Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 04:49:27
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Okay, after a bit of searching, I've found nothing to answer my questions about the Lizardmen Salamanders. Granted, I find it hard to use the search engine here on DakkaDakk, but I might be dumb like that.
Anyway, how exactly are Salamanders and their Handlers deployed on the table? The Sals are 40mm, and the Skinks are 20mm.
Do they all form the front row? Do the Skinks rank up behind the Sals? Does the 40mm bases offset 20mm bases?
I'm really confused about the unit's placement on the battlefield as a whole.
Any help is GREATLY appreciated!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 05:27:08
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
it is a skirmishing handled moster. So when not in combat, the skinks are in skirmish formation behind or around the salamander and do not block LoS for it.
In combat, the handlers rank up behind the salamander and thus cannot be directly attacked nor can they attack(iirc).
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 05:35:06
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
I was under the impresion that they set up just like a warmachine and crew. With the Salamander as the 'cannon' and the Skinks as the crew 'skirmishing' around it.
|
I Play
I am thinking of starting Freebooterz
Currently working on Rainbow Warriors Epic Scale check it out here! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 05:48:45
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
handled monsters like the hydra and salamanders are different as the monsters are the things fighting.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 07:29:34
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
You should reread the monsters and handlers rule, the skinks do not really exist on the table, they are more like tokens, alot like warmachines.
Skirmish only matters when you take more than one salamander in the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 16:44:13
Subject: Re:Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
the skinks are purely decoration, and markers for the Salamander to eat
if the Salamander is killed the handlers disappear,
if the Handlers are all eaten the Salamander takes a monster reaction test and will act under those rules from that point on. it can still flame people.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/14 18:37:50
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Okay, thank you!
We knew that they didn't really 'do' anything, but we were not certain whether their presence on the table could block movement or whatever.
So you cannot draw line of sight to them, right? It needs to be to the Salamander?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 12:01:40
Subject: Lizardmen Salamanders and Their Handlers
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
mrborges wrote:We knew that they didn't really 'do' anything, but we were not certain whether their presence on the table could block movement or whatever.
Actually they "do" attacks in CC,and feed the sallie(s) occasionally, but as all battlefield tokens that aren't really there they don't block movement.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
|