Switch Theme:

New Fantasy player, a couple clarifying questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey everyone have been messing around with the Isle of Blood set and have some questions I need clarified:

1.) Rat ogres have base 3 attacks, but since they have frenzy does that mean they have 4 attacks?

2.) The rat ogres are led by a pack master, are there any special rules in regards to being led by a pack master when it comes to movement etc?

3.) I noticed most units have a WS and BS, can you only shoot with the BS if you equip them with long ranged items or is it assumed? The sea guard in their description have bows, the sword masters have nothing listed. Is it assumed the Sword masters have bows or is the BS there in case you equip them with such?

4.) When casting magic, do you use armor saves + ward saves or just ward saves?

5.) The turn after fleeing, do you re-roll leadership to see if they reform?

6.) Shields and spears? The shield only applies against ranged attacks? And spears attack from 3 rows as opposed to other weapons which are always first 2 rows?

7.) Fear/terror does this apply to the charge as well as the start of every new round of combat?

8.) Move and shoot is simply a -1 modifier to your to hit score?


Thanks for any help you can offer, everytime I play I seem to have more and more questions.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






1. Yup! And a Rat Ogre upgraded to a Master Bred will have 5!

2. Not that I can think of.

3. Sometimes units have BS for the sake of completeness. For instance, Clan Rats can't be given any ranged attacks, but still have a BS score. The only real hard rule is that a model with BS 0 can't make ranged attacks.

4. Both as normal; remembering that if a unit has Magic Resistance their ward save is bettered by the amount of MR. (Some spells specifically disallow armor saves though.)

5. Yes, in the compulsory moves phase.

6. Nope, being one handed weapons you can use a spear with a shield in close combat. The drawback is that a spear doesn't allow for the 6+ parry ward save that hand weapon / shield does. And yes, spears attack in 3 rows (except on the charge).

7. Terror is only on the charge. Fear is every round I believe.

8. To your rolls, but yes. Some weapons will be marked as "Move or Fire", in which case you can't fire at all if you moved.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




PhiveO wrote:Hey everyone have been messing around with the Isle of Blood set and have some questions I need clarified:

1.) Rat ogres have base 3 attacks, but since they have frenzy does that mean they have 4 attacks?

2.) The rat ogres are led by a pack master, are there any special rules in regards to being led by a pack master when it comes to movement etc?

3.) I noticed most units have a WS and BS, can you only shoot with the BS if you equip them with long ranged items or is it assumed? The sea guard in their description have bows, the sword masters have nothing listed. Is it assumed the Sword masters have bows or is the BS there in case you equip them with such?

4.) When casting magic, do you use armor saves + ward saves or just ward saves?

5.) The turn after fleeing, do you re-roll leadership to see if they reform?

6.) Shields and spears? The shield only applies against ranged attacks? And spears attack from 3 rows as opposed to other weapons which are always first 2 rows?

7.) Fear/terror does this apply to the charge as well as the start of every new round of combat?

8.) Move and shoot is simply a -1 modifier to your to hit score?


Thanks for any help you can offer, everytime I play I seem to have more and more questions.


1) Yes. Frenzy adds +1 attack. Remember, if you have them in multiple ranks, supporting Monstrous Infantry get a maximum of 3 attacks and no stomp. So two rows of three Rat Ogres with Frenzy would get 4x3=12 for the front rank and 3x3=9 for the second.

2) Any of the packmaster's special rules would apply. I will let a Skaven player answer this if so inclined.

3) Unless the model specifically has a ranged weapon, it can't shoot, regardless if it has a BS characteristic or not.

4) Unless it disallows an armor saves, you can take any save that you have. So you can take an armor save + either a war or regen.

5) Yes. On your turn, during the Compulsory Moves sub-phase, you attempt to rally any fleeing units (pg 24).

6) Shield work in hand to hand for +1 to your armor save, however, you won't be able to get a parry save. Spears fight get an extra row of supporting attacks on turns in which they did not charge.

7) Terror causes a panic check when charging a unit, then during hand to hand, they must take a fear test of be WS 1. You take this fear check at the beginning of every combat.

8) Yes.


I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Snotty Snotling



UK

The packmaster leading the rat ogres can attack and the rat ogres can use his leadership.also if the packmaster/master moulder dies then the rat ogres suffer stupidity (ld test, if failed move forward at half movement). If you give the master moulder a shock prod his attacks ignore armour saves (electricity pwns armour)

Quantity might beat quality but not for me.  
   
Made in us
Poxed Plague Monk



AK

PhiveO wrote:Hey everyone have been messing around with the Isle of Blood set and have some questions I need clarified:
1.) Rat ogres have base 3 attacks, but since they have frenzy does that mean they have 4 attacks?

