Switch Theme:

Master Crafted Blast/Ordanace Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
RogueSangre






So, reading the Grey Knights codex today, I think that I've stumbled on a cool wargear combination. Namely, master crafting a Grand Masters Orbital Relay, similar to how IG can have twin linked orbital bombardments from a Master of the Fleet. However, my friends at the shop were adamant that I couldn't do this. They didn't really have much of an argument, but I think if you can twin link an ordnance blast weapon, then you can master craft one to some extent.

Can anyone provide a definitive answer, along with a way to explain it to somebody?

   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

I snuck a look at the book while at a tourney today, the FLGS got the black box in yesterday. The problem with mastercrafting it is twofold since the wording is the exact same as in C:SM and C:BA;

First- It is not a weapon in the codex, it is a shooting attack that the model is allowed to make, similar to the Orbital bombardment of a C:SM Chapter master.

Second- It says the bearer is allowed to make a single reroll to hit per turn. IIRC the orbital relay is not carried, it gives them access to a special rule. As the codex isn't currently out, and wiser peoples than me haven't seen it, my two cents isn't worth much.

The officer of the fleet doesn't call down the Ordnance, the master of ordnance does. He does not twin link it, a special rule allows it to count as twin-linked namely the officer's order.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





Also, master crafting allows you to reroll one failed to hit roll per turn, you don't roll to hit with Ordnance and blast, you roll scatter.

Unless master crafted lets you reroll the scatter die and the 2D6, but I don't think so as it specifically states reroll to hit.

Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Yet, you can get re-rolls to-hit with blast weapons...

Where the rule is to reroll all three dice.


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




To add to chromedog: Blast weapons specifically tell you that if you can re-roll to hit you get to re-roll the scatter dice. Orbital Bombardment is Barrage and Barrage weapons do not. The fact that Barrage weapons use the blast marker does not make them Blast weapons.

So the Grey Knights master crafting would have to specifically allow a scatter dice re-roll for it to be of any use with a Barrage weapon.

(note the number of edits? should not post before coffee!)

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/03/13 14:29:13


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rules for Barrage weapons, however, DO make them Blast weapons. Says so, right there at the top of the rules for barrage that they follow the rules for blast weapons, witht he following exceptions.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




So it does! Thanks.

(This is why being prepared to post and make a total reading-fail idiot of myself is proving to be the quickest way to learn)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, dont worry, I was only so certain as a question had been asked on this topic a couple days ago, in relation to direct firing barrage.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: