Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/13 22:19:38
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
As I understand it from this discussion www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/352542.page, It is illegal to remove your Valk/SR from its base during the game to get it behind cover, or for any reason at all really, unless it's immobilized. My question is, can I modify the base by cutting down the cross shaped clear post so that it doesn't stick up as far? It's still on the base it comes with, but shorter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/13 23:18:57
Subject: Re:More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
technically, you have to use the base it comes with.
altering it would make it a different base so no you couldn't use it like that.
on the other hand, if you scratch built a stormraven you could have it on a base of choice.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/13 23:48:40
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The rules allow you to use modified bases, but only with your opponent's permission.
There is nothing in the rules to indicate that the flight stem should not be considered part of the base, and therefore covered by the same rule. Automatically Appended Next Post: Grey Templar wrote:on the other hand, if you scratch built a stormraven you could have it on a base of choice.
If you're scratchbuilding a model to fill in for an existing model, it should be on the same size base as the model it is replacing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/13 23:50:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/14 22:52:24
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Exactly. Modifying the base would make the use of the model subject to opponent's permission. Or TO's discretion, if bringing it to a tournament.
If I were playing someone who asked permission, I'd have to make a judgement call on the spot, and try to gauge whether they were trying to Model For Advantage.
Since doing so is impractical from a tournament standpoint, if running a tournament, I would simply forbid the usage of variant stands for Valkyries or Stormravens, as their height is clearly intended by GW to be a factor.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 05:07:46
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
That's what i thought too, just wanted some validation. thanks for the answers folks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 16:36:06
Subject: Re:More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If it were close and a kit bashed valk or raven...sure let it pass so long as it is within reason. If you start modding the base on the actual model then I would call the TO, not play you, or make you count it as higher. As a good gamer you should leave it on the standard base and play as is anyway. Heck when I play my orks and if i have the old tiny trukks I let my opponent draw LOS to get model I place in the back because of how short the old one is. This make so many opponents happy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/16 05:39:46
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
in the rule book on page 71 starting on line 15 including titles it states that all skimmers which a storm raven is (not sure on a valkerie) "note that a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it CANNOT be left in mid-air
actuall wording if anyone wishes to contest my claim feel free but i have the rulebook next to me :p
|
Brother SRM wrote:
I don't understand why she needs to be naked with a rocket launcher.
That's a sentence I never thought I'd type. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/16 06:02:56
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
scotta29 wrote:in the rule book on page 71 starting on line 15 including titles it states that all skimmers which a storm raven is (not sure on a valkerie) "note that a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it CANNOT be left in mid-air
actuall wording if anyone wishes to contest my claim feel free but i have the rulebook next to me :p
Read whole paragraph, then it means you must beable tp place the Skimmer (that be the model and base, there the Skimmer unit) on the table or you can't move there.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/16 15:33:15
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
scotta29 wrote:in the rule book on page 71 starting on line 15 including titles it states that all skimmers which a storm raven is (not sure on a valkerie) "note that a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it CANNOT be left in mid-air
actuall wording if anyone wishes to contest my claim feel free but i have the rulebook next to me :p
This is the third time you have posted this exact nonsense; and I have already shown you exactly why you are wrong(the answer is on the same page in shooting at skimmers).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/16 20:04:31
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
scotta29 wrote:in the rule book on page 71 starting on line 15 including titles it states that all skimmers which a storm raven is (not sure on a valkerie) "note that a skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it CANNOT be left in mid-air
actuall wording if anyone wishes to contest my claim feel free but i have the rulebook next to me :p
Er... what claim are you making? All you have done is post a piece of the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/16 20:26:52
Subject: Re:More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
One thing to note here is ask yourself why you want to cut down the base, if the reason is to gain cover by modeling for an advantage.. wellll.....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/17 08:01:50
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
i was simply stating that it is possible in certian conditions to remove a skimmers base during play Automatically Appended Next Post: i never actualy said it could be used to gain cover
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/17 08:05:43
Brother SRM wrote:
I don't understand why she needs to be naked with a rocket launcher.
That's a sentence I never thought I'd type. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/17 14:39:36
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You can only remove the skimmer's base during play if it's destroyed or immobilized. As page 71 tells us.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/17 20:02:30
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
scotta29 wrote:i was simply stating that it is possible in certian conditions to remove a skimmers base during play
Except that's not what the rule you quoted is saying. It's telling you to put the model down on the table, not to remove the model's base.
If you are supposed to remove the model's base every time you finish moving it, why would it even have a base? It would never actually do anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 11:57:26
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Also the Very next section on the page he quoted tells us very specifically that one can only remove the Flight stand/base if the skimmer is Immobilized/destroyed(and then only if possible).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/18 11:57:36
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 20:36:08
Subject: More Valk/StormRaven base questions.
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
right i was wrong but now i know and won't make the same mistake again (i hope )
|
Brother SRM wrote:
I don't understand why she needs to be naked with a rocket launcher.
That's a sentence I never thought I'd type. |
|
 |
 |
|