Switch Theme:

Can a Justicar take a psycannon?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Quick question is: Can a justicar fill the requirement of being "any terminator" in a Grey Knight terminator squad, and take the psycannon?
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All over

yes he is part of squad but its kinda ify

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





How is it iffy? He is apart of the squad and all the text says is for every 5 one terminator may take... With that I would say there is no reason that he could not take one. It is actually a the only way to get a master crafted pycannon. Just remember though he is the first to die with the BoP rule.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter






Any model in the squad may be upgraded in any way allowed unless it says that an upgrade is justicar only.
   
Made in us
Crafty Bray Shaman




NOVA

Actually, they differentiate; Psycannons/incinerators/psilencers are "any Terminator" and the CC weapons are "any model". There is no need to make a distinction if there is no difference.

With that said, it also states it is a "terminator Justicar", so I'm not sure what the difference is.

 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

I've been seeing warding stave equipped justicars so I don't see why they couldn't take the Psycannon. If memory serves Justicars were able to purchase Psycannons in the Daemon Hunters Codex.
   
Made in us
Crafty Bray Shaman




NOVA

NecronLord3 wrote:I've been seeing warding stave equipped justicars so I don't see why they couldn't take the Psycannon. If memory serves Justicars were able to purchase Psycannons in the Daemon Hunters Codex.


Warding staves state "one model", which is different wording than the psycannon. I personally don't see why it should matter, so do whatever you want. Given how nitpicky some people (including GW) are about wording, I just think you should be aware that they phrased it differently. Being GW, there might be a reason for that, or there might not.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




You can, but i don't know why you'd want to. If you perils, you're losing your psycannon..?
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Los Angeles

For the terminators yes, for the strike squad, interceptor squad and purifier squad no.

The terminator squad says one terminator and the justicar is a justicar terminator.

For the other squads it says a grey knight or a purifier so the justicar can not.

The Sprue Posse

Armies  
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



SoCal

Warboss Nidsplitta wrote:You can, but i don't know why you'd want to. If you perils, you're losing your psycannon..?



It's because the Justicar can make any of his weapons Master Crafted. MC Psycannon would be pretty effin sweet I suppose.

   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The justicar can't take a Psycannon because it says "any Terminator"


the Justicar is NOT a terminator, he is a Justicar.


he can take any of the other upgrades though as those say "any Model"

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Grey Templar wrote:The justicar can't take a Psycannon because it says "any Terminator"


the Justicar is NOT a terminator, he is a Justicar.


he can take any of the other upgrades though as those say "any Model"


This^^

It may be the strictest (and some might say most pedantic) interpretation of the rules, but it is also the most consistent with the way the options are worded (given that they differentiate "any model" and "any Terminator" in a unit comprised of "Terminators" and "Terminator Justicars"). /agree

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






GT is 100% correct; this is the same reason that you cannot have a Vanilla Terminator Sgt wielding an assault Cannon, he is a terminator Sgt, not a terminator.

Back to Grey knights; He is a terminator Justicar, niot a terminator; and the Unit is a Grey knight terminator Squad.

This is all in stark contrast to much of the Dark Eldar Codex where most basic troopers in the Squad share the Same name as the Squad itself, so When you have upgrades that state: "for every 3 models, 1 Reaver may have a heat lance" you can put that heat lance on the Arena Champion because he is also a Reaver(the units name, along with the Base troopers name).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Kommissar Kel wrote:GT is 100% correct; this is the same reason that you cannot have a Vanilla Terminator Sgt wielding an assault Cannon, he is a terminator Sgt, not a terminator.

Back to Grey knights; He is a terminator Justicar, niot a terminator; and the Unit is a Grey knight terminator Squad.

This is all in stark contrast to much of the Dark Eldar Codex where most basic troopers in the Squad share the Same name as the Squad itself, so When you have upgrades that state: "for every 3 models, 1 Reaver may have a heat lance" you can put that heat lance on the Arena Champion because he is also a Reaver(the units name, along with the Base troopers name).


Case closed.

Thanks grey templar, for steering me away from making a big mistake with my squad composition
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: