Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 08:05:15
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Brainless Zombie
Germany
|
Hi,
yesterday we had a nice battle going on and during the battle my unit of ghouls got charged in the back by some pegasus knights while fighting some knights in the front.
So I lost 10+ Ghouls, the pegasus knights in the back stepped up to get contact, then i attempted to raise some ghouls but there was no space to put the new ghouls into because the knights in the back stepped up.
is there any rule that allows me to "push" them back and add models to my unit or can you simply deny undead units the new models/ressurrecting by charging them in the back ???
i hope everyone understands the problem
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 11:14:02
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cannot resurrect, as there is no space for them to go.
Dont get rear charged, is the moral.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 14:19:11
Subject: Re:Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Yup as nos said there has to be a place to put the models.
In that scenario though, why couldnt you just put them on the flank and make the ranks bigger.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 15:19:28
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because the rules for VC Summoning dont let you do that. possibly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 17:33:17
Subject: Re:Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I'd like to see how this guy based his peggie knights so that they actually rank up without gaps! I've never managed the trick myself...
As far as the topic goes... why didn't the VC player just have the unit make a combat reform to face the PK? Avoids the whole issue right there.
This is a case where the rules have a hole that hasn't been addressed yet. Right now, as the rules stand, the Ghouls cannot have any models raised until they get the PK out of their rear. No, it doesn't make sense. But that's the rules as they stand.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 17:49:31
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
^^^
Imp that wouldn't solve the situation, as the Knight bus would still be in the rear.
Unless you wanted to reform and put them both on the flank, but then you are going to still be at a -2 C.R for both flanks.
|
8th Ed. Tournament Record:
9-0-0
\m/____>.<____\m/
Red Wings. . . nuff said. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 18:57:07
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I think it is only -1 then; you can't get a flank bonus more than once. Pg 59 under flank and rear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:08:35
Subject: Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AS above - you just get one flank bonus
Plus, it isnt a "hole" in the rules. The rules perfectly cover it: you must have room to put the models, if you cant you cannot put any.
After all if your unit was at the very back edge yu wouldnt expect to be shuffled forwards to add models to the back, would you?
Think of it as the Knights chopping down the zombies / ghouls / etc as they rise up from the ground.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/27 01:20:47
Subject: Re:Ressurrecting in CC while "surrounded"
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ah, I missed the part about the knights in the front. My mistake.
At that point, you can't even reform - a unit engaged from two different angles cannot reform in combat.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
 |
 |
|