Switch Theme:

Wolftooth Necklace vs. Walkers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Fenris

Im sure that the BRB trumps codex here as the rules are exactly laid out in a mirror, but can a model with a Wolftooth Necklace use WS vs WS with a meltabombs on a walker then? Or does the assaulting a walker rule still override? Im just curious and wanted to hear the communities opinion


Page 62 – Wolftooth Necklace
Replace the last sentence with “Against models with a WS
value, a model with a wolftooth necklace always hits in
close combat on the roll of a 3+.

"always hits in close combat on a roll of 3+." regardless of the weapon being used?

- Burntbeard

I am Red/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both instinctive and emotional. I value my own instincts and desires, and either ignore or crush anything that stands in my way; planning and foresight are unnecessary. At best, I'm determined and fierce; at worst, I'm headstrong and infantile.
[/B][/URL]
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Grenades have their own rules on how to use them (always hits walkers on a 6 with only 1 attack per model). This would override the wolftooth necklace as specific beats general rules.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Fenris

I figured as such, but just skimming through the SW FAQ/Errata again, popped the question into my head. Even if it were worded to work, RAI would say otherwise... Thanx for the post

- Burntbeard

I am Red/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both instinctive and emotional. I value my own instincts and desires, and either ignore or crush anything that stands in my way; planning and foresight are unnecessary. At best, I'm determined and fierce; at worst, I'm headstrong and infantile.
[/B][/URL]
 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





Lukus83 wrote:Grenades have their own rules on how to use them (always hits walkers on a 6 with only 1 attack per model). This would override the wolftooth necklace as specific beats general rules.


Wouldn't that work the other way around though? General grenade rules being overwritten by codex specific wargear rules?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




Nerrik wrote:
Lukus83 wrote:Grenades have their own rules on how to use them (always hits walkers on a 6 with only 1 attack per model). This would override the wolftooth necklace as specific beats general rules.


Wouldn't that work the other way around though? General grenade rules being overwritten by codex specific wargear rules?


Not quite, it's how specific the rule is

General - Attacks in Close Combat (Wolftooth Effects these)
More Specific - Attacks against Walkers
More Specific Again - Attacks Against Walkers with Grenades (Grenade rules are here)

So the wolf tooth gives you the 3+ to hit all the way down till you get to the specific rules of Grenade which make the To Hit 6+ not 3+.

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





Aramoro wrote:
Nerrik wrote:
Lukus83 wrote:Grenades have their own rules on how to use them (always hits walkers on a 6 with only 1 attack per model). This would override the wolftooth necklace as specific beats general rules.


Wouldn't that work the other way around though? General grenade rules being overwritten by codex specific wargear rules?


Not quite, it's how specific the rule is

General - Attacks in Close Combat (Wolftooth Effects these)
More Specific - Attacks against Walkers
More Specific Again - Attacks Against Walkers with Grenades (Grenade rules are here)

So the wolf tooth gives you the 3+ to hit all the way down till you get to the specific rules of Grenade which make the To Hit 6+ not 3+.


Sometimes I really wish so many rules weren't up for so much interpretation. Specific over general is fine until it becomes "how specific" lol. Anyways, thanks for the follow up there, I'll just shoot the stupid things instead

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/20 16:17:41


 
   
Made in br
Longtime Dakkanaut




Brazil

I can argue about that:

It is in core rulebook: codex Special rules always replace core rulebook

Use grenades in close combat is a close combat attack? If so, the codex rule surprass the core book rule...

So, you hit in 3+ with grenades...

It is not 100% for any side

My bet is: talk with your opponent, and if you could not agree, roll a dice.

Fluffy speaking: anyway would be possible, a great champion of the fighting pits is incredible with any weapon, including grenades...

If my post show some BAD spelling issues, please forgive-me, english is not my natural language, and i never received formal education on it...
My take on Demiurgs (enjoy the reading):
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/537654.page
Please, if you think im wrong, correct me (i will try to take it constructively). 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The Dwarf Wolf wrote: codex Special rules always replace core rulebook
Not precisely true or Commisars and Ork mobs would be allowed to re-roll re-rolls.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

As soon as the walker is stunned or immobilized at the start of the assault phase it is much easier to hit them in melee with grenades as long as you WS is not bad. The wolftooth necklace would work as soon as its stunned or immobilized so a little fire support makes it still viable to assault them and kill them with grenades.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Fenris

The Dwarf Wolf wrote:I can argue about that:

It is in core rulebook: codex Special rules always replace core rulebook

Use grenades in close combat is a close combat attack? If so, the codex rule surprass the core book rule...

