| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 15:39:07
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Underneath your painting desk
|
Let's say I want to bubble wrap a battlewagon with a boyz mob, to protect it from assaults. Like this:
bbbbb
b W b
bbbbb
b for boy, w for wagon. Am I allowed to fully enclose a unit within a unit?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/25 15:40:09
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 15:45:49
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, there are no rules preventing you from doing so, and the general movement rules allow you to do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 15:45:54
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Sentinel wrote:Let's say I want to bubble wrap a battlewagon with a boyz mob, to protect it from assaults. Like this:
bbbbb
b W b
bbbbb
b for boy, w for wagon. Am I allowed to fully enclose a unit within a unit?
Yes. Good luck moving them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 15:48:15
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Yep. Just remember that you move one and then the other - you can't move them forward together so the formation would break down the first time you move.
(so, if you really want to do that, use one big mob of boyz (for the front and sides) and a small mob (for the back) - move the big mob, then the wagon, then the small mob)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 16:03:10
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Underneath your painting desk
|
Ah, thanks guys, I'm not sure that would ever do this anyway, but it had been plaguing my mind on whether it was legal or not.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 18:37:51
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Yep. Just remember that you move one and then the other - you can't move them forward together so the formation would break down the first time you move.
(so, if you really want to do that, use one big mob of boyz (for the front and sides) and a small mob (for the back) - move the big mob, then the wagon, then the small mob)
This works, or you can do it with a single squad.
1) Move the mob forward, leaving a gap large enough for the battlewagon.
2) Move the battlewagon through the gap into the center of the mob.
3) Run the mob and use the movement to close the gap.
4) Repeat steps next turn.
It means the mob will never be able to shoot, but there are times this is an acceptable sacrifice in order to fully surround a model and protect it on all sides.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 19:20:49
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
you missed a step:
3b) curse the dice rolling to low to allow the Back end of the unit to get far enough to fully enclose the battle-wagon again
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 03:21:47
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Remember also that you need to make sure any gaps between the encircling models' bases are too small for an assaulter to fit between. If you fail to do this, you may wind up eating an assault or multi-assault anyway.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 17:48:29
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Underneath your painting desk
|
Ok, if the assaulters got close enough to my BW for a multi-assault, then do they get to choose where their attacks go (i.e. on the boyz or on the BW)? How would that work, because wound allocation means you are allocating 'wounds', and vehicles can't take wounds.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 18:42:45
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sentinel wrote:Ok, if the assaulters got close enough to my BW for a multi-assault, then do they get to choose where their attacks go (i.e. on the boyz or on the BW)? How would that work, because wound allocation means you are allocating 'wounds', and vehicles can't take wounds.
The attacker directs the attacks subject to the limits spelled out on pages 35 and 41 of the main rulebook.
The attacks directed at the vehicle roll for penetration and are resolved against the vehicle.
The attacks directed at the non-vehicle unit roll to wound and are resolved against the non-vehicle unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 18:46:20
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Multiple combats is on page 41 of the Rule book.
The models in base-to-hull with the battlewagon, can only attack the Battlewagon.
The Models in Base to base with your unit, can only attack your unit.
Models in Base-to-base with your unit, and Base-to-hull with the battle wagon can freely attack either or both.
Models within 2" of a model in base-to-base, or base-to-hull; can attack what those that are in base can attack.
Wound allocation has nothing to do with Multiple Combats; attack allocation does. You cannot allocate wounds to be saved to a different unit from the one attacked in multiple combats(or anywhere else really, without a special rule).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 18:58:24
Subject: unit within a unit
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Underneath your painting desk
|
Gotcha. Thanks for clearing it up.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|