Switch Theme:

Grand Strategy & Dreadnoughts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Simple question, if you use Grand Strategy - Unyielding Anvil on a Dreadnought, does it have any effect?

Text:

"A key position must be seized for victory to be won. The nominated units can claim objectives as if they were Troops."

Normally vehicles can not claim any objectives (Dedicated Transports, DC Dreadnoughts, etc.) unless a specific rule says otherwise. Dark Angels' Ravenwing Landspeeders can claim objectives because they are specifically said to be scoring. However, Grand Strategy says something a little different.

It doesn't say they claim objectives. It says they can claim objectives "as if they were Troops."

If a Dreadnought were a troop, it wouldn't be able to score (again, DC Dreadnoughts).

So, can GK Dreadnoughts score with Grand Strategy?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

By that wording, I would have to say no.

If they claim the objective 'as if they were Troops' then vehicles can't claim the objective, due to Troops vehicles not being able to do so.

 
   
Made in ca
1st Lieutenant





This should be FAQ'ed as there would be no need to mention that this can be used on walkers if they couldn't actually capture objectives.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are Scoring "as if they were troops" - so theyre scoring, with no reference to being a vehicle or not.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






BRB pg. 90 says that swarms and vehicles can not control objectives. Vehicles "claim objectives as if they were troops"(GK codex pg. 22) would not be able to control an objective, as a vehicle actually in a troops slot can not control an objective either.

Edit: Fixed sentence, added exact quote.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/07 09:57:50


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in au
Imperial Recruit in Training





Thankfully the Grand Masters' Unyielding Anvil has been FAQ'd and reworded as "The nominated units can control objectives as if they were scoring units"

My understanding would be that dreadnoughts, as well as any other vehicle granted the Unyielding Anvil ability, may now capture objectives (similar to the "Big Guns Never Tire" scenario on pg128).

WHERE IS YOUR EMPORER GOD NOW??? 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This thread was from more than two years ago, prior to the FAQ

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: