Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 07:47:30
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
In the grey knights codex it says that combat squads are split at deployment. If I have a squad of 10 with a razorback can I deploy 5 in the razorback and keep the other 5 in reserve to deep strike? Thank you!
|
Mathhammer is NOT Warhammer.
**Necrons**Thunder Barons (Counts-as) Grey Knights**Ogre Kingdoms** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 07:50:51
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
no. reserves may not be broken into combat squads, so either deploy a or none.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 08:35:22
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The Grundel wrote:In the grey knights codex it says that combat squads are split at deployment. If I have a squad of 10 with a razorback can I deploy 5 in the razorback and keep the other 5 in reserve to deep strike? Thank you!
Read the reserve rules, note they start with the words "instead of deploying...."
So no, you cannot do it as you have not deployed the unit when you declare it is going in reserve
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 08:51:58
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
I just noticed disembarking tells you to "deploy" units. So can a unit of 10 tactical marines enter, say, a landraider and disembark as two combat squads next turn? Automatically Appended Next Post: To add: I know it's not RAI, as otherwise the exception for drop pods wouldn't be need, this should rather fall into the category of "RAW fun".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/04 08:55:13
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 09:47:06
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, otherwise the exception for drop pods wouldnt be there
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 18:23:49
Subject: Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Jidmah wrote:I just noticed disembarking tells you to "deploy" units. So can a unit of 10 tactical marines enter, say, a landraider and disembark as two combat squads next turn?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
To add: I know it's not RAI, as otherwise the exception for drop pods wouldn't be need, this should rather fall into the category of "RAW fun".
No, you cannot split on the field. When the unit is initially placed, it has been deployed. Disembarking from a vehicle is not a new deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/04 18:29:35
Subject: Re:Combat Squad Question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
This is one of those times when GW's lack of consistency in terminology is a major problem.
It's best to pretend that the word "deploy" in the disembarking section is a totally different word than the word "deploy" elsewhere in the BGB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|