So, you hit in 3+ with grenades...

It is not 100% for any side

My bet is: talk with your opponent, and if you could not agree, roll a dice.

Fluffy speaking: anyway would be possible, a great champion of the fighting pits is incredible with any weapon, including grenades...


I would like to agree with you, and the words sound like music to my ears... but I'm not here to find a loop hole in any GW system (as easy as it can be...) I am just looking for a majority vote with opinions with backing. At first, I was thinking exactly what you are saying... which is the only reason I posted the question in the first place.

I know you did say if the opponent doesn't agree, to settle on a roll... So you aren't just thinking about a way to take out that pesky opponent dread.

- Burntbeard

I am Red/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both instinctive and emotional. I value my own instincts and desires, and either ignore or crush anything that stands in my way; planning and foresight are unnecessary. At best, I'm determined and fierce; at worst, I'm headstrong and infantile.
[/B][/URL]
 
   
Made in au
Crazed Cultist of Khorne





Settling on a role works well for most things in this game. But the wolf tooth necklace does say you hit on a 3+, so I think it should be a 3+.

 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Valdosta, Georgia

This is an old rule since SoB, Wolftooth necklace does overrides the general rule for walkers. It states it allows hit on a 3+

Overall Tournaments 11-2 2012
WarGame Con Best General RTT 2012
WarGame Con Team 12th 2012
ATC Team Fanastic 4 plus 1 17th overall (nercons (5-1) 2012
Beaky Con GT WarMaster Nercons (5-1) 2012 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The Dwarf Wolf wrote:It is in core rulebook: codex Special rules always replace core rulebook

Indeed they do. That doesn't let you ignore the usual rules heirarchy, though.

The codex allows you to ignore the normal rulebook rules on how the model hits in close combat. So the codex over-rides those particular rules. It will have no effect on more specific rules that deal with particular situations.

So the model always hits on a 3+ in close combat. That's the new 'general' close combat rule for that model. However if you find yourself in a situation that alters the closew combat rules in a specific way, that rule will in turn over-ride the codex, because it is more specific to the actual situation at hand.


Assuming that a codex special rule allows you to just ignore the entire rulebook leads to madness.

 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Fenris

insaniak wrote:Assuming that a codex special rule allows you to just ignore the entire rulebook leads to madness.


and of course this is the entire reason we post silly things in this forum anyways. there may not always be a fine toothed comb to clear up the fuzzy trail of GW vagueness, but the heated debating is fun none-the-less ... the "madness"

- Burntbeard

I am Red/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both instinctive and emotional. I value my own instincts and desires, and either ignore or crush anything that stands in my way; planning and foresight are unnecessary. At best, I'm determined and fierce; at worst, I'm headstrong and infantile.
[/B][/URL]
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The Wolftooth Necklace says that you hit on a 3+ "... regardless of comparative Weapon Skills". In essence, what it does is change all of the 4+ and 5+ on the 'To Hit' chart on page 37 of the rulebook into a 3+. It does nothing if you are not comparing Weapon Skills and therefore has no effect when used with grenades against a mobile dreadnought.

[lurk]

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Ghaz wrote:The Wolftooth Necklace says that you hit on a 3+ "... regardless of comparative Weapon Skills". In essence, what it does is change all of the 4+ and 5+ on the 'To Hit' chart on page 37 of the rulebook into a 3+. It does nothing if you are not comparing Weapon Skills and therefore has no effect when used with grenades against a mobile dreadnought.

[lurk]


Read the SW errata. Comparative weapon skill is no longer part of the rule. It now only checks to see if the model being attacked has a WS value, which walkers do indeed have.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

but you only hit with WS and grenades VS an imobilsed Dread.

So it would be
6 to hit dreads in combat with grenades (as it doesn't state it has a WS)
if imobilsed, 3+ to hit it (as WS now becomes a factor)
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Formosa wrote:but you only hit with WS and grenades VS an imobilsed Dread.

So it would be
6 to hit dreads in combat with grenades (as it doesn't state it has a WS)
if imobilsed, 3+ to hit it (as WS now becomes a factor)
It does not ask if you need to compare WS.

