Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/10 21:41:13
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
if I have two IC's in my WS with a squad of 10 Banshees Are the IC's considered part of the unit in terms of disembarking ? Or can they just be along for the ride? Can the IC's disembark alone?
|
Im not larger than life , Im not taller than trees..
6000+ 1500+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/10 21:56:03
Subject: Re:Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Little rule book page 67 states
"The unit and independent character may, in a later Movement phase, disembark together as a single unit. They can also disembark separably by either the unit or the characters disembarking while the other remains onboard"
So yep
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 04:23:10
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Just to clear it up can they also disembark together then seperate?( if the WS hasnt moved yet)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/11 03:05:41
Im not larger than life , Im not taller than trees..
6000+ 1500+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 03:09:32
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
not from a Wave serpent, or Falcon, no; but that is because there is not enough room to disembark and have the IC 2" or more away.
Space marines getting out of any of their transports could do it, as could any Dark eldar(or anyone riding in any open topped transport).
Basically you need 2-3 Access points, or an open-topped vehicle in order to disembark and simultaneously separate.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 03:26:06
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
how about if the vehicle does not move? cant you disembark and move the unit ? so can you then move an Ic more than an inch away that way?
|
Im not larger than life , Im not taller than trees..
6000+ 1500+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 04:17:18
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Eyesedragon wrote:how about if the vehicle does not move? cant you disembark and move the unit ? so can you then move an Ic more than an inch away that way?
Yes. Disembark and have the IC go right while the troops head left and even another IC could go center, and it has to be *2* inches away, not 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/11 04:17:46
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 13:35:03
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
how can you have 2 ICs and a squad in 1 transport?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 05:05:33
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Disarray wrote:how can you have 2 ICs and a squad in 1 transport?
a) Because there's room for that many models
b) Both ICs have joined the squad as detailed in the IC rules - this means it's one unit in one transport
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 11:56:33
Subject: Re:Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
If a vehicle has a transport capacity of say 12 like a SM land raider you can take a squad of 10 and attach up to 2 independent characters to fill the transport (assuming each only takes up one capacity spot) the transport may then move and the squad + independent characters disembark from different access points placing them more then 2" apart meaning they are separated and no longer one unit. Alternatively the transport can remain stationary the unit + independent characters disembark from the same or different access points but remain in 2" of each other staying as a single unit and then use their normal 6" movement to move 2" away from each other and separate that way.
In your wave serpent case the later would be the only disembark movement that would separate the unit and independent character/s as the transport has only 1 access point therefore meaning if the vehicle had moved they could not disembark with out staying with in 2" of each other. You could of course use the original idea and leave the unit or independent character/s in the transport and separate them that way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 15:04:15
Subject: Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Thank you for the breakdown guys !! very informative Really appreciate all the comments
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Another IC question about Phoenix Lords. They can only join units that share their aspect , how about another IC joining them?
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/03/11 19:03:49
Im not larger than life , Im not taller than trees..
6000+ 1500+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 20:27:11
Subject: Re:Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Well the disciples special rule doesn't say you can't so I would assume yes, might be worth checking the FAQ to be sure though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/11 20:57:17
Subject: Re:Independant characters in Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Is that IC an aspect warrior? No? Then yes they can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|