "Terror from the deep" does he roll 2d6 + the str (for being a Monstrous Creature) of the attack or just 1d6 + str on vehicles?
3 - If you place him on the board on turn 1 and he burrows, on turn 2 does he HAVE to emerge, or can you do it on round 3 - 4?
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 20:48:51
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) No. Why would he? What has his BS got to do with DS?
2) 2D6, he's a monstrous creature
3) From memory yyou MUST appear the next turn, so yes, he turns up
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 21:00:40
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Ignus wrote:Ah, there it is. Someone attempted to show this to me but could not find the right page to explain. XD Thank you! Note that between Page 26 and Page 25; if your unit of Multi-wound models has different wargear you allocate wounds caused(to be saved) to the different "Wound Groups" each wound group is a different set of models that are not identical in gaming terms(what this means is defined on page 25). Carnifex's cannot be anything other than Identical but adding a tyranid prime to their unit, or other armies can generate this "wound Spreading"
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/23 21:01:38
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 22:16:07
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) No. Why would he? What has his BS got to do with DS?
2) 2D6, he's a monstrous creature
3) From memory yyou MUST appear the next turn, so yes, he turns up
1 & 2 , I was mostly wondering both of these if they were considered a "shooting attack" (even though it's done on the movement turn, so that should have been my first tip lol).
Thanks for clearing it up!
|
Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 23:55:30
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
While it shares some qualities with a shooting attack (has an AP value and due to the FAQ, the targets get cover), it is never defined as any particular type of attack.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 10:20:42
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Cryage wrote:MAWLOC QUESTION TIME
1 - When the mawloc deep strikes, does he reduce his scatter dice by his his ballistic skill?
2 - When he uses "Terror from the deep" does he roll 2d6 + the str (for being a Monstrous Creature) of the attack or just 1d6 + str on vehicles?
3 - If you place him on the board on turn 1 and he burrows, on turn 2 does he HAVE to emerge, or can you do it on round 3 - 4?
I understand "terror from the deep" as a substitute for mishap, a great one, but just that, nothing to do with either shooting or CC attacks, so:
1.- It does not reduce scatter due to BS, mainly because "terror from the deep" is a consequence of scattering (or DS'ing) onto an enemy unit itself and also because it is not a transport spore for it to reduce its scatter in any way. You scattered not under target enemy unit? better luck next time... Did I say it is not a shooting weapon yet?
2.- "every unit under the template suffers a number of Strength 6, AP2 hits equal to the number of models that are wholly or partially covered by the template" note how it is different from regular rules for blast template weapons effect, as you can allocate wounds on/remove models that aren't covered by the template. It is not a CC attack (again) so no MC's S+ 2D6 pen, thanks. I know hitting rear armor might lead to confusion there, but note that a vehicle's belly used to be its weakest side (before anti-tank mine spam IRL) by far...
3.- "It automatically re-emerges via deep strike during your next moving phase." Nuff' said.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/24 10:24:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 13:42:52
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
ENKHANNA wrote:2.- "every unit under the template suffers a number of Strength 6, AP2 hits equal to the number of models that are wholly or partially covered by the template" note how it is different from regular rules for blast template weapons effect, as you can allocate wounds on/remove models that aren't covered by the template.
That's exactly the same as any other template/blast.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 17:47:04
Subject: Re:Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
D'oh!
4th ed. mistake or simply a nasty hangover to blame? I'll tell my fellow SM player I kinda cheated when took his PF sergeant, special weapon AND Heavy weapon marine under my cataclysm blast and forced him to allocate wounds on them...
Nevermind, "terror from the deep" is not a shooting weapon anyway, so...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 17:48:29
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, 3rd ed was the last time you could allocate hits, from memory
You could have torrented onto a single model, but that's only possible when you have multiple blasts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 17:50:55
Subject: Couple of Tyranid questions
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
2) 2D6, he's a monstrous creature
Curious as to why you reason this. It's not a CC attack. In fact, it's more like a shooting attack. But since it is defined as neither, you're not given permission to use 2D6.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|