| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 09:07:47
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
NSW Australia
|
I was wondering if what would happen in the following situation: my genestealers move and fleet into the same cover as the enemy unit (say they're hiding behind a building in a ruin or something) and am like 1 inch away from them. If I charge them does htis mean that they get to attack first because I don't have grenades even though Im not charging into cover I'm in the same cover?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 09:17:54
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Do you make a terrain test?
Then you strike at I1, the rules are clear.
If you have to test, you strike after they do.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 09:18:33
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rules could give a frak about "cover"
THe rules state that, if you take a difficult or dangerous terrain test, implicitly for ANY reason, then you strike at I1
Yes, this sucks for genestealers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 10:15:11
Subject: Re:Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
That's is why it is MANDATORY for both players to clearly stablish before the battle what pieces of terrain provide cover and/or are difficult/dangerous/impassable terrain. (it is mentioned in a particular paragraph in the BGB)
If this case takes place in, let's say, some ruins that provide cover but are "clean" enough not to be difficult terrain, then I think the answer is obvious, I mean, the OP asks for charging from inside cover area, not difficult terrain, so the 8th passenger WILL surprise you while strolling the hall...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 14:19:54
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Unless they are pinned/have gone to ground or are already involved in CC when you charge! ( it is important to remember that)
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/04 23:26:22
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
The I1 penalty is for having to climb over obstacles etc (i.e difficult terrain) while making an assault
Therefore you need to look at what the terrain is
Is the "cover" only a perimeter ? (eg an area surrounded by sandbag walls, or certain buildings in good condition) in which case the genestealers could reasonably be declared to no longer be effected by the terrain.
If the cover was ruins then it's still difficult to move about 'inside' the ruins (due to remnants of interior walls, cover, debris etc) and as such you would still have to make a difficult terrain test AND count initiative as 1.
The same would apply to woods/folliage types of cover - it's still hard to move once inside
like ENKHANNA said, it's best to establish this kind of tihng before deploying troops (or even choosing sides)
|
- 10,000+ (since 1994)
- 5000 (since 1996)
Harlequins/Ynnari -2500
Empire - 3000 (Current build)
Dwarves - Old and desperately in need of updating |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/05 00:10:06
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As I said: "cover" is not hte important thing here. ALL that counts is: did you take a diff / dang terrain test. If you did you are striking at I1
Nothing else matters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/05 00:18:56
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Nothing else matters.
I think establishing whether or not they should have taken a difficult terrain test matters.
What about if he should have taken a difficult terrain test, but assumed since he was already in the cover that he didnt have to test anymore?
It's fair to ask since it's the same kinda of misunderstanding as whether or not they suffer the I1 penalty, and establishing a clear understaning of both rules at the same time is a good idea, and related
|
- 10,000+ (since 1994)
- 5000 (since 1996)
Harlequins/Ynnari -2500
Empire - 3000 (Current build)
Dwarves - Old and desperately in need of updating |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/05 00:28:02
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
When someone says they are "in the same cover" they are very unlikely to mean they were somehow inside a perimeter cover.
Given you can also take Diff/ Dang terrain tests without cover being anywhere near you (ref: nigth spinner, murderous hurricane) I was outlining the very basic rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/05 00:56:42
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The rules could give a frak about "cover"
THe rules state that, if you take a difficult or dangerous terrain test, implicitly for ANY reason, then you strike at I1
This is all that needed to be said. The great big bold heading that says ASSAULTING THROUGH COVER is a red herring.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/05 03:36:31
Subject: Charging models in cover when you are already in that cover
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yup.
This was a big change from 4th to 5th for simplicity.
In 4th, you took a model's eye view before the assault move to determine whether the unit you wished to assault was "in cover", prior to the assault move, from the assaulting unit's perspective. If so, the advantage pertained.
In 5th, to simplify things, all that matters is whether the assaulting unit has to take a difficult terrain test (or the equivalent Dangerous Terrain test, for units like Bikes and Cavalry). You could even be assaulting OUT of cover at a unit in the open!
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|