| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 02:53:52
Subject: New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Yeoman Warden with a Longbow
Toronto, ON
|
Hey guys,
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum.
My friends and I have recently picked up Fantasy and we've been trying to learn the rules on our own. It's a lot to learn all at once, even as a transition from 40k.
I had a few questions regarding Skaven, specifically the Doomwheel:
1. Do the 3 shots from the Doomwheel have to roll to hit or do they hit automatically?
2. I managed to roll S10 for the Doomwheel shots, with 2 managing to wound. By my understanding, the S10 would totally negate my friend's Chaos Knights' armour saves (1+). Then each unsaved wound (which would be all of them, barring a ward save) would be multiplied by D6 killing off that many knights, right?
3. My friend had 6 WoC in base-to-base with, and flanking, my Doomwheel. Is my Doomwheel allowed to do a combat reform after combat and reorient itself so that only 4 WoC are in base-to-base with the front of it? The combat reform rules in the rulebook are a bit ambiguous regarding this.
4. In 8th edition, what does being a Warpstone weapon imply? In the codex it just states that it is magical but I can't find any references to what that may mean in the rulebook.
I'm sure we're doing a plethora of things wrong, but these are the situations that popped up in our recent game. I would love to hear your interpretations. Thanks!
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/16 06:14:24
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 07:12:13
Subject: Re:New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Paingiver
|
1. As I read it, they automatically hit, as it says you strike the closest unit, not target or shoot at.
2. Yes Str10 would be a -7 armor save on the chart so no armor saves. However the way the D3 or D6 wounds works is a hierarchy of things and they go in this order
-Roll to hit (not in Zzzzaps case)
-Roll to wound, Strength of hit vs Toughness of Target
-Armor Saves, if any
-Ward Saves, if any
-If any of those go through they are considered wounding hits
-If the thing or weapon attacking causes D6 or D3 wounds roll for wounds, this means that out of 6 Chaos Knights if you wound 3 you kill 3, Multiple wounds are only applicable if you wounded a multi wound model, For example if you auto hit an Ogre Bull Unit of 6 bulls and managed to wound 3, you would roll the D6 for each ogre, so you roll a 1, 3 and 6 so you kill 2 as they have 3 wounds and you knock 1 bull down to 2 wounds remaining.
3. Good question, I'm not too sure about it.
4. It's a magical weapon, I think it can hurt things like ethereals.
|
Thus, After having thus successively taken each member of the community in its powerful grasp and fashioned him at will, the supreme power then extends its arm over the whole community. It covers the surface of society with a network of small complicated rules, minute and uniform, through which the most original minds and the most energetic characters cannot penetrate, to rise above the crowd. The will of man is not shattered, but softened, bent, and guided; men are seldom forced by it to act, but they are constantly restrained from acting. Such a power does not destroy, but it prevents existence; it does not tyrannize, but it compresses, enervates, extinguishes, and stupefies a people, till each nation is reduced to nothing better than a flock of timid and industrious animals, of which the government is the shepherd
-Alexis de Tocqueville. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 18:03:42
Subject: Re:New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Yeoman Warden with a Longbow
Toronto, ON
|
Thanks for the response.
2. So regarding the multiple wounds, in my situation the Doomwheel would've killed 2 knights instead of 2D6 knights. That's good to know and seems more fair.
3. It would seem odd to me if chariots (and other models that have bases longer than they are wide) couldn't reform to face their opponent because it would remove the base contact of some models.
4. Ah, okay, I see it under the rules for ethereal.
I've come up with another question!
5. Correct me if I'm wrong, but models with a 1+ armour save must still roll the save and would fail on a roll of 1. So essentially the only difference between a 1+ and a 2+ armour save would be that the 1+ provides a buffer against things with strength 4 or higher. Is this right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 20:05:35
Subject: New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
Yes it does
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/21 23:53:57
Subject: New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
York, UK
|
Vermillion wrote:Yes it does 
I'm assuming that's in response to question 5. About the 1+ save just being a buffer against armour modifying strength!
Yup, a roll of 1 on armour saves is always a failure, it just means that you need S9 or more to remove the armour save, rather than just S8!
And also, are you sure the Doomwheel doesn't need to hit? I'm pretty new to WFB myself but I assumed that because the unit had a BS, and it didn't say 'automatically strikes', it just says strikes that it had to roll to hit.......
Anyone else with any input?
|
[Image removed by Google due to too much awesomeness] |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/21 23:57:04
Subject: Re:New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Doomwheels zap auto hit, its in the unit entry.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 04:27:48
Subject: Re:New to Fantasy - Skaven
|
 |
Yeoman Warden with a Longbow
Toronto, ON
|
Thanks for the clarifications!
Can anyone shed some knowledge regarding the reforming Doomwheel/Chariots situation?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|