It asks if the model has WS.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





I really don't see it any other way and would not even be inclined to roll off for this issue.

Is placing grenades a part of close combat? Yes.

Does the target have a weapon skill? Yes.

Really, where is the argument? Does placing grenades on a walker happen in some imaginary place not called close combat?

   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

There are lots of examples where omitting parts of the argument can lead to deceptive conclusions.

In your post you omit the caveat that grenades have their own specific rules.

Models with a WTT hit on a 3+ is a more specific designation than read the chart and compare WS. In the same way, hit in CC with grenades on a 6 is more specific than hit in CC with a 3+.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





calypso2ts wrote:There are lots of examples where omitting parts of the argument can lead to deceptive conclusions.

In your post you omit the caveat that grenades have their own specific rules.

Models with a WTT hit on a 3+ is a more specific designation than read the chart and compare WS. In the same way, hit in CC with grenades on a 6 is more specific than hit in CC with a 3+.


Really? At what point did hitting with grenades become NOT a part of close combat? The WTN doesnt care about anything other then a WS being present and hitting on 3+ in close combat.

The specific versus general argument is bunk anyway. It isn't anymore specific then a piece of wargear that dictates how a specific model hits in close combat then how a specific model gets hit in close combat.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Its not that its not a part of CC, its that Grenades have very specific rules on how they work.

So its not a Regular CC attack, you do not use your full profile of attacks, there is no Bonus attack for two CC weapons, and no bonus for charging.

WTN may say you hit on a 3+ against any model with a weapon skill, but that replaces your normal to hit chart. Grenades work differently and only hit on a 6, even if you have a WTN,


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Crazed Cultist of Khorne





What does WTN mean.

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Brother Ramses wrote:I really don't see it any other way and would not even be inclined to roll off for this issue.

Is placing grenades a part of close combat? Yes.

Does the target have a weapon skill? Yes.

Really, where is the argument? Does placing grenades on a walker happen in some imaginary place not called close combat?



If it's really worded the way the OP described, this is the correct sollution. You would even hit on a 3+ if you were shooting during CC for some reason. Sadly can't check the codex from here.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Jidmah wrote:
If it's really worded the way the OP described, this is the correct sollution. You would even hit on a 3+ if you were shooting during CC for some reason. Sadly can't check the codex from here.


It doesn't matter if it is worded that way or not, the grenade rules in CC are more specific than the WTN rules. You are right, hitting is part of CC which is WHY you use the CC rules for planting grenades on a vehicle with a WS rather than the movement based rules for hitting a vehicle.

Please describe how a rule that exactly specifies how you hit a particular type of adversary (vehicle with WS) with one type of attack (which is in itself a special attack) is LESS specific than the rules how you hit adversaries in CC with a WS.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Simple. The WTN tells you to always hit on a 3+. As this is in direct contradiction to Grenades always hitting on a 6+, the codex winns out, as it always does when contradicting the BRB. Also a wargear rule is always more specific than a common rule, as the common rule applies to all models, while a wargear rule only to those actually wearing the item.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





DeathReaper wrote:Its not that its not a part of CC, its that Grenades have very specific rules on how they work.

So its not a Regular CC attack, you do not use your full profile of attacks, there is no Bonus attack for two CC weapons, and no bonus for charging.

WTN may say you hit on a 3+ against any model with a weapon skill, but that replaces your normal to hit chart. Grenades work differently and only hit on a 6, even if you have a WTN,



But WTN does not differeniate between normal or non-normal or rainbow unicorn close combat. The "umbrella" of the WTN covers ALL close combat in ALL forms.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Thanks, now I have the image of my warboss throwing a rainbow unicorn at a dreadnought stuck in my head...

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






WS is not used in grenade attacks, thus the walker doesn't have a useable ws against melta bombs.

Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Jidmah wrote:Thanks, now I have the image of my warboss throwing a rainbow unicorn at a dreadnought stuck in my head...





Automatically Appended Next Post:
schadenfreude wrote:WS is not used in grenade attacks, thus the walker doesn't have a useable ws against melta bombs.


The WTN does not ask for a "useable" WS, just that the model has one. The walker has a WS in it's profile, that is all the WTN cares about.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/22 17:50:05


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: