| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/26 21:02:08
Subject: DE clarification
|
 |
Kabalite Conscript
Frostburg, MD
|
So I was curious...say you have a 5-man unit of Trueborn. You have given 2 SCs and 3 Blasters. Can you then upgrade one to a Dracon without sacrificing one of the special weapons? If no, what about giving the Dracon a Shardcarbine? Either of those legal? Doesn t seem to be anything against it if I am reading the rules right, but I want to see what others have to say.
|
"The scions of the Dark City would never admit that the unceasing hunger at their core is what drives them to such heights of cruelty. Instead they maintain that they act only upon their own desires. Some have even managed to convince themselves of this. In truth, unless our cousins in the webway feed upon a constant diet of extreme emotion they will slowly wither away, leaving naught but a soulless husk. We of the Craftworlds deny all such urges, and in doing so become less than ourselves. Perhaps it is those that we left to perish who are the lucky ones." - Spiritseer Iyanna Arienal, Meditations. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/26 21:04:24
Subject: DE clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes a dracon may carry a special weapon. As can a Sybarite.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/26 21:04:43
Mary Sue wrote: Perkustin is even more awesome than me!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/26 21:35:07
Subject: DE clarification
|
 |
Kabalite Conscript
Frostburg, MD
|
Ok, that is what I thought. Just wanted to make sure I was looking at that correctly.
|
"The scions of the Dark City would never admit that the unceasing hunger at their core is what drives them to such heights of cruelty. Instead they maintain that they act only upon their own desires. Some have even managed to convince themselves of this. In truth, unless our cousins in the webway feed upon a constant diet of extreme emotion they will slowly wither away, leaving naught but a soulless husk. We of the Craftworlds deny all such urges, and in doing so become less than ourselves. Perhaps it is those that we left to perish who are the lucky ones." - Spiritseer Iyanna Arienal, Meditations. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/28 06:43:30
Subject: Re:DE clarification
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
|
No, I do not believe that the Dracon can take a special weapon. Once you upgrade him to a Dracon, he stops being a Kabalite Trueborn and lose access to the options available to the Trueborn and can only select from the upgrades available to the Dracon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/28 16:07:00
Subject: DE clarification
|
 |
Opportunist
La Rochelle
|
You can't give your Dracon a shardcarabine or a special or heavy weapon.
|
SkaerKrow wrote : "We killed our own gods. What chance do you have against us?"
Kurgash wrote: "Necrons, a dead race that is more dead than anyone else. So dead that they rebuild themselves just to die again!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/28 16:32:35
Subject: Re:DE clarification
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You can't give him a special or heavy weapon because it specifies "trueborn." However, the option for shardcarbine says "any model" and so that allows anyone in the squad, even the veteran upgrade to take it. Note that the Blast Pistol option says he has to give up his splinter pistol to take it, which would require him to use the "any model" rule to trade his splinter rifle for the pistol and ccw.
However, this is potentially fuzzy since in the wyches section it says "one in three models" for the special weapons.
In general you can't upgrade a "veteran" to take a special weapon option, but I'm fairly certain that when the option is open to the entire squad the "veteran" may take the upgrade.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/28 16:46:31
Subject: DE clarification
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Whych upgrade characters(Bloodbride or regular) can have the Wych weapons(but the Special weapons the individual wych upgrade characters can get are better choices); Warriors cannot(although again as said the Trueborn UC can get a Shard Carbine).
Any model/X in Y models both mean any model within the unit, UCs inclusive; Named Base models(1 "warrior", or 2 "trueborne" etc) means that the UCs cannot have the item in question.
Reavers get goofy as both the unit and the Base models are "reavers" and one of the upgrades is 1 model / 3 "reavers", and another is for every 3 models, 1 reaver, can get the Wargear upgrade, but the unit is both full of "reavers" and can have an "arena champion" yet all of them(including the campion) are Reavers(unit name).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|