Yes, upgrading to a Master-Bred Rat Ogre would give that model 5 attacks total. Only one Rat Ogre can be upgraded as such, because it makes it act as a unit champion.

2.) The rat ogres are led by a pack master, are there any special rules in regards to being led by a pack master when it comes to movement etc?

The only rules that affect the Rat Ogre unit with regards to the packmaster are already outlined. Nothing is hidden, so nothing more is affected.

3.) I noticed most units have a WS and BS, can you only shoot with the BS if you equip them with long ranged items or is it assumed? The sea guard in their description have bows, the sword masters have nothing listed. Is it assumed the Sword masters have bows or is the BS there in case you equip them with such?

You can only make ranged attacks if the unit is specifically equipped with a ranged weapon. Seaguard specifically state that they have bows, so may make ranged attacks. Swordmasters do not have bows listed in their equipment and is not an option for them, therefore cannot make ranged attacks. The BS stat is included for completeness and to match every other unit's entry. Even though they don't have bows, in the "story" they have been trained with both melee and ranged.

4.) When casting magic, do you use armor saves + ward saves or just ward saves?

The spell's effects specifically say whether armor saves are ignored or not. If it doesn't say it ignores armor, then armor saves are allowed, followed by ward saves when you fail the armor.

5.) The turn after fleeing, do you re-roll leadership to see if they reform?

Rally, yes.

6.) Shields and spears? The shield only applies against ranged attacks? And spears attack from 3 rows as opposed to other weapons which are always first 2 rows?

Shields are always available to use, spears are 1h weapons. Please note however, that "Hand Weapon" is different than a "one-handed weapon" in that a "Hand Weapon" combined with a shield grants a 6+ parry WARD save in addition to the normal +1 to your armor save from the shield. Spears do not get the parry save.

7.) Fear/terror does this apply to the charge as well as the start of every new round of combat?

Terror is on the charge, then fear every round of combat. No terror, but just fear is simply every round and nothing on the charge.

8.) Move and shoot is simply a -1 modifier to your to hit score?

Yes, meaning if you hit on a 3+ naturally with Elves- moving modifies that to a 4+ and if you're at long range further to 5+ and then if your target is in "soft cover" such as forest, it would be on a 6.



Happy Gaming.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey guys I have a couple more questions after a playing a few more games.

1.) If I have a unit of clanrats locked into combat with the swordmasters, and the prince is in line with both units, can I wheel the prince twice and than charge into the flank of the clanrats?

2.) If A unit with a +4 armor save (mounted unit in IoB) gets a hit with a strength 6 attack which would in turn have a -3 modifier, does that make their armor save 6+ or does it totally negate it by making it 7+?

3.) If sword masters attack the rat ogres and the pack master and do 5 wounds, can the skaven player give out wounds how he sees fit? By splitting wounds between the pack master and 1 rat ogre instead of between both rat ogres?

4.) Terror... so A unit that causes terror, lets say rat ogres charges a unit. The unit takes a LD test because of terror and fails. Does the unit flee because of terror or just get the 1WS as a result?
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block





PhiveO wrote:Hey guys I have a couple more questions after a playing a few more games.

1.) If I have a unit of clanrats locked into combat with the swordmasters, and the prince is in line with both units, can I wheel the prince twice and than charge into the flank of the clanrats?


If you declare a charge, you are allowed only one wheel up to 90 degrees. This is to prevent you from charging around your own units and stuff like that. In this case, it really depends on how the prince is turned before the turn starts. You might also want to read up on the rules of how to determine if you hit front/flank/rear.

2.) If A unit with a +4 armor save (mounted unit in IoB) gets a hit with a strength 6 attack which would in turn have a -3 modifier, does that make their armor save 6+ or does it totally negate it by making it 7+?


It will totally negate it.

3.) If sword masters attack the rat ogres and the pack master and do 5 wounds, can the skaven player give out wounds how he sees fit? By splitting wounds between the pack master and 1 rat ogre instead of between both rat ogres?


Before you actually roll for the attacks, the high elf player says what he wants to hit out of the things in base contact with each swordmaster. The Skaven player cannot interfere with this. In the case of rat ogres, I think the pack master is in the back rank and can't be hit.

4.) Terror... so A unit that causes terror, lets say rat ogres charges a unit. The unit takes a LD test because of terror and fails. Does the unit flee because of terror or just get the 1WS as a result?


The unit takes a test right as the charge is declared, and if it fails they have to flee. If they pass this check, then nothing happens. Fear tests are taken separately when it's actually time for close combat.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: