| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 17:40:07
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
I've done a search and the only thread that relates is over 3 months old, so to avoid Thread-romancy i'lll ask afresh...
Can a squad of Chosen CSM in a Rhino DT infiltrate? Or does the DT mean they can only Outflank?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 17:42:33
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Praxiss wrote:I've done a search and the only thread that relates is over 3 months old, so to avoid Thread-romancy i'lll ask afresh...
Can a squad of Chosen CSM in a Rhino DT infiltrate? Or does the DT mean they can only Outflank?
No. They may only outflank. And if they do outflank, they must do so embarked.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 17:47:24
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Praxiss wrote:I've done a search and the only thread that relates is over 3 months old, so to avoid Thread-romancy i'lll ask afresh...
Can a squad of Chosen CSM in a Rhino DT infiltrate? Or does the DT mean they can only Outflank?
IIRCC..You can still infiltrate if you purchase a rhino, however, the rhino cannot infiltrate with them and must deploy normally.
So it's a: infiltrate without your rhino, or outflank you can be in it, situation.
Someone correct me if my memory is remiss
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 17:55:29
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above.
You retain Scout, and confer that to the DT, meaning you can Outflank. You cannot Infiltrate with the rhino, however you can deploy the rhino and then infiltrate the chosen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/18 18:03:19
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Gotcha. Thanks for clearing that up.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 05:14:57
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
puma713 wrote:Praxiss wrote:Can a squad of Chosen CSM in a Rhino DT infiltrate? Or does the DT mean they can only Outflank?
No. They may only outflank. And if they do outflank, they must do so embarked.
ALMOST correct. I've been playing this exact way for a few years now, and just recently realized I was handicapping myself.
If you want the transport to outflank with you, you have to outflank embarked in it. HOWEVER, I just realized, on reading the Outflank rules again within the last week, that you can still deploy the transport normally or stick it in regular reserves if you want, and the squad can then outflank on foot. This can be very handy, but you have to make the decision at the time of deployment.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 08:29:07
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Why woudl you want to outflank a squad on foot and then deploy their DP elsewhere?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 10:10:11
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Because you want another unit to jump in the transport on T1?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 10:46:07
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
i thought that only the uit in question coudl use a dedicated trasnport....
So, for example.....
I deploy my Chosen as infiltrators and their dedicated rhino next to another marine squad at the other end of the table. In turn 1 can the other marines squad, who doens't have a DT, jump in the Chosens DT and carry on as normal?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 10:55:12
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes anyone can use any transport vehicle. The only restriction on a DT is that it can only be deployed empty or with parent unit embarked.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/19 12:06:00
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 11:16:07
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Ah, that's fine then. Also open up possibilities of giving my 'zerkers a LR transport without sacrificing a HS slot.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 12:15:40
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Praxiss wrote:Ah, that's fine then. Also open up possibilities of giving my 'zerkers a LR transport without sacrificing a HS slot.
Yep, the only slight disadvantage to this is that you physically have to embark on turn 1, providing you deploy next to each other, the unit can just embark without having to move, then the transport can move and carry on as normal. Some people do the shortcut, which typically doesn't matter which is why it's done in friendly games, to just deploy embarked, and that isn't legal. The only real reason this can matter is if your opponent has first turn and then could shoot said squad, or if they steal the initiative and could attempt to kill said squads.
The other reason to do this is: you can assault from walking on from outflank if on foot, you roll on in a transport and you can't (unless it has an assault ramp, of course). So if they've left longfangs at the corner, or some similar vulnerable unit, you can choose to ditch your ride and just outflank on foot, allowing you to potentially assault.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/19 12:16:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 12:25:24
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
I tend to do this with my Melta-Chosen so the whoel point of outflanking is to let me get a shot at any artillary at the back ofthe table.
Check them in a rhino with a pintle combi-melta and that's 3 melta shots while driving.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 22:47:57
Subject: Can a unit Infiltrate while in a DT?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Sure. But it's also handing two fragile KPs to the enemy, in return for a small chance of killing two enemy units. Unless the terrain is such that reprisal against them is really limited, Outflanking with a Chosen + Rhino is often counterproductive in Annihilation missions; or a wash in the best case (kill 2 KPs, sacrifice 2 KPs). That's the main reason I stopped using them regularly. In 2008-2009 for a while I was running 2x Chosen in Rhinos, but I just found them too much of a liability in KP.
Having realized that I can leave the transport behind if the situation calls for it a) means I have the option to offer up fewer KP to the enemy, and b) means I can potentially assault the turn the Chosen come on, which is never possible if they bring the Rhino with them, since it's not an assault vehicle.
More flexibility. Less drawback.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|