Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:41:56
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
its not a requirement on p.67 for resolving a psychic power.
some people seem to believe if you follow the rules on p.67 your power works no matter what, this is false.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 20:42:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:47:04
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
For resolving no, but it is a requirement before you even get there. Prior to expending a Warp Charge you must first nominate a unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:48:06
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
you must declare a target, which only requires they are in line of sight.
also its worth noting you expend warp charge before declaring a target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 20:52:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:52:20
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote:you must first declare a target, which only requires they are in line of sight.
While the powers section only requires LOS, the powers themselves require the range to declare the target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:54:43
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote:blaktoof wrote:you must first declare a target, which only requires they are in line of sight.
While the powers section only requires LOS, the powers themselves require the range to declare the target.
I agree with you.
The point is the rules on p.67 for resolving a power you can complete all of them for a psychic power that is out of range and make it to the resolve step.
Simply making it to the resolve step does not absolve you of other rules and is not blanket permission for the power to work, which some people in this thread have the highly false opinion that it does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 20:57:47
Subject: Re:hammer hand
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
blaktoof wrote:Therefore you can reach resolve psychic attack for a psychic shooting attack that is out of range, using your logic that making it to resolve step means the power has to have an effect now means psychic shooting attacks all have unlimited range.
obviously they do not.
It's almost like there's a requirement under the power that has to be met..
Oh right - range.
Is there an additional requirement under Hammerhand?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/06 03:40:25
Subject: Re:hammer hand
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
blaktoof wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:I have blanket permission to resolve, therefore I have permission to resolve even if Hammerhand has already been manifested on the unit.
making it to the resolve step is not blanket permission for effect.
I can go through all of the steps to resolve any psychic shooting attack as long as the target is in line of sight.
There is no requirement for range under declare target or any of the other steps to resolve a psychic attack.
Therefore you can reach resolve psychic attack for a psychic shooting attack that is out of range, using your logic that making it to resolve step means the power has to have an effect now means psychic shooting attacks all have unlimited range.
obviously they do not.
"Any model that is found to be out of range of all visible enemy models in the target unit doesn't shoot"
So even if you can resolve the psychic shooting attack, if you don't have range you can't fire, so the power resolves with you shooting the target unit with 0 models.
Also, what does this have to do with Hammerhand? It very clearly is not a psychic shooting attack.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/06 06:46:49
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bausk - so again, whya r4e you creatingin an additional permission step where none is needed?
The "+" symbol is cumulative. 100% true. Saying +1+1 is not equal to +2 is factyually incorrect.
As you are unable to back your opinion with a single rule, please makr your posts "HYWPI"
The correct answer has been found on every page since page 1, which is that hammerhand "stacks" with itself, because it uses "+1", and as per page 2 you have permission to use maths and their symbols. Not a single shred of evidence exisdts to remove this permission, and anyone saying it cannot stack has no rules argument for this opinion. Automatically Appended Next Post: Bausk - for that final comment, reported.
They do use maths. They use the mathematical operator "+"£ and do not use a 40k definition for it, therefore they are using the normal mathematical operator "+", whcih by DEFINITION is cumulative
If you disagree with this statement of fact, then this does make it clear why you insist on this extra step, as you have no connection to the written rules at all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/06 10:32:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/06 10:33:43
Subject: Re:hammer hand
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Same old same old, for too long.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
|