Switch Theme:

Flamers and target selection  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Focused Fire Warrior





Denmark

This came up in a game, and wanted a third opinion (I was the Tau player - and I will be facing this Nid player a lot, so we would like some sort of ruling on the matter):

A squad of Crisis Suits with Missile Pods (36''), Flamer and a Multi Tracker (allows you to fire both your weapons on the same target) is firing at a group of Genestealers some 30'' away. Behind the squad, well within flamer distance, is a group of Zoanthropes. Can the Crisis Team fire the Missile Pods on the Genestealers, and then flame the Zoanthropes behind them?

The rules says that you must hit "the maximum number of units in your target squad with the flamer template" or something along those lines, and "no friendly models". Both of these conditions where met, even though they hit 0 Genestealers, when they flamed the Zoans. I can see why it might be seen as a kinda shady move, but couldn't find anything against it RAW.

Cheers

Gorlak

Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No.

Weapons out of range AUTOMATICALLY miss. The range of your flamer is "template". If it cannot hit ANY models in the target unit, it is out of range and automaticaly misses

Search on this. People try it every other week
   
Made in dk
Focused Fire Warrior





Denmark

Hm... Fair enough... Good thing it wasn't important, we just wanted to be ready for when it really became important.

nosferatu1001 wrote:Search on this. People try it every other week


As always when I do a search on Dakka its like saying a prayer. Sometimes you get what you want, sometimes you doesn't. And it was never because of either the prayer nor the search that you actually found it.

Cheers

Gorlak

Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars.  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

Gorlack wrote:Hm... Fair enough... Good thing it wasn't important, we just wanted to be ready for when it really became important.

nosferatu1001 wrote:Search on this. People try it every other week


As always when I do a search on Dakka its like saying a prayer. Sometimes you get what you want, sometimes you doesn't. And it was never because of either the prayer nor the search that you actually found it.

Cheers

Gorlak


Haha. Totally correct! But the question has been answered and nosferatu is 100% correct.

DS:80+S+G++M---B--IPw40k10#+D++A/eWD-R+T(D)DM+
Current Race - Eldar
Record with Eldar 1-0-2 (W-L-D)
Last game was a DRAW against DARK ELDAR.
I shake your hand and say "Good Game". How are you a good sport? 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






The only time this works is when both units are in flamer range and are the same direction from you.

You must cover the maximum number of models in the target unit. (not the maximum models of whatever unit) Providing you do that then any models from other units that get caught under the template also get hit.
   
Made in dk
Focused Fire Warrior





Denmark

Scott-S6 wrote:The only time this works is when both units are in flamer range and are the same direction from you.

You must cover the maximum number of models in the target unit. (not the maximum models of whatever unit) Providing you do that then any models from other units that get caught under the template also get hit.


We got that part. The question was really "what if the target units maximum number is 0" and the answer is apparently that you then miss automatically. But thanks anyway...

Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars.  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






This seems to get asked at least weekly so making it as clear as possible can't hurt.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: