Switch Theme:

Holding objectives with a Troop squad if only attached HQ is in 3"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker





Ava, Missouri

An example: 20 Necron Warriors with an attached Necron Lord deep strike with VoD onto an objective, and move/run to form a ring just over 3" surrounding the objective, and a attached Necron Lord, in coherency with his joined Warriors, is within 3" of the objective. Would the objective be held by the troops or just contested by the HQ?
   
Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




Terra

I would say held by troop.

HQ is only separate if
1. he is more than 2" away from troop
2. he is in HTH.

correct me if im wrong please..!
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

The unit is within 3", thus they're holding it.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





The Independent Character is treated as a normal member of the unit, and will score objectives while he's a part of that unit.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

However, page 90 says that an army's scoring units are units that come from the Troops allowance.
The exception that is granted is units of troops that are embarked in a transport.
An IC that joins a unit follows the rules on pages 48 and 49, but nothing these says an IC joining a unit suddenly becomes a troops choice.
It is still an IC and still comes from it's own codex entry and it own FOC choice.
I would say that a model that comes from the troops choice would have to be within 3" of the objective to control it, or the transport is within 3".
An IC could certainly contest an objective, but not control it.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

time wizard wrote:However, page 90 says that an army's scoring units are units that come from the Troops allowance.

And the unit from the Troops allowance is within range of the objective in this case, as so long as he is joined to them, the IC is a part of the unit. Measurement to the unit is to the closest model in the unit... Since the IC is a part of the unit, measuring to him is fine.

 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





However, page 90 says that an army's scoring units are units that come from the Troops allowance.
The exception that is granted is units of troops that are embarked in a transport.
An IC that joins a unit follows the rules on pages 48 and 49, but nothing these says an IC joining a unit suddenly becomes a troops choice.
It is still an IC and still comes from it's own codex entry and it own FOC choice.
I would say that a model that comes from the troops choice would have to be within 3" of the objective to control it, or the transport is within 3".
An IC could certainly contest an objective, but not control it.


Sorry wizard but using your logic you;ve reached the wrong conclusion. The unit is within 3". Eiether eth unit is troops and scoring or it isn't. So either yes it is held or even if the troops were within 3" having an attached IC stops the unit from scoring (which is pretty plainly ridiculous).

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Okay insaniak, that's cool, I'll buy that!
Didn't look at it that way.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Yup.

At Adepticon in one of my games I specifically joined a Sanguinary Priest to a five man assault squad to give them enough reach to stretch and hold two objectives. Doesn't matter if the priest is in the middle or on the end. While he's attached, he's a member of the squad, and the squad is a scoring unit.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: