Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:31:05
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Can I or cant I attack a squat of sm after opening their Rhino, and if yes, do i have to test for terrain?
I cant find the definite answer in the book....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:34:07
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Squats don't exist anymore.
Yes you can assault a unit you have just forced out of their vehicle. If the assault takes you through difficult terrain, yes you must test.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:34:45
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
woops was wrong
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/26 20:35:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:36:12
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Azzedar101 wrote:IIRC you can not because you were not in B2B contact with the Space Marines
nm
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/26 20:36:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 20:51:27
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
And since the rules state a destroyed vehicle becomes a wreck, a wreck becomes a peace of terrain, don't you always have to roll when attacking the unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:06:08
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, because in the case of a wrecked result the unit has to disembark out of a hatch (unless they declare emergency disembark) and if that hatch is on the side that the firing unit is on then it's a clear path to assault. If it is an explode result then you place the disembarking unit in a crater where the transport use to be, and in that case yes it is always a difficult terrain roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/26 21:06:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:08:14
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If a squad destroys a transport during the shooting phase, they may launch an assault against any passengers from that vehicle during that turn's assault phase.
As for the difficult terrain issue:
If you get a Destroyed - Wrecked result, the transport stays on the board and the passengers have to disembark around it. This often times forces them to put models on the side of the transport nearest your squad, allowing you to assault without having to take a terrain test. Sometimes, however, they can all end up on the opposite side of the transport, which forces you to take a difficult and dangerous terrain test in order to assault them.
If you get a Destroyed - Exploded result, the transport is removed and replaced with a crater, but only if you actually have a crater. If you don't have a suitable crater, you're totally in the clear to assault the passengers without having to take a test. If you do have a crater, then the passengers will end up inside the crater, which means you'll usually have to take a test. (Typically just a difficult terrain test, but as per all terrain, there's no standard. It's a game-by-game basis.)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:11:44
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok, all questions answered, thank you guys!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:35:57
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Just a quick question:
What if it is a DE Raider that was Wrecked and they want to assault my Wyches through it? How exactly does one go about placing models on a Raider? They don't have flat surfaces like a Rhino does. I was just sort of curious how other people play that...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:43:51
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You do your best and inact wobbly model syndrome.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 21:46:49
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Gah. I hate doing that but I suppose there is no other way...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 22:50:17
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kuroe - why are you placing any wytches on the vehicle on a Wreck?
On a Wreck the models disembark; this CANNOT be onto their vehicle as they disembark before the vehicle is a wreck, and their vehicle is impassable terrain
On an Explodes you remove the vehicle, and place them where the vehicle WAS, and therefpre you dont have to balance them
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 23:07:36
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Kuroe - why are you placing any wytches on the vehicle on a Wreck?
On a Wreck the models disembark; this CANNOT be onto their vehicle as they disembark before the vehicle is a wreck, and their vehicle is impassable terrain
On an Explodes you remove the vehicle, and place them where the vehicle WAS, and therefpre you dont have to balance them
I'm assuming that he meant something like all the Wyches disembark to the Raider's left, and then a squad assaults from the Raider's right, crossing through the newly formed terrain on the way.
|
“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/26 23:08:27
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fair enough...
Assaulting through is fun, though. Dangerous terrain tests all round...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/27 08:40:14
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Grakmar wrote:If a squad destroys a transport during the shooting phase, they may launch an assault against any passengers from that vehicle during that turn's assault phase.
I don't have my BRB at the moment but what page is this explained on so I could refer too it later on. thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/27 08:46:51
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
It tells you the passengers disembark, then the vehicle becomes a wreck. So when disembarking the vehicle is still intact.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/27 08:47:19
Subject: Re:Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
commissar80 wrote:Grakmar wrote:If a squad destroys a transport during the shooting phase, they may launch an assault against any passengers from that vehicle during that turn's assault phase.
I don't have my BRB at the moment but what page is this explained on so I could refer too it later on. thanks
Page 67 of the BRB
|
Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/27 10:23:45
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
However, it should be noted that any unit that shot the transport and DIDNT destroy the vehicle *cannot* assault the passengers if a later unit destroys the vehicle. This is because p67 talks about "the" unit that destroyed the vehicle
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 00:32:39
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yes and yes Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:However, it should be noted that any unit that shot the transport and DIDNT destroy the vehicle *cannot* assault the passengers if a later unit destroys the vehicle. This is because p67 talks about "the" unit that destroyed the vehicle
Im not sure this is true. It says "The unit that shot it [the transport] may assult."
Im pretty sure any unit that shoots at a transport can assult the occupants after the transport is destroyed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/28 00:50:53
5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:11:20
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
read the post exactly before you respond to a post. ^^^^^^
|
nWo blackshirts GT Team Member
http://inthenameofsangunius.blogspot.com/?m=1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:16:07
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Smitty0305 wrote:Im not sure this is true. It says "The unit that shot it [the transport] may assult."
Im pretty sure any unit that shoots at a transport can assult the occupants after the transport is destroyed.
In the context of the rule as written, 'the (singular) unit that shot it' is referring to the unit that fired the shot that destroyed the transport. For any unit that shot the transport to be able to assault the occupants, it would need to refer specify 'any' unit that shot at the vehicle in that turn, rather than just the one, single, unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:39:27
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
But on the flipside, does it specifically say that only the unit that destroyed the transport can assault? I don't think that'd make much sense, since you can multi-assault units. Obviously the unit that destroyed the transport couldn't assault a different unit, but I'd think that any unit that shot at it would be able to assault it if they were in range.
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:46:00
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
If a unit X shoots and doesnt destroy a tank, then once another unit Y shoots and does destroy the tank, unit X cannot assault anything since the tank it shot is not there anymore. unit Y can then assault the unit that came out. any other unit that didnt shoot at anything else can also assault the disembarked unit too except for the ones that shot at the tank and didnt destroy it. Remember you can only assault the units that you shot at. I hope this makes sense and please lets stop talking about this. The question has been answered already in previous posts. Everyone is just now confusing the OP even more.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/28 01:50:09
nWo blackshirts GT Team Member
http://inthenameofsangunius.blogspot.com/?m=1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:46:32
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It doesnt need to say "only" - it says THE unit that shot and destroyed it. Only ONE unit can EVER fill that role.
You are not correct in your thinking. Please search, this has been covered before, many many times.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 01:47:56
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Anvildude wrote:But on the flipside, does it specifically say that only the unit that destroyed the transport can assault?
Not in those exact words, no. But it is what the rule as written actually means.
I don't think that'd make much sense, since you can multi-assault units. Obviously the unit that destroyed the transport couldn't assault a different unit, but I'd think that any unit that shot at it would be able to assault it if they were in range.
It makes perfect sense given that in every other situation a unit that shot can only declare an assault against the unit it shot at. The vehicle rules grant one specific exemption to that rule. It makes far less sense to assume that this exemption should apply to every single unit that shot at the vehicle.
Multiple assaults aren't the issue here. The issue is with the original shooting target no longer being on the board. In any other case, that would mean that no assault is possible.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/28 01:50:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 02:14:13
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Ah, so the Transport counts as a different unit for those purposes. Gotcha. I was thinking Dedicated Transports might be though of as 'part' of the unit embarked, but I guess that's a bit silly to think, isn't it?
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 02:16:11
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Transports count as a different unit for all game purposes, not just for this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/28 03:01:05
Subject: Attacking troops after destroying their transport
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yup. It's a common misconception, but the rules specifically say that dedicated transports, from the moment the game begins, are always a separate unit from their squad for all purposes.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|