Switch Theme:

how many times can you cast hammer hand on one unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






My friend tells me he plans to use hammer hand twice on one of his units (once from the unit and once from the IC) can he do this ?

Also he said he might put a librarian in a unit and cast hammer hand three times, which seems even more unbelivebal. Can his librarian cast the same power more than once per turn ?

Thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/08 19:15:52


Did you know? Every sunday from 12 to 5 pm you can get a carvery for £6.95 at the pudding and pye.

 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

Yes Hammerhand is stackable. If you have a unit and an IC with it both can cast it and get +2 strength which means if he puts another IC with Hammerhand in the unit he can cast it 3 times for a total of +3 strength.

No his Librarian can not cast the same power twice, that rule is in the rulebook.

The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Hammerhand simply adds +1S. There's no reason it wouldn't stack. And yes, aside from Eldar Farseerers (who have special rules preventing it RE: Spirit Stones) a single model can cast the same power twice, provided he can cast more than 1 a turn, and the ability is not a psychic shooting attack.

This has been discussed in many threads before.
   
Made in gb
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






and what about might of the titans ?
does he get 4d6 armour penetration if he uses it three times ?

Did you know? Every sunday from 12 to 5 pm you can get a carvery for £6.95 at the pudding and pye.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Sanguinis wrote:
No his Librarian can not cast the same power twice, that rule is in the rulebook.

Citation needed.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Page 50 of the main rules, regarding models able to use more than one PSA: "But still cannot use the same power twice in a turn"

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





That's the rule for Psychic Shooting Attacks.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

That is the rule under PSAs, sure. It is the "still" that made me post it without looking for the rest of the details.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The "still" is to remind you that Infantry can only fire one weapon per turn, and PSAs are counted as firing weapons.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

nosferatu1001 wrote:The "still" is to remind you that Infantry can only fire one weapon per turn, and PSAs are counted as firing weapons.
"If he is allowed to fire more than one ranged weapon per turn. . ." is why THAT part still reads oddly.

I looked up some other bits and it seems to be specific to PSAs, but that leads to some other issues. Maybe.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yup, everything stacks.


Hammerhand also goes before any Str modifers. hence why you can have Str10 Deamonhammers.




a libby could use Summoning multiple times to teliport multiple units.

heck, with 2 lvl3 libbys you could do a whole lot of jumping around the board.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

kryhavok wrote:Hammerhand simply adds +1S. There's no reason it wouldn't stack. And yes, aside from Eldar Farseerers (who have special rules preventing it RE: Spirit Stones) a single model can cast the same power twice, provided he can cast more than 1 a turn, and the ability is not a psychic shooting attack.

This has been discussed in many threads before.


Old thread, I know, but I used this thread to point a friend in the right direction in regards to GKs. He went to the "First to Fight" tournament in Raleigh North Carolina and the GW judge told him he could not cast hammerhand twice with his character who had Psychic Mastery 2. They said a single power cannot be used more than once. I asked if he pulled the dakka stuff up and one of the players in his area (either beside him or across from him) provided information via his phone (where he was referencing the INAT as well) however the judge made the call and explained it to them, didn't let em use it twice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 07:23:59


   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

THe judge made the right call, It desn't matter how many powers a psyker can cast, he can not cast the same power more than once unless he has a special rule allowing (i.e. Eldrad's staff).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic
power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows
it.


From the BRB FAQ.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect actually

A single model can onlty attempt to cast a specific power once.

BRB FAQ page 3 wrote:Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows it.


Hammerhand does not specifically allow it, neither does Summoning, so neither cna be cast by the same individual psyker more than once.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

rigeld2 wrote:The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.


If one of the IC's has Psychic Masters 2 or 3 they should still be able to activate their Force Weapon.

Thanks everyone, the reference to the FAQ is much appreciated.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Jstncloud wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.


If one of the IC's has Psychic Masters 2 or 3 they should still be able to activate their Force Weapon.

Thanks everyone, the reference to the FAQ is much appreciated.

Sure, but only the IC's NFW. The unit wouldn't be able to.
Because at the time the NFW is activated, the IC is a separate unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
Jstncloud wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.


If one of the IC's has Psychic Masters 2 or 3 they should still be able to activate their Force Weapon.

Thanks everyone, the reference to the FAQ is much appreciated.

Sure, but only the IC's NFW. The unit wouldn't be able to.
Because at the time the NFW is activated, the IC is a separate unit.


It depends, Justicar Thawn is Mastery level 2 and is an upgrade character for the unit, meaning if he uses NFW the unit gets it too
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Jstncloud wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.


If one of the IC's has Psychic Masters 2 or 3 they should still be able to activate their Force Weapon.

Thanks everyone, the reference to the FAQ is much appreciated.

Sure, but only the IC's NFW. The unit wouldn't be able to.
Because at the time the NFW is activated, the IC is a separate unit.


