Switch Theme:

Necron WBB vs Sweeping Advance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Do necrons that died in CC get their WBB roll after the rest of the unit is Swept?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok I'm sure this question has been asked a ton of times but I can find a true answer.

Here is the situation:

A dreadnaught assaulted a squad a warriors killed 4 warriors and I lost combat, failed my leadership test and ran then got swept.

Now obviously the ones that were alive will not get the WBB roll but what about the warriors that died before the unit was swept? Keep in mind there is a orblord and another squad of warriors within 6".

Do the dead necrons get a WBB roll or not and why?

You could say that they don't because sweeping advance says the entire unit gets removed or you could say yes because they were dead and not really part of the unit when it got swept.

The question is, are the dead necrons that died in the actual close combat considered part Of the unit when sweeping advance acures?

Ive read the sweeping advance rules but in the WBB rules it states that dead necrons awaiting WBB cannot be targeted by attacking or shooting and codex trumps BRB.

Which is correct?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





No they don't the entire unit is removed, no special rules can save you from this unless they specifically state it and does WBB mention Sweeping Advance? No...

The area of confusion is that some think that downed models are not part of the unit and are therefore not removed. But if they were not part of the unit how could they be teleported through a Monolith to get a 2nd WBB roll? So no if no buts nothing sweeping advance means you're gone.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

DarknessLurkz wrote:Ive read the sweeping advance rules but in the WBB rules it states that dead necrons awaiting WBB cannot be targeted by attacking or shooting and codex trumps BRB.
The downed Necron models are not being attacked, shot at or assaulted. The unit is being removed according to the rules for sweeping advance.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Codex DOES NOT TRUMP RULEBOOK

specific > general

The Sweeping Advance rule specifies special rules do not work. WBB is a special rule, and as it does not state it works against SA, it does not work against SA.

Compare to 4th ed, notice the exact same wording for SA, notice that all they did was remove the *example* of WBB not working.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Actually it SA states unless otherwised specified in which WBB says when a model is reduced to zero wounds OR would otherwised be removed, they are NOT.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Where are the words "this overrides Sweeping Advance" in the WBB rules?

Oh, wait, they arent there. Meaning the SA rule, which states special rules "must SPECIFY" they override the SA rule, still takes precedence

Seriously: find a 4th edition book. Read the SA *rule* which is WORD FOR WORD the same as the 5th edition rule. Word for word identical.

The only difference is they removed WBB as an example of a special rule which does NOT ignroe SA.

So to summarise: WBB did not work in 4th , and it does not work in 5th, against Sweeping advance
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

The easy answer is No you don't and wait 4-5 months

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: