Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 12:52:44
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Wichita, KS
|
What happens when you ring the bell and the result is 9-10, which is the bell itself casts the "scorch" spell at a power leve of 5? Do I have to use power dice to cast this? What happens if I roll double 6's when I use power dice for it? Does the bell crumble? I mean, it's not a bound item. It's a unique mount for a Grey Seer... I can't find anything that addresses this in the FAQ. Thoughts?? Help!!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/24 12:54:16
Vermin Swarm : : Dwarven Holds, Infernal Dwarves, Empire of Sonnstahl, Warriors of the Dark Gods, Sylvan Elves
Check out my Warhammer Blog: www.mwgamingalliance.wordpress.com
Rock is broken
Paper is balanced
--Scissors-- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 12:55:42
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As per the FAQ:
Page 43 – Ringing the Bell
Change result 9-10 to “The Bell itself (not the Grey Seer)
immediately casts the Scorch Spell with a Casting Value of 5
(this requires no power dice and cannot be increased in any
way), see page 78.”
The spell goes off automatically, with no dice used and thus no miscast possible. Your opponent needs to roll a whopping 5! total to dispel it. (Thus a level 4 caster can not fail to dispel this on a single die.)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 13:24:25
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Paingiver
|
Actually, if I am reading it right, a total natural dice roll of a 1 or 2 is an automatic dispel failure.
|
Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 14:11:40
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Correct. this is a change from 7th ed, where you only automatically failed on a double 1 dispel attempt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 14:27:21
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
... how I managed to miss that I won't ever know. I knew about it for casting, didn't realize it also applied to dispels.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 14:42:54
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Wichita, KS
|
Was this an updated FAQ amendment? I can't find it anywhere in my skaven faq....Anywho, thanks for clearing it up and thanks for the quick responses.
|
Vermin Swarm : : Dwarven Holds, Infernal Dwarves, Empire of Sonnstahl, Warriors of the Dark Gods, Sylvan Elves
Check out my Warhammer Blog: www.mwgamingalliance.wordpress.com
Rock is broken
Paper is balanced
--Scissors-- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 14:57:45
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Paingiver
|
And if reading it right, if someone feels confident and throws 1 dice at it, they will fail on a 1 and 2, so 33% chance of failure.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/24 14:58:08
Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 15:44:29
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Orkimedes wrote:Was this an updated FAQ amendment? I can't find it anywhere in my skaven faq....Anywho, thanks for clearing it up and thanks for the quick responses.
Skaven are up to V1.4, if you're not on 1.4 then go grab it.
Yes, if you only throw one dice at a dispel attempt you WILL fail it 1 in 3 times.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 18:36:43
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Wichita, KS
|
Can someone give me a page number or quote (or both) about the needing a minimum 3 to dispel. I had no idea this applied to dispelling. I always knew about casting, but not dispelling. Please and Thanks.
HRR
|
Vermin Swarm : : Dwarven Holds, Infernal Dwarves, Empire of Sonnstahl, Warriors of the Dark Gods, Sylvan Elves
Check out my Warhammer Blog: www.mwgamingalliance.wordpress.com
Rock is broken
Paper is balanced
--Scissors-- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 19:06:41
Subject: Re:Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Paingiver
|
35 of the little book. Right side first paragraph.
"Just as when casting a spell, a total natural dice of 1 or 2 is always considered to be a failure, despite any modifiers."
|
Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 16:26:36
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
Ok but that stats casting a spell, we are talking about the dispel which seems to be able to cast even if a one or two is rolled on a single D6
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 16:44:11
Subject: Screaming Bell question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
HaerDalis wrote:Ok but that stats casting a spell, we are talking about the dispel which seems to be able to cast even if a one or two is rolled on a single D6
Please actually read the quote slightly more carefully nex ttime;
"Just AS WHEN casting a spell" == you're not actually casting a spell (hint: this is from the DISPEL section) but, SIMILAR to casting a spell a dispel roll of 1 or 2 is a failure
|
|
 |
 |
|