It depends, Justicar Thawn is Mastery level 2 and is an upgrade character for the unit, meaning if he uses NFW the unit gets it too

Right - and he's not an IC. Which is what I was talking about.
If the unit (IE Thrawn in this case) can cast two powers, then they can do both - but still can't cast Hammerhand twice.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Jstncloud wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:The only way it stacks is if an IC is joined to the unit and both he and the unit cast it.

And you skip NFWs if you use it.


If one of the IC's has Psychic Masters 2 or 3 they should still be able to activate their Force Weapon.

Thanks everyone, the reference to the FAQ is much appreciated.

Sure, but only the IC's NFW. The unit wouldn't be able to.
Because at the time the NFW is activated, the IC is a separate unit.


It depends, Justicar Thawn is Mastery level 2 and is an upgrade character for the unit, meaning if he uses NFW the unit gets it too

Right - and he's not an IC. Which is what I was talking about.
If the unit (IE Thrawn in this case) can cast two powers, then they can do both - but still can't cast Hammerhand twice.


Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!

Nice completely irrelevant FAQ quote.
BRB FAQ page 3 wrote:Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic
power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows
it.

Does Hammerhand allow it?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!

Nice completely irrelevant FAQ quote.
BRB FAQ page 3 wrote:Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic
power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows
it.

Does Hammerhand allow it?


How is the FAQ Quote irrelevant? last time i checked it was on topic and an answer to what the OP said.
Which FAQ is right, you cant argue against the Chaos one as it says you can, even though it doesn't specifically allow it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/17 18:28:21


 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Well the chaos one is for a specific model, the general FAQ would be the one to apply to everything that isn't Ahriman.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!

Nice completely irrelevant FAQ quote.
BRB FAQ page 3 wrote:Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic
power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows
it.

Does Hammerhand allow it?


How is the FAQ Quote irrelevant? last time i checked it was on topic and an answer to what the OP said.
Which FAQ is right, you cant argue against the Chaos one as it says you can, even though it doesn't specifically allow it.

Actually, I can.

The Chaos one says that PSAs may only be used once per turn, and then explains that Gift and Warptime can bother be used as often as you want, since neither is a PSA. This is known as a specific allowance.
Such a specific allowance does not exist for Hammerhand.

edit: and the Chaos FAQ is irrelevant because it has to do specifically with Ahriman, and isn't general enough to override the BRB restriction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 18:34:46


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
Chaos Space Marine FAQ

Q. Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three
times during the same turn? (p50)

A. Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be
used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple
times, as it is not a psychic shooting attack. The same is
true for Warptime, but of course there is no point in
using this power more than once per turn!

Nice completely irrelevant FAQ quote.
BRB FAQ page 3 wrote:Q: Can a pysker attempt to cast the same psychic
power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows
it.

Does Hammerhand allow it?


How is the FAQ Quote irrelevant? last time i checked it was on topic and an answer to what the OP said.
Which FAQ is right, you cant argue against the Chaos one as it says you can, even though it doesn't specifically allow it.

Actually, I can.

The Chaos one says that PSAs may only be used once per turn, and then explains that Gift and Warptime can bother be used as often as you want, since neither is a PSA. This is known as a specific allowance.
Such a specific allowance does not exist for Hammerhand.

edit: and the Chaos FAQ is irrelevant because it has to do specifically with Ahriman, and isn't general enough to override the BRB restriction.


But the answer has no specific mention to Ahriman, it just states that PSA's can only be used once per turn whereas non PSA's can be used multiple times, the same was said for Eldar Farseers in the old rules
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:But the answer has no specific mention to Ahriman, it just states that PSA's can only be used once per turn whereas non PSA's can be used multiple times, the same was said for Eldar Farseers in the old rules

Your best argument would be that specific to the Chaos Codex, non-PSAs can be used an unlimited amount. Generally, they can't without stating an exception. Hammerhand has no such exception.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:But the answer has no specific mention to Ahriman, it just states that PSA's can only be used once per turn whereas non PSA's can be used multiple times, the same was said for Eldar Farseers in the old rules

Your best argument would be that specific to the Chaos Codex, non-PSAs can be used an unlimited amount. Generally, they can't without stating an exception. Hammerhand has no such exception.


Neither do Eldar or Chaos, however you can use them more than once, hence why it can be debatable whether they can use hammerhand more than once.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:But the answer has no specific mention to Ahriman, it just states that PSA's can only be used once per turn whereas non PSA's can be used multiple times, the same was said for Eldar Farseers in the old rules

Your best argument would be that specific to the Chaos Codex, non-PSAs can be used an unlimited amount. Generally, they can't without stating an exception. Hammerhand has no such exception.


Neither do Eldar or Chaos, however you can use them more than once, hence why it can be debatable whether they can use hammerhand more than once.

Those powers specifically mentioned have permission - and the rest of the Chaos Codex has arguable permission. Eldar may or may not have permission based on their codex/FAQ.

The BRB FAQ is pretty explicit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: