Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 18:55:33
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Creed's "Tactical Genius" rule applies to a single unit. Assumedly, this is one squad, not an entire Platoon, correct?
|
I'm just a simple guy who is trying to make Daemon Princes look like Pokémon. - The Baron
That's my ACTUAL Necron Army list you turd. +27 scarabs. Stop hatin'! -Dash of Pepper |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 18:57:39
Subject: Re:Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Correct.
Imagine the shouts of "CREEEEED!" if he could do that to an entire platoon at a time!
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 18:58:15
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Platoons can be a unit, no?
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 18:58:44
Subject: Re:Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote:Correct.
Imagine the shouts of "CREEEEED!" if he could do that to an entire platoon at a time!
I figured as much. However, I suppose being able to do that would seriously infringe on any reason to take Al Raheem.
|
I'm just a simple guy who is trying to make Daemon Princes look like Pokémon. - The Baron
That's my ACTUAL Necron Army list you turd. +27 scarabs. Stop hatin'! -Dash of Pepper |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:02:05
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
kirsanth wrote:Platoons can be a unit, no?
No, they are bought as a single choice, but doesn't count as a single unit.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:02:52
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ooops, this is why I look things up instead.
I was thinking of combined squads in general.
My bad.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:03:54
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
I think that your still allowed to combine squads of Guardsman and then outflank all of them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:05:08
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Yea, that was what I was (mis)remembering.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:05:40
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
rogersss wrote:I think that your still allowed to combine squads of Guardsman and then outflank all of them.
If they are combined then yes, you may, but the PCS isn't part of a blob, but it's still part of the platoon.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:16:33
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
kirsanth wrote:Platoons can be a unit, no?
Where this gets confusing is in Dawn of War deployments because the entire Platoon counts as a troop choice and is deployed at once.
|
I'm just a simple guy who is trying to make Daemon Princes look like Pokémon. - The Baron
That's my ACTUAL Necron Army list you turd. +27 scarabs. Stop hatin'! -Dash of Pepper |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:46:46
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Lonecoon wrote:kirsanth wrote:Platoons can be a unit, no?
Where this gets confusing is in Dawn of War deployments because the entire Platoon counts as a troop choice and is deployed at once.
Except it doesn't.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/12 19:58:18
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Lonecoon wrote:Creed's "Tactical Genius" rule applies to a single unit. Assumedly, this is one squad, not an entire Platoon, correct?
Yes, exactly so.
kirsanth wrote:Platoons can be a unit, no?
No. See P3 for the definition of a unit. It is not "one FOC choice".
rogersss wrote:I think that your still allowed to combine squads of Guardsman and then outflank all of them.
Squads are combined "at deployment" (unlike marine combat squads which are split "when they are deployed") so they can be combined and placed into reserve as a single unit which can be selected for outflanking.
Lonecoon wrote:Where this gets confusing is in Dawn of War deployments because the entire Platoon counts as a troop choice and is deployed at once.
No, they cannot. The DoW rules allow you to deploy two troop units. They make this even clearer when it states that a unit and it's dedicated transport are two choices.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/13 20:09:32
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
|
Except that the Platoon entry in the codex expressly states that it counts as a single unit for deployment purposes.
|
In the grim darkness of the far future, there are only rules disputes.
Ellandornia Craftworld
Heirs to Oblivion
The Host of a Thousand Screams
The Fighting 54th Necromundan Hive Rats
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DS:80S++G++MB+I--Pw40k96/re+D+++A+++/fWD196R++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/13 20:13:52
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Maenus_Rajhana wrote:Except that the Platoon entry in the codex expressly states that it counts as a single unit for deployment purposes.
Wrong.
P96, IG Codex wrote: Each Infantry Platoon countas as a single Troops choice on the FOC when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves.
Emphasis mine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/13 20:45:19
Subject: Outflanking with Creed
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
pretre wrote:Maenus_Rajhana wrote:Except that the Platoon entry in the codex expressly states that it counts as a single unit for deployment purposes.
Wrong.
P96, IG Codex wrote: Each Infantry Platoon countas as a single Troops choice on the FOC when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves.
Emphasis mine.
Exactly so.
|
|
 |
 |
|