Switch Theme:

Two Weapon rule issue.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






This been bugging me for sometime now and I really want to get it right.

It is stated in the rulebook that if your model have two weapons (pistol & chainsword for example) you get +1attack in base to base.
Does this also apply to creatures like Daemonettes or Necron Flayedones who has "claws" since its two weapons (the have two sets of claws thous two weapons). I thought this might be the reason they have more than one attack but then when you for example look at a IG Platoon Commander, he has a pistol & chainsword wich = him to get +1 attack thous with his normal 2 he should have 3 in a base to base fight. Thou I at first thought this was the reason he had 2A and normal guardsmen with lasguns just have a 1, but then that means you can upgrade him with a boltgun and he still dont lose his attack even thou he now dont have two weapons (cause its not stated in the rulebook that choosing a boltgun makes him lose his extra A).
Then in the Tyranid codex it is stated and i quote "Models with claws and theet count as having a normal close combat weapon" wich then means they dont get +1A, this in return is not stated under "Rending Claws" or "Scyting Talons" so do they get +1A or not?

Would like this sorted out so I can go back to none rule breaking/bending matches until the next issue come's sneaking up
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker





Iowa City

I think inherent weapons are just good for the inherent attacks. For the same reason we don't get extra attcks for having 2 fists, or 2 feet, we don't get them for 2 claws.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If their wargear had two entries, both of which counted as CCW's then they would qualify for a bonus attack. e.g.
-Claws
-Big teeth

Note that:
-Claws and Big Teeth
Would be a single piece of wargear and hence would not give the bonus.
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

So then would Genestealers gain +1A each for taking Scything Talons? And get to reroll all 1s? For 2pts? That would be a freaking bargain if so. However, I'm pretty certain that isn't the case.

   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Tyranids never gain the +1A bonus for wielding 2 weapons. its already included in their profile and additional pairs don't do anything aside confer a special rule or something.

the Tyranid codex was confusing. download the FAQ and it becomes a little clearer.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in se
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






Makes alot of sence that you only get the "two weapon" bonus if there are two or more wargear entries.
And true the Tyranid codex was indeed confusing and just added more questions for me.

Thanks alot for all help, now I can finally get on with just enjoying the game hehe.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Andilus Greatsword wrote:So then would Genestealers gain +1A each for taking Scything Talons? And get to reroll all 1s? For 2pts? That would be a freaking bargain if so. However, I'm pretty certain that isn't the case.


Tyranids do NOT use CCW. Its in their special rules, something like page 32....
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Andilus Greatsword wrote:So then would Genestealers gain +1A each for taking Scything Talons? And get to reroll all 1s? For 2pts? That would be a freaking bargain if so. However, I'm pretty certain that isn't the case.


Tyranids do NOT use CCW. Its in their special rules, something like page 32....


Yeah sorry I should have specified that I was using hyperbole to show that it wasn't the case for Nids.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: